MLFF: All aspects of project being studied, highway operators still have full rights to toll collection – KKR

In response to earlier coverage on the multi-lane fast flow (MLFF) project and the 32 highway toll concessionaires’ objection to the direct awarding of the project, works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi has issued a statement.

The works ministry of Malaysia, together with the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) are studying all aspects which involve the execution of the MLFF project that was planned by the previous Malaysian government, and which began in 2021, Nanta said.

The previous government had received approval in principle for the execution of the MLFF project, however this approval was given in order to allow the negotiation process between the parties involved to move forward, he said.

Even though the initial planning and approval stages for the MLFF project began in 2021, the works minister realises the need for better scrutiny and enhancement, particularly on the legal aspects to ensure that the MLFF project proceeds smoothly to benefit the people, he added.

The initiative requires the cooperation and support of not just the works ministry, but also from the highway concessionaires and the highest levels of the unity government, Nanta continued.

In March last year, the Malaysian government said that RM3.46 billion has been allocated for the planned implementation of the MLFF system – then called multi-lane free flow – with a planned introduction in 2025. In July this year, the works minster said he hoped to have an earlier agreement with the companies in order for MLFF to be implemented sooner at the end of 2024.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kea Was on Dec 07, 2023 at 2:50 pm

The power of cronies, friends & family business in Malaysia all no need knowledge just ask 1 fellow to give Sub-Par quality but bill for Ferrari price which is what we get all these while like TNG, RFID all these nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Dec 07, 2023 at 7:47 pm

RM 3.5 Billion…is a huge sum of tax Rm.
      So,do your maths.Add this to the 1.5 trillion RM national debt.
      Come 2024…another deficit budget…can the authorities enlighten the covid stricken rakyat,how we can avoid the Ringgit from sliding to 5 to the Dollar ?
      USA being a superpower can print money.We cant.
      We can curtail corruption,but if we keep overspending,one day,we might need a briefcase of Rm to buy a cup of Ajibkor’s favourite starbucks coffee.

• Susukotak on Dec 07, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Apa lg nak selidik nak kaji… hanya ubah sistem jer. Nak hapuskan tol kan… dah berjaya.

• For the time being, we can fully utilised MILF.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2023 at 6:15 pm

Collection is still under the concessionaires? Well, only when the collection system works. It’s YTL. You can expect their garbage to not work half of the time. When it doesn’t work, what happens then? Users get charged excessively for “evading toll”? With TnG currently there’s already the problem where when RFID doesn’t work and the RFID users end up having to go through the TnG lane, in a closed highway like PLUS the users will end up being charged the maximum north-south rate as the TnG system did not log the entry onto the highway by RFID.

Can we expect similar nonsense to happen with YTL’s system eventually? In their case, it is more likely to happen whenever the MLFF lane has connectivity issues or the back-end is unavailable. It’s safe to assume that the YTL-supplied connectivity and back-end systems will be on par with Bestari Net’s.