2024 Jaecoo J8 previewed in Malaysia – 249 PS 2.0T, 7DCT; up to 7 seats; expected Q4 launch; RM200k est

The Jaecoo J7 wasn’t the only car to be previewed by Jaecoo Malaysia today, as the company also brought out a unit of the Jaecoo J8. Also referred to as the Chery Tiggo 9, the J8 is expected to be launched sometime in the fourth quarter of 2024 with an estimated price of around RM200k.

Available with two- or three-row seating depending on the market it is sold in, the J8 made its global debut in Doha, Qatar last October. It is a big SUV, measuring in a 4,820 mm long, 1,930 mm wide, 1,699 mm tall and with a wheelbase of 2,820 mm.

This example you see is a left-hand drive unit and isn’t representative of what we’ll be getting. Nonetheless, we can point out available features on the J8, which include 20-inch alloy wheels, LED headlamps, dual 12.3-inch displays (digital instrument cluster and infotainment), dual-zone climate system with rear vents and controls and a head-up display.

Other things we sighted include leather upholstery, powered front seats, a 14-speaker Sony sound system, an air-cooled wireless charging pad, a large panoramic glass roof, ambient lighting and a powered tailgate. This J8 is a five-seater, but the SUV is also offered with six or seven seats.

As for the powertrain, the J8 comes with a 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine delivering 249 PS (245 hp or 183 kW) and 385 Nm. The mill is paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, with front- and all-wheel drive being available options.

There’s still some time to go before the J8 makes its launch debut here, but as far as first impressions go, what do you think of it? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nice, this will compete with 2.5T CX-8 in terms of power

• jaehot on Jan 05, 2024 at 2:17 pm

i’m sorry but, RM160k for something called a Jaecoo already sounded a little ridiculous and now this is RM200k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
    • President Xi on Jan 05, 2024 at 3:59 pm

Will it sound smarter if I rebrand to Jaecoozee? Sounds like Cherokee, no? Sorry la our england no good so our brands and model names can sound cringe to you all mat salleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • President Xi on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:01 pm

On 2nd thought, will u accept Jaecoon? Sounds like 1 of your tribes in mesia but not raccoon ya. Tu binatang kita kete kumunis

• PM Modi on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:44 pm

How about jai jo? Has a catchy song to go with the brand

• Sohai on Jan 05, 2024 at 5:41 pm

Yep, this will probably be dead on arrival. RM200k for non-EV from Chinese maker… ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Geng boikot on Jan 06, 2024 at 8:07 am

They sell donuts too, no?

• Should name it JaeHOT

• hazri on Jan 05, 2024 at 2:28 pm

aik macam familiar la look dia… x90 + x50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Phuddi sung Lee on Jan 05, 2024 at 2:50 pm

Heavy gamble on ur money to buy it, keep in mind vehicle depreciation, maintenance major concerns

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • prolever on Jan 05, 2024 at 3:22 pm

Question now will you go for this wen that kind of money will get you a decent recond alphard/vellfire siblings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Most people will wait n see b4 buying new brand like this one.. more over it is an expensive car… I myself will definitely not buying this for rm200k.. the price like CX8 huh..

• Bossku on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:33 pm

Wow wow Benz! You can think of this as a Mercedes GLE, but at a huge “discount”! Copy so many parts from Benz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • tricycle on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:44 pm

AWD would be nicer option.

• Happy Feet on Jan 06, 2024 at 4:54 pm

I will rather keep my money with me than paying for this junk.

• I can expect Sales will be low. Jap car at rm200k also hard to sell…..

• youngun on Jan 07, 2024 at 8:40 pm

I like that built-in sunshade, more practical than the panoramic sunroof in tropical country like M’sia.

• Will only consider this car if the price is 170k to 180k. 200k can get recon alphard low spec. If high price better consider BYD seal as they are top in EV.

• Di China ada 2 spec 5 dan 7 seater. Di Malaysia mungkin masuk 5 seater dan mungkin harga di bawah RM160,000.00

• alibaba on Jan 08, 2024 at 12:05 pm

cina product cannot sell so exp, not worth

• Michael on Feb 23, 2024 at 11:30 pm

They should sell J7 at RM125k and J8 at RM150k. Then only you will see sales. To have J8 at RM200k, people will just migrate to Mazda Cx series.