2024 Proton X50 facelift spied running road trials – updates with styling cues from Geely Binyue facelift

An image of what appears to be a test unit for the upcoming Proton X50 update has been posted to the Proton X50 Community Malaysia (PX50CM) Facebook page by Zany Muhammad, with the B-segment SUV running tests on a highway.

UPDATE: More pics of the same car are here, clearer and with glimpses of the interior.

Seen here from the rear, the updated X50 wears camouflage which likely indicates where the revisions to its bodywork will be, namely the tailgate, rear bumper, new wheels, a larger rear spoiler, and a new tail lamp design.

Beneath the camouflage, the tailgate of the updated model can be seen wearing a more acute crease line above the tail lamps, and these updated styling cues match those on the 2022 facelift of the Geely Binyue, where the SUV also appears to have a full width light bar joining the updated set of tail lamps.

2022 Geely Binyue facelift

Also in line with the 2022 Binyue facelift is the rear license plate mount, which is lower compared to that of the current X50 but which remains on the tailgate. Below that, the rear bumper also features a more protruding, boxy shape around the exhaust pipes, along with new rear diffuser elements which also mimic those of the Binyue facelift.

The changes to the front of the updated X50 are not seen from this image, though the changes that bring the X50 in line with the styling of the Binyue facelift, that model’s front-end design may possibly apply to the front of the X50 as well.

As for the Binyue facelift’s powertrain, the top engine specification is now a four-cylinder 1.5 litre turbocharged petrol engine making 181 hp, replacing the three-cylinder turbo of the same displacement. A version of this is the 1.5 TGDi direct-injection engine that produces 177 PS and 255 Nm in the Flagship variant of the X50, as well as in the Proton X70 MC.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ajibkor on Nov 07, 2023 at 12:54 pm

Now every1 appreciate what I contributed for proton. Rosmah included.. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Bob Mal on Nov 07, 2023 at 1:02 pm

Nice I like if this is true since the new Cool Ray with the new 1.5L TGDi 4 Cyl is already available in Russia & Saudi outside China.

However I am still doubtful we will receive the 4 cyl engine as the 3cyl TGDi is assembled in Malaysia and they will make full use of it since no one complains including the export markets.

• Berlari Skooldera on Nov 07, 2023 at 5:11 pm

Our F1 engineers said minus 1 cylinder bank good for weight saving less friction no compromise on power output

• Bob Mal on Nov 07, 2023 at 8:46 pm

I hope you do realise that the Geely/Volvo 1.5L 3 cylinder TGDi is quite a fad when it can only gives 177Hp & 255Nm at 6.4L/100km (uses 5L Engine Oil). even with 25% less cylinder.

While the newly China Lishen 1.5L 4 cylinder TGDi manages 181Hp & 290Nm with 5.8L/100km (likely uses 4L Engine Oil)

• Grizzly Binuwekkkk on Nov 07, 2023 at 1:24 pm

Will it catch fire tho?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 36
    • This joke is getting stale. Can’t you be just original and don’t copy and paste old joke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
      • How about this? on Nov 07, 2023 at 5:31 pm

Proton service centre: If you noticed road and tyre noises in your vehicles are getting louder after the last service, don’t be alarmed. We had to remove some soundproofing materials from your vehicles to prevent unwanted fires

• Bin Yamin Nathan Yafu on Nov 07, 2023 at 5:14 pm

Arsonist will target you instead you better living working next to fire station for fire safety ok

• At least no malfunction oil fillter

• suomynona on Nov 07, 2023 at 2:01 pm

Thought Proton would input local design by now, are we still gonna follow Geely’s edgy design? Not very Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Yg lain2 tu china tongsan buat on Nov 07, 2023 at 2:24 pm

Yes potong’s only input is the infinite grille which catches fire easily and the rimau logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • According to some, this is a C-segment SUV in Malaysia since it’s B-segment in China.

https://paultan.org/2021/07/27/2021-geely-binyue-pro-facelift-revealed-in-official-images-b-segment-suv-on-sale-in-china-next-month/

• Hope to see proton launch the Proton Exchange program again

• Why proton turbo cars dont have paddle shifters? I would like to suggest facelift version involving upgrading the features quality and adding more or complete ADAS features as people nowadays are looking for that as their priority in buying cars.Quality and complete safety features are choices people looked for today.

• Poodle on Nov 07, 2023 at 6:48 pm

Got paddle shifters anot..i want to go racing

• MASAMI on Nov 08, 2023 at 11:01 am

Sohai only use paddle. Go ride your bicycle la and paddle non stop

• Wow..Dangggg..This car looks amazing. Never I would imagine Proton will ever look this good. Well done. Porsche also kalah