Daihatsu ‘procedural irregularities’ – UMW Toyota Motor issues statement, working to address the matter

Earlier this week, on December 20, Daihatsu announced that it would temporarily suspend shipments of all vehicles it developed that are currently being produced in Japan and overseas markets. The move came after the automaker submitted a report by an independent panel to Japan’s ministry of land, infrastructure, transport and tourism (MLIT) as well as ministry of economy, trade and industry (METI).

As reported previously, the independent panel had been investigating a scandal over the rigging of safety tests by Daihatsu, which was brought to light in April this year. At the time, the company admitted “wrongdoings” in particular crash safety tests done for regulatory approval applications for four models. Over 88,000 units were affected, with the focus point being door trim that did not meet safety standards in a side impact test.

In its statement announcing the suspension of shipments, DMC said that “as a result of the investigation, in addition to the door trim fraud in April and the pole side collision test fraud in May, it was discovered that there were 174 new irregularities in 25 test items.”

The company confirmed that 64 models and three engines were affected, including those currently in production or development as well as discontinued ones. The range of affected models cover those sold under the Daihatsu brand and those supplied on an OEM basis to Toyota, Mazda and Subaru.

The list of models also included several Perodua cars, namely the first- and second-generation Axia, Aruz, second-generation Alza, Ativa, Myvi and Bezza. Also in the list were Toyota models relevant to our market, these being the Rush, Vios and Veloz.

Later that day, Perodua released a statement on the matter, and now, UMW Toyota has issued its own statement regarding the matter, which is reproduced in verbatim below.

In light of recent developments surrounding the safety test at Daihatsu Motor Co Lte (DMC), a subsidiary of Toyota, Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd (UMWT) ensures customers and the public that it is committed to transparency and accountability.

This follows the statement released by Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) highlighting a procedural irregularity in the testing of models by DMC, impacting three Toyota models distributed by UMWT in Malaysia.

President of UMW Toyota Motor, Datuk Ravindran K. said, “We emphasise our dedication to maintaining the highest standards and quality in our vehicles. Rest assured, we are actively working to ensure that all our vehicles in Malaysia strictly adhere to the relevant regulations and rules.”

UMWT is working closely with regulatory authorities to promptly and transparently address this matter, maintaining its commitment to delivering high-quality vehicles to the Malaysian market.

He continued, “We understand the importance of trust, and we want to reinforce the confidence our customers place in us. Our dedication to customer satisfaction has always been and remains our top priority.”

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Laugh on Dec 22, 2023 at 1:30 pm

Hopefully they won’t come out with something that means
    Fellow Malaysian lives are not as valuable compared to other countries especially Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Dec 22, 2023 at 5:51 pm

In Japan,one of their menteri drank the Fukushima nuke contaminated water..and developed cancer,right?
      So,made in Japan label does not equate to QUALITY anymore.
      They can hide tons of data on Fukushima,they can also hide data on Toyota or Daihatsu.
      If the Americans r late in attacking Hiroshima,Pearl harbour might be attacked with nukes later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Nice

• Sohai on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:51 pm

Atoni lok no idea no standard. window tint follow AP king estima rear dark change from ili-girl become li-girl, p2 follow milotin standard will do, etc…

• Richard Teo on Dec 22, 2023 at 1:36 pm

We want new body chassis
    We want new door changed
    We want UR safety reinforce bars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Bob Mal on Dec 22, 2023 at 1:43 pm

Lets us speculate that Perodua have no idea how to fix or lie about this so much so as ‘the authorities’ they are talking to so just wait for Japan announcements and then boom just like April – CEO came out to say (rest assured that despite the revelation by Daihatsu, the UN-R95 certification given to the Perodua is intact).

Now that is some special confidence of assurance if you know what that means.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Dah Menang Semua on Dec 22, 2023 at 6:05 pm

JUST EXCHANGE STRONGER DOORS

Safety scandal concerns the driver door – In the pole side impact test (UN-R135), the left and right test must be performed and the data must be submitted.

Quoting Daihatsu on its official website, “This time, the passenger seat side (left) was tested in the presence of witnesses. For the driver’s seat side, we submitted the left side data instead of the right-side in-house test data.”

• Toyota is king on Dec 22, 2023 at 1:55 pm

No worry. Our car has been tested and approved by many other authorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • vincent on Dec 22, 2023 at 2:35 pm

No worries on safety, Malaysians priorities are resale and fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Air liur x perlu modal pun.Lip service.

• hazri on Dec 22, 2023 at 3:50 pm

fuhh mujur tak beli perodua.

• Free car service voucher for affected Malaysia customers. Case closed.

• Mokmok on Dec 22, 2023 at 5:45 pm

I don’t understand one thing. Those model affected were tested not solely by JNCAP (which I understood false report) but ASEAN NCAP as well. So our ASEAN NCAP also cap ayam or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • The test units and the one that they sell is different specs a.k.a. cheating.

• Sohai on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:41 pm

Not just crash test. Engine output and emission fraud as well. Models affected because of the engine. Basically whole thing is a scam.
      But guess what, Malaysian will still buy P2. You hear a lot people suddenly cancel their order? Infect, if you buy now, you should not be entitled to any compensation because “I told you so”.

• Aikon on Dec 23, 2023 at 8:04 am

You’re right. I think those who buy those cars blindly, hardy even read about automotive news (relying more on what their friends, relatives and their salesperson says. and being salespersons, they will just sweep it under the carpet as selling those cars is their rice bowl) and are thus, blissfully unaware about these illegal things going on by their beloved brand.

• Haha… these Japs. So much with their gemba, kaizen, seiri, sciso, more importantly soksendri….

• Ur moms car on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:37 pm

No wonder they were unsafe and underpowered as hell

• Issuing statement is one thing, how will the impacted car buyers be compensated ? Compensation is more important than lip services.
    Pomptly addressing this quality issue is much better than the rusted roof and doors and automatic transmission failures suffered by the DRB Proton Saga, Iswara, Wira, Perdana owners during the 1990s. Locals supported and bought Malaysian made cars, but was instead gifted with rusted roof, doors and premature automatic transmission failures, no car owner was compensated.
    Hope the government upholds Malaysian car buyers’ rights, similar to other countries, as car owners pay tens of thousands ringgit and taxes buying a new car.

• Justice on Dec 23, 2023 at 6:49 am

Boycott all perodua cars and avoid Daihatsu based models such as the Rush, Veloz and 2023 Vios

• Lol complaint so much against honda , now Toyota fan boys quiet ady

• What compensation? on Dec 23, 2023 at 2:11 pm

Warranty 60 months or 100KM only

Are you ever died or injured?

• Chan Boon Chew on Dec 24, 2023 at 10:53 am

Now, I want to ask people who claimed Myvi’s design had local hands in it, whether their safety test was headed by locals or the Japanese.
    On the other hand, for those who claimed will dump Perodua if Perodua had no input from Japanese hands, please tell me these procedural irregularities were the result of Japanese hands or local one?
    Popcorns ready with drinks and waiting for movie to start.

• Sohai on Dec 24, 2023 at 12:38 pm

“Japan’s ministry of land, infrastructure, transport and tourism (MLIT)”
    One minister in Japan, we need 4 ministers to do the same job. Now you know why our ministers has so much time to do politicking
    Our public office and services are very bloated and inefficient. Please do something about it.

• Habiby Is on Dec 24, 2023 at 1:47 pm

Now let’s see if Perodua want to send the statements that Perodua will recall all affected cars and replace it with the correct specification that they submit for the crash test. I really doubt they will do this, but let wait and see.

• Axia pon bole on Dec 25, 2023 at 6:15 pm

Learning from proton?
    Last time proton tested a unit with isofix but the production didn’t have.
    After kantoi, then offer free installation

• albag on Dec 26, 2023 at 9:36 am

people buy for the BRAND, not the quality.. is the BRAND that matters the most