Women-only MRT coaches to expand to Putrajaya Line

MRT ladies-only coach access, Kajang Line

The MRT women’s coach pilot project will be expanded to the Putrajaya Line, as complaints of sexual harassment have been on a decline since its introduction, said transport minister Anthony Loke.

Since trial runs of the ladies-only coach began in September, complaints of sexual harassment have reduced from eight cases in the first quarter of this year to three cases in the fourth quarter as of November even though the number of MRT passengers increased, The Star reported.

As for adult male passengers who enter the women-only coaches on the MRT line, there are currently no plans penalise the offenders, and the government will focus on educating MRT passengers for the time being, the transport minister said according to BFM on X.

The introduction of the women-only coaches on the Kajang Line was announced in July this year. Installation of high-visibility stickers for the floor and gantries was carried out in early September to indicate access to the ladies-only coaches.

In 2010, a ladies-specific rail commmuter service was introduced by KTM Komuter for women, who comprised 60% of its ridership, the New Straits Times reported in July.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Allocate enough coach for women is ok. Don’t lebih-lebih like Atria mall marking almost half of their lower ground parking lots for women. These lots are left empty despite not enough parking lots for other shoppers.

• Ajerul on Dec 22, 2023 at 10:46 am

Mata memandang , jgn byk tangan

• Yes we want equality in sex….. A male janitor attending a woman toilet, straight get complaint and possibly police report. In term of public places scarcity, there’s reserved lots for ladies parking and now train coaches. Don’t et me wrong, I respect women, but how is it right when we give so much of different treated at the same time shouting equality? Please educate us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Ahlek on Dec 22, 2023 at 12:41 pm

Many people nowadays just can’t have self control over their thoughts, their lusts, etc. In this case I can understand the steps needed to curb out-of-control men in trains. I was standing in the LRT, surrounded by women; I put my hands up in the air & said, ‘see ladies, my hands are up, not touching anything!!.’ They laughed. I’m sure I was being touched by their bodies, but I didn’t care lah. Wink! Hahaha

• Pakngah dulu Pas on Dec 23, 2023 at 11:21 pm

Setuju Ahlek kor. Sahabat2 sya dulu masa dlm musyawarah bila tgok makcik pembancuh teh pon tkleh control nafsu diri..

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 22, 2023 at 1:33 pm

make sure women stay at the women’s coaches yea bodo policy

• hazri on Dec 22, 2023 at 3:53 pm

they should make separation like a toilet, for men and women.

• Gabriel on Dec 22, 2023 at 5:28 pm

This country is lead by DAP, so this should not happen. We must fight not to have separation. This is to make sure less issue like that guy from JKOM. Come on DAP, this country is ours, stop this nonsense.

#guanengforPMXI
    #kitsiangforsultanpenang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • turborider on Dec 22, 2023 at 5:29 pm

Now what Era already, need dedicated MRT for women? How about public bus and so on? I am not trying to say protect women is wrong, I believe there will have better ways to reduce such harassment issues. Increase heavy punishment and add more cameras inside the MRT might helps

• Sohai on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:52 pm

Want gender equality but also want special coaches in train and quota for board of directors.
    Special ministry for women also.
    What so special about women?
    I think is fair that women should pay more for MRT because they enjoy dedicated coaches.

• Sairam on Dec 23, 2023 at 8:47 am

This is like 1 religion creeping into everything…holy n pious. Eveeything is seductive

• I am all in for gender equality and women’s rights. Just hope our nation is not heading on the path towards an Afghanistan county. Prasarana should further improve MRT commuters security and the government should do more to educate and discipline males to respect females. Or else, possibly soon, we may implement different roads for female and male drivers ?

• Please make sure all ladies go to ladies coach, if not it will defect the purpose

• charlie on Dec 23, 2023 at 2:50 pm

Pondan sits where

• When it comes to something that is not favoured to women, they shout for equality.
    When it comes to something that is favoured to women, they shout lady first.