B40 spends RM243 a month on RON95, T20 RM399; blanket fuel subsidy doesn’t hit target group – Zahid

How much do you spend on petrol a month? According to deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, the B40 group spends an average of RM243 monthly on RON 95 while the T20 group spends RM399 per month, referring to the bottom 40% earners and the top 20%.

The DPM was quoting a study on the impact of the petrol subsidy programme, and his speech was read by domestic trade and cost of living ministry (KPDN) acting minister Datuk Armizan Mohd Ali at the launch of the Symposium on Cost of Living event yesterday, reported by NST.

The Bagan Datuk MP said that although fuel subsidy has helped to stabilise prices, ensure continuous supply and ease the cost of living for the people, the bulk of it has been enjoyed by the high-income group and non-citizens. Therefore, it’s unjustifiable for the government to continue with the existing approach, which is blanket subsidy.

“These findings indicate that the bulk subsidy approach does not effectively reach its intended target groups,” he said, adding that diesel subsidy is also being misused.

“It has been misused by certain parties who take advantage of the subsidised diesel, leading to irregularities and smuggling in the black market. Therefore, it is not appropriate for the government to continue with the existing approach that is unfair to the target group that genuinely needs assistance,” he said, adding that last year’s total subsidy bill amounted to RM91.9 billion.

“For this year, the original allocation for subsidies is RM64 billion, but the government projects this value to reach RM80.9 billion based on current spending. This ongoing scenario is not fiscally optimal hence it is reasonable for the responsible government to take action to improve targeted assistance delivery methods for the people,” he continued.

Heard this before? Ministers past and present have spoken about targeted subsidies for some time now, and this latest mention reminds me of the “those with a BMW cannot receive the same subsidies as those with Kancil,” statement by former MITI minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali in 2022. “For every RM1 of fuel subsidy, 53 cents go to the T20, while 15 cents benefit the B40,” current MITI minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz said when he was heading MoF in 2022.

But this isn’t just talk – the removal of blanket subsidy is happening in the second half of 2024, economy minister Rafizi Ramli said this week. This comes as a bit of a surprise as there was no mention of targeted subsidies happening next year in the recent Budget 2024 – only diesel was mentioned by PM cum finance minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim. Looks like the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database is almost ready then – we’ll see how accurate it is. Are you ready to pay market price for RON 95?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments largely criticize the government's targeted fuel subsidy scheme, highlighting issues of misclassification, potential loopholes, and the unfair distribution of benefits. Many express skepticism about the accuracy of the figures cited, arguing that they are arbitrary or manipulated, and warn that such policies may encourage fraud or benefit the wealthy disproportionately. Several comments suggest that all citizens should receive equal subsidies or benefits based on usage, not income brackets, and propose simpler, fairer systems like cash transfers or fixed quotas. There is concern about the complexity of implementing targeted schemes and their potential to exacerbate inequality, with some criticizing the government’s transparency and planning. Overall, sentiments lean toward frustration and distrust towards current subsidy policies, emphasizing the need for fairness, transparency, and effective reform.

• Pakngah dulu Pas on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:32 pm

Alhamdulillah terbaik krjn perpaduan.
    Geng pn Pas 33bulan duk candat Sotong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • Nurul Izzah on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:25 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

• Menteri Formula on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:28 pm

“Saya hendak beri jaminan kepada penyokong dan pengundi PH, kalau itu (pakatan Anwar-Zahid) terjadi saya akan menjadi orang pertama tentang kalau betul ada rundingan kerjasama dengan Umno,”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Kea Was on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Seriously stop this nonsense and publish evidence or we call you a bluff – how the heck did you arrive to that figure by assuming all B40 drives a motorbike (which consumes 3L/100km) while the T20 1 person can drive 2x cars (of 6.5L/100km car consumption)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
    • Squid on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:03 pm

Why do u assume all B40 only ride bikes? There are many reliable used cars that are cheaper than kapcai, which they can buy to use for their family transport. Don’t look so down on them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Dah Menang Semua on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:31 pm

“T2 1 person drives 2 cars”
        Figure that logic please

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:58 pm

“T20 1 person drives 2 cars”
          Figure that logic please

• Vehicle data from JPJ? Touch n’ Go toll fare expense? Personal credit card expenses from Petronas?
      I wonder how they conclude the figure, too.

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:42 pm

Jutawan yg bersara?
        Ah-Long yg x bercukai?
        subsidi dapat jugak LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
        • Richard Teo on Nov 29, 2023 at 5:04 pm

This whole thing is flawed. Later no car also can get subsidy. Should just deploy LHDN to screen those bastards driving high-value/ high-performance/ high-CC cars first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Rinnegan on Nov 29, 2023 at 9:21 pm

There will also be a loophole here. Suppose if a millionaire dclares that the car belongs to a (his) company, And his payslip is merely RM1.5K permonth, and by the records he owns nothing (all belonged to his company), this millionaire is still classified as B40. Bottomline, The Rich and Wealthy will always look for ways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • Dah Menang Semua on Nov 30, 2023 at 2:23 pm

That’s exactly the point!
            T20 control economy
            can just raises prices
            Part M40 now to B40
            Then bigger-“B40”
            To bail the T20
            Hahahaha

• Our ministers just sit inside office goyang kaki n minum Teh tarik, what do u expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • The minority who always act like a victim on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:47 pm

I expect nothing

• Jawabandar on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:39 pm

I bet you can replace them. Maybe you have better ways on how to improve this.

• A car user on Nov 29, 2023 at 9:49 pm

There are better ways.Suggestion sent to them but not considered.Instead of targeted subsidy with no way to plug all the loop holes with certain “B40” still can enjoy unlimited full subsidy while driving big luxury cars, the goverment should implement yearly quota based limited subsidy through cash back system for all Malaysians.Those who want to save will drive smaller cars.Foreigners will have to pay full price since they will not have any cash back quota.Those rich enough to drive big cars will use up their quota sooner & forced to pay full price.Big families will have more quota since they have more family members.Fair for all.No need complicated system to plug loop holes.Will also help the gov. to cut down on subsidy since it is limited for everybody.The gov. can work with banks, TnG & petrol stations, etc to distribute the cash back through credit cards, e-wallets & e-vouchers for cash payments to offset the full price charged by petrol stations.

• Karam Singh on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:07 pm

Kapcai has 4 litres fuel tank, average fuel tank today for cars below 100k is 45 litres. Go figure.

• Subsidies r like controlled hypertension on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:00 pm

Where did the figure of Rm399 for monthly petrol usage by T20 come from? Is it from the moon,that Indian spacecraft landed?
      Common,those who drive Merc,BMW ,Camrys daily know they spend about RM600 to Rm750 monthly.
      Why keep wasting so much time getting the PADU system.Just give special IDs to B40 n M40 to get subsidies.
      T40 just get zero subsidy.
      YOu cant upload the personal data of rakyat in the net n let every TOm DIck and Mary access.It is not like when u get married,the public can raise bantahan during the 2 week timeframe.
      Our personal data should be guarded like our medical data by hospitals.Only we should be entitled to access.Not potential kidnappers,blackmailers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • This subsidy nonsense is a disease. Just stop subsidies. What do you want those who succeed to do… Feed the rest of the country because of their hardwork? Only the extreme poor should get help. All others should pay taxes and don’t expect handouts.

• I am all for giving but these politicians spins stories without logic. But i pay a higher tax bracket. So government more money from me. The car i use they charge 300% tax also goes to government. So its okay for goverment to take more of my money but not okay for me to use a bit more of the subsidy. Get rid of the subsidy but treat all equally. Then have a policy that actually helps the poor and get some results while u are at it.

• T20 pays thousands in income taxes that pays for the fuel subsidizes but M40 pay zero in income tax.

don’t use selected statics to fool the Rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • EV sucks on Nov 29, 2023 at 6:55 pm

Companies paying millions to subsidised T20s galloping fuel. Who are you trying to fool?

• razak on Nov 29, 2023 at 8:04 pm

I think it is called Selective disorder

• How about M40? Are they the highest who u don’t want to disclose conflicting with T20, aren’t they?

If disclose M40 usage, u will slap yourself…haaa

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:44 pm

sebahagian golongan M40 terjadi B40

• komarad on Nov 30, 2023 at 9:13 am

without petrol subsidies M40 becomes B40 .. experienced it during Pak Lah time for few months…

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 30, 2023 at 2:17 pm

Yea that few months were RM2.70/L for RON97; so the impact this time will be greater!

• During that short period of time, prices of goods jumps. And they never going down back even after subsidies restored..haiya..

• Which group contribute more to the nation income and well being as a whole?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Pls don’t ask this most logic question which minister always avoid to answer

• PooIiticans on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:17 pm

Did they not learn from decades of NEP, redistributive policies don’t work? Poor will always remain poor, you can give them a few extra bucks a month, they’ll find a way to waste it anyway, you’re just going to perpetuate the cycle of brain drain, and remain 3rd world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Paleng on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:19 pm

It is challenging, need true transparency from the MADANI

• ThePolygon on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:20 pm

Go by usage lah if that’s the case just like electricity, up to 200 litres per month is subsidize based on IC when purchase, after that pay full price. If T20 is said to use more than 200 litres, they pay the full price while B40 said to use less, meaning less than the 200 litres, they got it subsidized. M40 who borderlines uses 200-300 litres have to pay full when exceed the 200 litres. Everyone gets 200 litres of subsidy? Fair? Use more, pay more. This should keep people mindful of their use of petrol, else soon we have B40 drivers fueling up petrol for T20 boss if it’s not capped. When subsidized is based on usage, no one can complain, you want subsidized, use wisely.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • Paul Gan on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:15 pm

T20 can afford petrol price rm3.50, they don’t need subsidy. They drive merc S580, BMW 740Le, Ferrari 812, Rolls Royce Ghost or Phantom, and they are okay not to get subsidies. Won’t feel the pinch at all.
      Even those in top part M40 drives Merc c300, BMW 330e, Volvo XC40… Lexus RX, Alphard Vellfire still no problem.

• Cadang on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:23 pm

every car can have its own ID/RFID linked to petrol station. just like house got it’s own electric ID to pay electricity at variation rate.

then you can control which car over-use and to pay higher petrol price.

• This is a good start. To close the loop, tie it with our MyKads. Our MyKads have a chip which can store data so the information about the subsidised fuel amount can be stored in it. Kinda like insurance cards in some countries where they will need to swipe/plug in their cards to access their info at the point of transaction. LHDN can check the info on the MyKads and foreigners with no MyKads will pay full price for fuel.

• Janji dicapati on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:21 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Ex Rafizi supporter on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Apa boleh buat. Sudah geng dengan perasuah. Hadap jelah dengan KERA jaan MAhal DAh NI yang temberang ni. Dulu cakap lain, sekarang cakap lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
    • Keluhuran Perlembagaan on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:50 pm

Adakah kamu masih lagi berpendapat yg penubuhan kerajaan perpaduan ini yg telah dicadangkan oleh DYMM SPB YDPA menurut perlembagaan negara, tidak sepatutnya berlaku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • dong gor on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:22 pm

how u know T20 spent this much? if through Credit Card, is it a fair comparison as many B40 may not have Credit Card for you to do full distribution comparison. anyway, if your data is accurate and relevant, please file the guinness record…you will be world number one to be able to pluck it nicely from cloud.

• PM Zimbabwe on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Mythomania bermaksud kelainan psikologi yang menyebabkan seseorang mempunyai perilaku berbohong secara terus-menerus dan dalam jangka waktu yang lama.

Berikut adalah ciri-ciri mythomania:

– Pembohongan mereka tidak mempunyai kelebihan tertentu

– Kisah biasanya dramatik, rumit, dan sangat terperinci

– Biasanya mereka menjadi penyelamat atau mangsa utama dalam cerita

– Mereka percaya bahawa kisah mereka benar-benar berlaku

– Pembohongan diceritakan berulang kali.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Dah jelas kau masih perlukan rawatan psikologi on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Terbukti kamu dah kenal sangat dgn ‘mythomania’ kerana kamu masih berbohong kpd diri sendiri yg kamu ni PM Zimbabwe, sedangkan jawatan PM Zimbabwe sebenarnya tidak lagi wujud selepas perlembagaan Zimbabwe dipinda lebih kurang 10 tahun yang lalu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Rafizi sembang kencang on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:22 pm

Hanya org bodoh dan kurang cerdik je percaya dengan kerajaan ni. Rasakan hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • newme on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:51 pm

Klu yang pandai2 undi PN, tak mungkin diorang jadi B40.

• Abah tak sembang seperti budak kecik mcm kau on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:02 pm

Tahun lalu, abah pun dah pernah memberitahu para wartawan bahawa kerajaan mampu menjimatkan perbelanjaan sebanyak RM20 billion setahun melalui pelaksanaan skim subsidi bersasar, kerana tanpa skim tersebut, hanya 20 peratus subsidi yang disediakan kerajaan digunakan oleh golongan B40, manakala selebihnya dinikmati oleh golongan yang tidak sepatutnya, dimana hampir 50 peratus daripada subsidi kerajaan digunakan oleh orang dalam kategori yang berada, orang kaya, kenderaan besar dan macam2 lagi.

• PAP is better than DAP on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:23 pm

Just follow the Singapore model. And we will prosper like them. No corrupt ministers like in UMNO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • PHBN Korup on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:23 pm

Never trust any politician when they’re fighting for power.

• now only u know? on Nov 29, 2023 at 7:10 pm

just like when abah recently made a good u-turn show..

• Menteri cap ayam on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:24 pm

The price of everything will go up. That’s what PH voters want, hahaha.

• sapot pee end on Nov 29, 2023 at 7:23 pm

OK, let’s vote for pee end for chicken brand ministers like u.

• Menteri cap rambutan on Nov 29, 2023 at 7:49 pm

sama jer waktu Kerajaan Belakang
      Asalkan sekarang ade kerja
      Bukan hanya lokap jer kita
      Elak meeting parlimen

• t333son on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:26 pm

I imagine there are losses due to smuggling out of fuel to neighbouring countries and the corruption involved at the borders

• kambeng on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:37 pm

What about everyone in between? once they implement this “targeted subsidy” scheme, the wealthy won’t be hit anywhere near as hard in their new plug-in hybrid or duty free electric vehicles as the 40% of people in between who will likely also be left without fuel subsidies…

• Who pays for the subsidies??

• Ben Yap on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:46 pm

the figures are plucked from the air. everyone buys fuel without stating their income and usage. how do u know whether T20 spend RM399 per month? Since the numbers are plucked from the air, i can also plucked mine. T20 spend so much on fuel is because the T20 donated RM150 a month of fuel to B40 communities.

• GG Formula on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:57 pm

It’s very easy to fix our economy.
    1. Abolish anti-elitism
    2. Abolish quota politics (education, civil service &tc.)
    3. Abolish nepotism
    4. Downsize civil service (termination of employment if KPIs are not met, digitization and standardization of government services)
    5. Downsizing of Parliament ( Bloated MPs get paid well for no performance)
    6. Downsizing Member of Cabinet (Bloated ministers get paid well for no performance)
    7. Privatize government-linked companies (Let them compete in a free market)
    8. Eliminate the policy of participation in public procurement (No more priority given to Bumi companies)
    9. Reduce allocations to the Islamic Development Department of Malaysia
    10. Equal treatment of educational institutions in the country (Higher performing schools get more funding)
    11. Revolution in the education system
    12. Revolution in the health care system
    13. Revolution in Transportation
    14. Severe punishment of those who disturb social peace (religion and race)
    15. Domestic car is already a white elephant program (Eliminate the protection policies)
    16. Reduce dependence on foreign workers

These are well known unresolved issues, and many more remain to be resolved. I wonder why they cannot go ahead and solve them; we have fallen behind our neighbors, yet the Palestinian Prime Minister has said that reforms will not be rushed and has asked for more administrative terms. The more we delay, the more we lose.

Meanwhile, they continue to cut subsidies to citizens without addressing internal problems. I hope that readers who are able will organize demonstrations to protest against the country’s administrators.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • And then poof.. you no longer the gov.

• Minority keep dreaming on Nov 29, 2023 at 5:53 pm

GG formula same like Rafizi formula. Only works during election. After that, bye bye

• Munokisleko on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:06 pm

Geng mercidik terciduk

• RaFuzzy formula on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:15 pm

Don’t worry, T20 will pass on the cost to B40 by raising the price of their own business (product and service) and B40 will end up being forced to pay more as a result of the price shift. Mark my words, this will be out of control.

Anwar menang, T20 menang, M40 and B40 kalah. Janji Tesla mari.

>..<

T20 Boss: I can finally enjoy full import and excise duties exemption for newly registered zero-emission Tesla electric vehicles.

Government: Don't worry, we also have Malaysian national car brand. Prices are still cheap.

B40: But the pricing of the Proton S70 is not Malaysian friendly. Toyota and Honda are also expensive.

Perodua: We are the cheapest Toyota sub-brand car brand.

Dia sakit: I agree with Perodua. Just get the Axia in the color "Bulan sabit merah".

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • drama production company on Nov 29, 2023 at 7:32 pm

thanks for submitting your drama script. don’t call us. we’ll call u.

• petrolforall on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:20 pm

What is this craziness? Whatever you do this can easily be manipulated in many ways. If you want to increase it, increase it for all. If there are subsidies for the gas/petrol, subsidies for all.

In the end, if there are price hikes in goods, the B40 (M40 also!) will feel them first.

• Majulah Singapura on Nov 29, 2023 at 3:29 pm

I’ve been pumping my kancil with RON100. No worries!

• Phuddi sung Lee on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:14 pm

Dpm cekap macam ini, who himself have many cases WIPED Off, u senderi suka B10 ka B20 u boleh bagi funding these grps, sebab u already have our hard earned money in ur pocket KA Atau dalam bungalow ka, Kan?

• Autobahn on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:34 pm

T20
    Income tax 20%
    Child education – private school
    Transportation – toll road
    So apart from the air they breath (supplied from govt) all other things they touched they pay.. no benefit from govt except the subsidised fuel. Even then the govt think that it is not their right.

• This will backfire eventually, T20 and M40 will increase whatever earnings or profits to offset the fuel price. At the end, B40 will suffer more, can’t ask for increment because of fuel subsidy and living cost going up again. The economy start to haywire. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Are your balls crystal? on Nov 29, 2023 at 7:45 pm

We need more precognitive clairvoyants like you to come forward with your crystal ball to foretell the future & warn everyone when it is bleak.

• MALAYSIA on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:40 pm

Make it simple. Just increase the income tax of the top 20 or whatever. Not much effort needed to implement and execute.

• Dumb dumb on Nov 29, 2023 at 9:38 pm

Dumb!

Why don’t you get those tax evaders and the B40 to cough up first?

• Anonymous on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:43 pm

Most of the B40’s car do not need RON95, and in fact most of the cars can take lower than RON95. We used to run with RON93(or 94 i can’t remember) without any problem. I’m wondering why our govt upgraded from lower RON to higher RON? Thailand has RON91 and my rental car ran without any hiccup. Govt may argue RON95 is more environmentally friendly, but what about the cars that emit white smoke or have the catalytic converter removed?

• B40 avg 243 per month and T20 399 per month, then how many person is that in B40 and T20??, example B40 10 mil, T20 1 mil, so its 2430 mil per month (29160 mil/29.16 bil per year) , 399 mil per month (4788 mil/ 4.788 bil per year). So total amount is still more at B40. Simple logic there is more population for B40 and M40. There is only so much one can drive per hours in a day. I m sure it would hit ALL, where T20 no subsidy, and limit for others (some low limit). The idea is to save on subsidy, but the problem is reduce fuel, would incur multiple effect on others. Say transport company is exempted, would only effect those big and licence companies. Many small business just use their vehicle to transport the goods, sure exceeed limit and higher cost and past on to consumers.

• X y F on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:57 pm

incompetent people running the show. Everything is wrong, absolutely everything.

single individual earning RM12k a month = T20
    individual earning RM12k with supported parents = T20
    individual earning RM12k with 1 kid = T20
    individual earning RM12k with 4 kids = T20
    individual earning RM12k with family in need of medical support/expenses = T20

not to mention M40…

please get a competent & qualified person to revamp such ridiculous categorisation. Who is the brilliant minister who came up with this stupid categorisation in the first place????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Tax Relief on Nov 30, 2023 at 2:32 pm

You have LHDN tax relief for the scenario mentioned above, duhhhhhh

• U wont be Menteri next time if u removed the subsidy hehe

• james chan on Nov 29, 2023 at 5:36 pm

I wonder does introducing carbon tax on fossil fuel based on consumption helps solving the income inequality among social classes.

• TeslaX on Nov 29, 2023 at 7:27 pm

Resources belong to the people. Every citizen of the country regardless of income level should enjoy petrol subsidy. Malaysia is a net exporter of oil and petroleum products. Sound stupid for the Government of the day justify petrol subsidy removal. Ask how much T20 pays for PCB to LHDN monthly and contrbute to the economy.

• 4GR-FSE on Nov 29, 2023 at 8:24 pm

If you want to remove subsidies for the rich, just remove it.
    No need to demonize T20 everyday…

T20 pay more than 20% income tax, while B40 pay 0%.. fine.. but stop making T20 like public enemies..

• haiyoh on Jun 14, 2024 at 8:06 pm

+1
      B40 always playing victim. Like they are forced to be lazy, uneager to learn new skills, mindlessly burden themselves with 8 childrens. And then expect the T20 to pay their bills.

Crazy country.

• dear pakar ekonomi . T20/B40 income as in individual or household since last time you said household . while the idea is nice since it can prevent people fromseludup minyak or temasek people “ tak sengaja “ beli ron95 , tempias tu terkena orang yang tak bersalah.

percaya la cakap aku , kerajaan ni tak tahan lama kalau plan pakar ekonomi ni dilaksanakan..

• normal people on Nov 29, 2023 at 9:27 pm

You’re getting your electric car so you want to increase the fuel price ha?>> M40 B20 still rely on our current cars. This will only benefit T20 once again!

• Logic thinker on Nov 29, 2023 at 10:58 pm

This is so funny. The whole category is wrong. Someone who is a T20 in Klang Valley may live equal or worse life that a M40 who leave in outskirt. Not all T20 live luxury life and not all M40 life a simple life. A family with 15k salary in Klang Valley vs a single person with 10k salary is not the same.

Then we have rich businessmen who earn so much (more than 5x of an average T20) in their business but declare themselves and their families as B40 on personal life. They don’t bother paying tax and enjoy all the subsidy. Boleh Land ini !!!

• Sohai on Nov 29, 2023 at 11:27 pm

Since this is of national interest, please be tranparent and publish the stats and full report.
    I think the formula is very much debatable. Just determine who qualified as B40 also not straight forward… you can determine their fuel spending somemore? Based on sample size of 100 people ke. Also i think this varies from state to state too. Just too many factor to make such a high level conclusion.

• No Anwar on Nov 30, 2023 at 12:56 am

Mari undi PN, Muyiddin is better than Anwar.

• sapot pee end on Nov 30, 2023 at 10:51 am

Even earlier before last year’s November GE, abah had publicly proposed that our government can save RM20 billion a year by implementing the targeted subsidy scheme because the on-going system allows only 20% of the government subsidy to be taken up by the B40 group while the rest was enjoyed by groups which did not deserve it. He further explained that almost 50% of government subsidies are used by people in the well-to-do category, who usually have large luxury vehicles. He also said that the basis for the government to make a decision on targeted subsidy scheme is very strong for a higher subsidy percentage to reach the B40 target group. So, it’s obvious abah had a clearer idea on how to do this but his chicken brand ministers may likely fowl up his implementation.

• @NotBruceWayne on Nov 30, 2023 at 8:17 am

What if..I own an 1.5L 3cyl i8? get subsidy meh?

• @RealBruceWayne on Nov 30, 2023 at 2:43 pm

Using Rafuzzy formula, you might eligible to get subsidy.

• Laugh on Nov 30, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Why wanna spend so much money and resources in this matter to do research and plan as if it’s a big matter.

Objective is to ensure no leakage and everyone gets the same benefits.

Just calculate how much subsidy gomen wanna give each individual in malaysia irrespective of which category they are from and give it so it’s fair for all.
    Everyone gets the same benefit.

Every year, just bank in to the registered people the amount of subsidy determined.
    Can use this for all form of subsidies.
    No need to argue who dapat, who tak dapat.
    All get their fair share and gomen can control the subsidy given whilst not wasting money and resources to plan and monitor if these are implemented.

No need to control price anything and let free market run its course.
    Supply and demand will ensure fair market pricing in the long run.

• You’re correct. Also, this is what the government wants to do now, right?

• fridaus on Nov 30, 2023 at 10:36 pm

Gov should direct the fossil fuel subsidy allocation to improve public transport and the accessible infrastructures (covered walkway, bus shelter, traffic calming, bus lane etc.) not only this is can reduce carbon emissions (which gov keep pushing) but also reduce traffic congestion (less wastage on time and energy). Not only this is a win-win solution for both gov and citizen but also all the commuters.

• Kingkong on Dec 18, 2023 at 7:01 am

T-20
    Income > 20k/mth tax rm4k/mth
    Road to work – toll
    Kid to private school – zero govt money
    Private hospital if sick – zero govt money
    House assessment tax – higher
    Spending – higher – more tax
    Expansive cbu german cars – 100% tax

So in a nut shell t20 only contribute but didnt get any benefit as a citizen

• haiyoh on Jun 14, 2024 at 8:12 pm

In this country, being hardworking and earning a good life on honest work is a crime.