2024 Honda CR-V open for booking in Malaysia – 1.5L Turbo, 2.0L Hybrid, RS spec, Bose audio, 360-cameras

The sixth-generation Honda CR-V is now open for booking at all 101 dealerships nationwide. Honda Malaysia (HM) says that the SUV will be launched in December.

Plenty of new-to-Honda (and CR-V) features, but the biggest news is that we’re getting a hybrid model for the first time. The 2.0L e:HEV makes 184 PS and 335 Nm of torque and is mated to an eCVT. This is 20 Nm more than in the Civic e:HEV. The 1.5L VTEC Turbo option remains, with 193 PS, 243 Nm and a CVT. There’s also ‘Real Time AWD’. Powertrain wise, it’s between turbo or hybrid, like in Thailand.

As you can see from the image above, the CR-V is available in the top, sporty RS trim level for the first time. The RS’s front grille has a bold mesh pattern, and HM says it’s equipped with full LED headlights and tail lights, LED front fog lights, and front LED sequential turn signals (we’re not sure all these LED lighting are RS exclusives).

The RS also comes with ‘sleek door handles’, Berlina Black 18-inch alloys and an Active Shutter Grille on the front lower bumper to aid aerodynamics.

Other highlighted features are a 12-speaker Bose audio system (branded audio is a first for HM, even the FL5 Civic Type R at RM400k doesn’t get the option) and a 360-degree camera. The latter is a step up from HM’s usual multi-view reverse camera. As expected, the Honda Sensing ADAS suite and Honda Connect telematics with phone app are present, along with hands-free power tailgate with walkaway close.

No indication of prices yet, but the current fifth-generation CR-V facelift is priced from RM165,800 to RM170,400 for the turbo engine (there’s a 2.0L NA base model that ducks below RM150k; this will be discontinued). Add in e:HEV, RS and the new features mentioned above and the price of the range-topper could well be around RM200k. The e:HEV RS in Thailand is priced at 1,729,000 baht, which is RM227,181.

Kit aside, the design, size (71 mm longer, 10 mm wider, wheelbase 40 mm longer to reach 2,700 mm) and Civic FE-style cockpit are all a step up from today’s car – browse the gallery below.

“The CR-V has a 20-year history as the first CKD model to roll out from our Melaka manufacturing plant in 2003. With a legacy that predates this milestone, our flagship SUV has had a profound impact on the automotive industry in Malaysia, winning the hearts of generations of owners. To-date, the CR-V has sold more than 129,000 units, solidifying its position as one of HM’s highest contributors to our sales history. With the imminent launch of the all-new CR-V, we anticipate its continued dominance in the non-national SUV segment,” said HM’s MD and CEO Hironobu Yoshimura.

There will be exclusive previews in selected Honda dealerships for customers to experience the new CR-V ahead of its launch, starting from November 17. Details of the participating dealerships and dates are below and you can pre-book with Honda here. Check out Thailand’s CR-V e:HEV RS, which should be very similar to what we’re getting.

GALLERY: 2024 Honda CR-V e:HEV RS, Malaysia spec

GALLERY: 2023 Honda CR-V e:HEV RS, Thailand spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Outalingam Crap on Nov 15, 2023 at 10:51 am

This new CR-V had better have MORE than 510L boot space in order for it to keep its practicality crown – BETTER still, if the 7-seater variant is brought into MY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • it’s a 7 seater Cr-v,
      they will not cut the cost.

elsewhere getting it too. it supposed to be very spacious, especially 3rd row. not like the WR-V chopped from the BR-V.

• Tokguru Bala on Nov 15, 2023 at 12:15 pm

Thinking to get this 2024 CR-V or facelifted X70

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 15, 2023 at 1:58 pm

One CVT-box
        One engine
        One spirit

• hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:12 pm

if you think then your problem is budget. in the end you buy x70 because its the cheapest. if you have small family or no passenger behind, maybe you can consider cx-5.

• Peppa on Nov 15, 2023 at 8:41 pm

There are large individuals families use CX5 as their main cars just fine. Tf you smoking on hazri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
          • No more Pas for me and whole family on Nov 16, 2023 at 11:22 am

Ppl buying the better looking, outgoing CRV

• dumas on Dec 07, 2023 at 2:51 pm

u think everyone’s a smurf is it??
            and smoking is bad for health, lobak.

• Anwar Supporter on Nov 15, 2023 at 10:54 am

Rahmah price please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
  • stranger on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:00 am

From behind exactly like Mitsubishi XPander

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:15 pm

please dont compare this with you cheapo ugly mitsu spander. that spander should be compared with xtrail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • ROTI CANAI on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:24 am

lanewatch again?

Sorry got tesla model y taknak this dah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
  • wow, Honda XC60 is coming, pay 200k can get XC60 rear, cool cool..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:23 pm

sure or not? please research first, dont be like mp kepala batas. 2008 xc60 rearlight is exactly look like same with 2006 cr-v rearlight. so who copy who? dua-dua tak lawa, but tbh in volvo line up, xc60 rearlight is the hideous one.

• 1t0Idm4n on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:45 am

Probs 190k

• Syedsaddiqkenarotan on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:45 am

Cheapo gonna say, this car should be price below 70k so people can afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Honda Misaki on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:49 am

Will outsell the corolla cross more than five folds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • McBernie Loo at Lucky Red Used Cars @ Senawang on Nov 15, 2023 at 12:05 pm

Nice in red my lucky color. All my car all shades of red from my first car to now also red. Bring me good fortune now my business very booming. Car any brand can but must red color. Senang Wang always.

• no2ndtime on Nov 15, 2023 at 1:38 pm

As a current owner, i’ll not be fool by honda anymore:-
    1. VERY noisy cabin
    2. VERY noisy side & wind screen
    3. VERT noisy roof when rain
    4. VERY noisy engine

JUST VERY NOISY and annoy me when driving – lame car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 33
    • U very noisy too on Nov 15, 2023 at 1:58 pm

5. VERY noisy owner

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 19
    • Which gen?

• TheTrouf on Nov 15, 2023 at 2:24 pm

Normal, honda is actually budget brand in international markets. It’s just people in undeveloped countries have so low standard, they think Japanese brands are mid-tier.

• hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:37 pm

i feel sorry for you. maybe you can sell you car, or trade in, then buy x70.

• spongewai on Nov 15, 2023 at 9:59 pm

my 177hp X50 quiet & dem powerful. Proton Best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Hopefully this means we’re finally done with LaneWatch? Or will the LaneWatch camera be one of the cameras used to stitch the 360-degree view?

• Lpost on Nov 15, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Why organize preview event? just launch this model with price, no need to test the market price.

• Bob Mal on Nov 15, 2023 at 3:18 pm

Wow 20 years for CR-V to 129k units while the Proton x50 manages 100k units in 3 years. Obviously not the same category but well that is a milestone for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:33 pm

when you try to compare 142k car with 100k (or below) car, different segment, thats the dumbest ever. if you compare with hr-v, at least, i would think you less dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Katheryne Wong on Nov 16, 2023 at 7:01 am

X50 sales should compare with myvi sales or bezza sales..

• Ridiculous…No price yet how to place order…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:27 pm

haha thats the strategy, will see how many booking first. if many booking, then can put high or expected price.

• Patrick on Nov 25, 2023 at 10:48 pm

How does that work? will anyone actually book the car without knowing the price

• Hanjuku on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:40 pm

Agreed. These companies should not be allowed to take bookings without declaring the MSRP. Lame and very disadvantageous to potential buyers.

• ThePolygon on Nov 15, 2023 at 3:39 pm

Sadly it has grown to be too big and too bulky to drive around for me. When is Lexus LBX coming?

• hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:25 pm

ya, but its the advantage when you on the road, especially highway. nobody will hi beam you.

• hazri on Nov 15, 2023 at 4:09 pm

oh, bumper depan no exhaust anymore?

• Hate that CVT on Nov 15, 2023 at 7:03 pm

I hate CVT. How many wallets were emptied due to faulty CVT in Honda. Why can’t Honda bring back their bullet proof AT. Trading my 2.5 yo 1.5T CRV was the best thing to do before I had to spend 20 grand to fix it later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Bodoh on Nov 17, 2023 at 12:51 pm

Almost all the car nowadays are CVT, no? Cant do much.

• Chan Boon Chew on Nov 18, 2023 at 10:02 pm

Technologies improve over time.
        30 years ago, there were some people who dislike Automatic transmission and thought that Manual transmission was much better in pick up and fuel efficient. How many people still drive manual transmission car now? Is any car manufacturer selling manual transmission car in year 2023?

• Feddy fabear on Nov 15, 2023 at 7:22 pm

Is it 7 seater Crv coming to my?

• Yeahsure on Nov 15, 2023 at 7:27 pm

Hybrid will definitely be more than 200k…probably 210k-220k mark…

• This crv is humongous
    Like previous generations X5 size. Unfortunately it’s awd system failed TFL roller test.

• I demand Honda have sunroof! on Nov 15, 2023 at 10:49 pm

Why no sunroof frustrated at this hefty price range? Why Thailand always so well spec? Wake up honda Malaysia still using lanewatch??

• ur moms car on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:01 pm

Hopefully it dont touch 200k mark or the fate will be same like rav4

• You bet it’ll for sure get past 200k if even Camry and Accord are there, and this is SUV some more.

• W K Lee on Nov 16, 2023 at 7:18 am

I am HRV user my experiance is found the gearbox oil inlet cover have weak point of the design due to mouse like to pull out the cap cover. Cause during washing car water get into the gear box.

• Acong on Nov 16, 2023 at 7:31 am

Dont book lah.. Why no price also still book.. Desperate to own honda right..

• Ground europe passenger on Nov 16, 2023 at 8:58 am

Malaysia crv owner mostly rich old aunty with balia driving skills.

• Onion on Nov 17, 2023 at 8:38 am

Rich aunty drives benz or bmw. Probably you are just too poor to even own a crv

• No AWD for hybrid?

• I will stick to EVs .. an area that jap manufacturers have problem just to play catch-up. Enough of getting fooled by these Toyota/ Honda marques… Same 1.5 engine different bodies shell, throw in some not so advanced tech, panelled up with cheap grey plastics, then call it a new model.. totally short changed !

• Normal people on Nov 16, 2023 at 10:57 pm

I put booking money since September. Good thing is booking fee is refundable.
    Looking at the price it gets more ridiculous, might as well I buy a property.

The monthly payment is similar.

• Ckd bad quality on Nov 17, 2023 at 8:40 am

Probably getting too expensive if it hits 200k region

• SS Steve on Nov 18, 2023 at 5:35 pm

Estimated price in Malaysia should be RM240k above in low spec, unless gov offer free import tax for Honda… If the higher spec CR-V price on RM270k will you willing to pay??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • entah on Nov 19, 2023 at 5:44 pm

ok la.. luar crv dalam mcm civic.. spex pon sama.letak logo civic pon org keliru

• Bangkok on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:12 pm

In Thailand all the truck based suv are 250k to 350k this is much much cheaper also in Thailand to compare but people there chose the truck over this

• Xavier on Dec 07, 2023 at 2:59 pm

My cows are better. Vast fuel sources that costs next to nothing and great emission!