B2 to full B bike license auto upgrade risky if rushed; kapchai and superbikes are two different things: PIMA

B2 to full B bike license auto upgrade risky if rushed; <em>kapchai</em> and superbikes are two different things: PIMA

The proposal for an automatic upgrade of the B2 motorcycle license to a full B motorcycle license must be further scrutinised as it could have implications for the country’s road safety system, and many things must be taken into consideration before allowing the automatic upgrade of licenses for motorcyclists, Malaysian Driving Institute Association (PIMA) president Mat Aris Bakar said, according to the New Straits Times.

This includes the statistics of accidents involving motorcyclists and their discipline on the road, as based on statistics, two-wheeler occupants, both riders and pillion riders, make up the highest road fatalities, the PIMA president said.

“Furthermore, kapchai [underbone motorcycles] and superbikes [large engine capacity bikes] are two different things. To ride a superbike, it not only requires a [full] B license, but also additional skills and competency that one does not get when getting their B2 license. Safety needs to be front and centre of the consideration as the move can endanger the lives of those unfamiliar with the difference in [license] classes,” he said.

The move to automatically upgrade a motorcyclist’s B2-class license to a full B license could regress the country’s vehicle licensing system as it involves the competency of the rider, he said, adding that those who acquired their full B license through the automatic upgrade may not have their licenses recognised by foreign countries.

B2 to full B bike license auto upgrade risky if rushed; <em>kapchai</em> and superbikes are two different things: PIMA

For the classification of motorcycle licenses in Malaysia, the B2 license is for license holders to operate motorcycles of up to 250 cc capacity, while the full B license allows the license holder to operate motorcycles with no upper limit restriction on engine capacity.

Yesterday, deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said that a rider’s age and the duration of being B2-licensed are among the factors which need to be considered before the proposal for the automatic upgrade to a full B license for motorcycles can be finalised.

Earlier this month, transport minister Anthony Loke said that the matter of automatically upgrading B2 licenses to full B licenses is still under review by the transport ministry, and later noted that the decision to automatically upgrade B2 license holders to a full B license is not straightforward because JSPT statistics show that the majority of road accidents involve individuals aged between 16 and 35.

The automatic upgrading of motorcycle licenses was first proposed in August last year, submitted by Superbikers Association Malaysia (SAM) president Datuk Abdul Halim Sulaiman. This submission proposed that holders of the B2 motorcycle licence with its 250 cc limit, be upgraded to the full class B license after three years, on the condition the B2 licence holder does not commit any serious traffic offences.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• willie on Jan 23, 2024 at 12:18 pm

We have the B1 in existence, why not B2 auto upgrade to B1, than after number of years to B full.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Class War on Jan 23, 2024 at 2:08 pm

Looks like Mat Rempit vs Hell’s Angels

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 23, 2024 at 3:27 pm

Look at how fast those
        High-class rempits
        Add newcomers lg
        Sendiri m@ti x ape
        Jgn susahkan org

• seitha on Jan 29, 2024 at 2:30 pm

In which era are you living?
      B1 was abolished many years ago.
      Its B full or B2.
      If one wants to ride anything above 250 cc.You are required to take a B full license

• Lilytan on Jan 23, 2024 at 12:29 pm

The actual risk here is the loss of revenue for the driving schools.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
  • Veyron Owner on Jan 23, 2024 at 12:51 pm

Stupid comment. Like saying i need a special license if drive a 1000HP Veyron compared to owners driving 66HP Axia… oh wai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
    • Rempit king on Jan 23, 2024 at 4:00 pm

Betul tu! Baik jpj buat D2 sampai 1500cc, D1 sampai 3000cc & D full lantak ko la nak bawak jet pejuang ke rocket ke

• B2 rider on Jan 24, 2024 at 8:09 am

Pernah bawa motor ke bang? Motor bukan macam kereta. High cc is heavier, hard to maneuver in heavy traffic. Then the torque is super high that you need to subconsciously competent in handling the torque, of which will naturally come with training and experience. Kereta, meanwhile, you just sit comfortably without needing to balance it, cornering sebelah tangan pun boleh. 4 tayar kan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • 4.7L SUV on Jan 25, 2024 at 1:50 am

You know, it’s not about balancing or hard maneuver at all. After all I did learn and ride a 500cc instantly after I got my B2 license. I just found out about bike license categories when I was stopped at police road block, after more than a year of riding 500cc, 19yo me!! Not only that, I did tried a few club member’s 1.0 litre supersports and 1.2-1.8 litre cruisers and tourings. How’s that different than handling 700hp car with axia license? Supercars did slide their tails in a wrong hands, even under 40km/h. The only difference is not many people could afford a supercar compared to superbike, thus specific license category for supercar wont generate meaningful income for driving schools.

• You’re right bro. They didn’t care of different handling of those highpower car with Kancil
      But they did on motorbike

• Susukotak on Jan 24, 2024 at 9:00 am

aussie did it

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2024 at 1:04 pm

Malaysian Driving Institute Association (PIMA) is trying to say that with the automatic upgrade, Driving Schools will lose another source of income and they disagree with that. no need to putar belit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • Agreed 1000%

• azlan on Jan 25, 2024 at 3:47 pm

one license is eough. maybe for newer riders, mandatory a few years horsepower limit of two wheel machine they can operate. maybe below 50hp. no need to have different categories of bike license.

its all about discipline and your choice to ride higher powered bike or not. risk will always be higher on two wheels machine compared to four wheel vehicles. if u r skillful in operating high powered machine, by all mean go ahead n ride like the wind… but if u have not acquired necessary riding skills but still want to ride these high powered machine like a hero, i say go ahead too, maybe u will live to learn the hard way…

always be alert, be discipline n acquire advance riding skills if possible when u r ready to jump to higher powered bikes.

one license is enough… its a matter of being smart or u prefer to be stupid….

• aaaps on Jan 23, 2024 at 1:06 pm

STOP PLACATING TO REMPITS, PUNISH THEM HARDER NOT REWARDING THEM FURTHER

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Lance Chau on Jan 23, 2024 at 1:28 pm

Apologize in advance as I am not well verse with the bike license but shouldn’t the riders be well equip with the prerequisite first before riding a bike, insurance, road etiquette before moving to another level?

• Rempit king on Jan 23, 2024 at 4:02 pm

Yes we have all that (or do we)? But we usually leave our brains at home when we go for rides.

• Watcher on Jan 24, 2024 at 8:12 am

You are right. Everything is already covered in B2 licence. The B full licence is just a matter of giving you practical training on how to handle a big, faster and heavier bike

• Curious on Jan 23, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Mat rempit also upgrade to Mat rempuh, afterall it’s a free upgrade.

• Better skip primary & secondary schools & go direct to university.

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2024 at 3:13 pm

a Student just need to repeat Form 5 a few years, the student can auto upgrade to University. if the student continues to study a few years and extend his/her studies in the university for quite some time, automatic will upgrade from Bachelor Degree to Masters.

• komarad on Jan 23, 2024 at 3:01 pm

after 40 y.o and 10 years riding can change to B full

• Wong chee keong on Jan 23, 2024 at 3:08 pm

Mat rempit is coming for big bikes.

• Frankc on Jan 23, 2024 at 3:36 pm

I strongly support PIMA feedback. Handling kapchai and superbike is different. There’s no shortcut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Bob_B78 on Jan 23, 2024 at 3:45 pm

Those who worry about giving mat rempits automatic upgrade B should not worry much. 1st those so called mat rempits if they could afford superbikes they would not have needed wait free B upgrades, for they would been able to afford to pay driving school already. 2nd, no superbike owner will just simply lend their bikes to those who have an inexperienced B licence owner. If u have superbike u r qualified. If u dun own one u r not qualified regardless if u a B license owner. 3rd never seen superbikes owner gang rempit in late nights. 4th nobody wants crash their superbikes coz its quite expensive to repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Turbohead on Jan 23, 2024 at 5:27 pm

What competency? When I sat for B license just 5 years ago, I was in the same class as B2 students. We went through the same materials and the same practice sessions. The only differences were I was given a 500cc bike for practice and 1-2 less cones to maneuver around. I actually learned some essential riding skills on YouTube. What is PIMA talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • 250 also got superbike right? B2 can ride also, amacam mau kira?

• Most people who made their comment have never taken that B license course. That course is nothing really. Most is low speed handling of heavy, manual geared machine. Nothing got to do with high power manuver thing. Even small CC bikes is dangerously fast enough if ride carelessly. It is all about mentality & maturity. And we know maturity goes along with age. So, bring back class B1, auto upgrade after certain amount of age & experience (with B2 licence of course), then auto upgrade to B full after certain amount of age and experience. For those who do not know, people with money do not have any power limit once he have registered for B full course. Not even before passing the test. L license..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Due to the lackadaisical attitude of riders as well as the evident lawlessness , the rules and regulations must be much stricter. They should be subjected to a psychological test as well.
    If allowed, this is regressive.

• Kaizen on Jan 23, 2024 at 9:53 pm

Some people just want to ride higher CC scooter not 1000cc superbike

• Azman bin munip on Jan 23, 2024 at 11:03 pm

Pendapat saya ialah mesti Ada lesen B2 Dan mesti melebihi sekurang kurangnye 10 tahun. Dan satu lagi yg penting ialah mereka mestilah mendaftar Di sekolah memandu utk pembelajaran membawa motosikal berkuasa tinggi sekurang kurangnye 15 jam pembelajaran . Sekurang kurangnye mereka akan faham dan dpt menyesuaikan diri dgn motosikal berkuasa tinggi.

• Nijai on Jan 25, 2024 at 3:41 am

Setuju, just perlu hadir kursus dan tak perlu ujian dah mencukupi. Win-win situation

• Susukotak on Jan 24, 2024 at 8:59 am

maybe we should have different categories car licences like aussie doing base on power output

• Suggestions.
    1. Age limit above 35.
    2. Licensed B2 holder 15 years and above.

Entitle for the full B license base on which ever is higher.

Example 1: you own B2 at the age of 16, after 15 years your age will be 31, but you need to wait until your age reach 35 then only you entitle automatically upgrade to B.

Example 2: you own B2 at the age of 25, after 15 years your age will be 40, then you automatically entitle for B in consideration of above suggestions.

Just my 1/4 cents though

• Johnny Thang on Jan 24, 2024 at 9:18 am

I have a B1 licence since 1976 and a rider of a 350cc machines and if upgrade, I should get an automatic upgrade status to full B. I do agree with the writer regarding the competence of a B2 license upgrade to full B. These are two different machines and the handling and maneuvering of these machines are totally different.

• 2 cents on Jan 24, 2024 at 10:45 am

At least make them go through a workshop training with clutched bikes like 500 or 650cc please. But to me personally 250cc is enough for daily commute lol.

• i have been riding both, kapchai and big bikes. i dont see we are applying different road laws on any vehicle.all are the same abiding the same rules & laws.. i dont see myvi drivers need to take special test to drive a ferrari or porch. we see so called rempits crash and excidents , we also see big matures so called big bike riders crash too.
    yes you can say the machines are different in handling wise…but i bet if a rider/driver rides the same vehicle due time he will know how to handle it. and also being respectful to other road users also one of the main factor to differenciate good rider or not either the rempit or big bike rider.
    and stop putting a stigma on only rempit. i see also big bikers have no decipline and manners too especially when they are riding in a bunch.

• Only in Malaysia a simple thing they make it so troublesome for the people. Not in other country. Seem like Malaysian people are very stupid and dont know to ride a superbike.
    1. All those accidents involving motorcycles are not necessarily due to their fault. There are so many factors including the road conditions and other drivers.
    2. One can passed B full driving test just by one year self learning. But other already had 10 or 15 years of riding motorcycles. How you compare this scenario ? Which one have more experience?
    3. Is it so different riding a 250cc compare to 300cx or 400cc or 500cc ? Frankly there is not different. If you are physically fit to ride 250cc then the rest is also a bike regardless what cc is equipped.
    4. Danger is so subjective. Are you riding a bike just to crash another vehicle purposely? Accident can happen to all vehicles not only bikers.
    5. Can you come out with other statistics on accident involving cars, van, bus, lorries and so forth that cause fatal injury to motorcycle rider ?
    6. Thing is that…a good ideas from people to make other people life easy is not necessarily accepted by others especially those involve in licensing biz.
    7. Government needs to simplify the process and not really see the statistics because statistic can be vary.

• Monyet on Jan 24, 2024 at 1:20 pm

Ngl as someone who rides a 250cc and want more.This would be great for me. Personal it would only mean I dont have to waste money and time to get my BFull I’ll still get it regardless free or not. Mak rumputs will still do whatever they want similarly. Bigger cc bikes arent just fast lol. They’re way more stable and brake better as well. You’re incentivised to not fk up your pricier bike. I could’nt careless about my cheap yamaha scooter. Cost is low to replace. All the accidents I’ve seen are on really warn out bikes unfit for the road ridden by old uncles who can’t even bother to buckle up their helmets or rumputs big or small that shouldn’t be touching throttles as much as themselves at night.

• Nizam on Jan 24, 2024 at 1:46 pm

Bijaknya lah tindakan nak buat auto upgrade ni..

Kan lebih baik, kalau hapuskan terus lesen motorsikal.. Tak payah ada terus..
    Asal boleh kayuh basikal saja, layak bawa superbike..
    Kan lagi mudah..

Apa nak jadi Malaysia ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Landan on Jan 24, 2024 at 7:07 pm

The driving school don’t want to lose money, why not charge some fee for the upgrade to the eligible people. Or upgrade to be done twice; B2 to B1 and then B1 to B with some criteria in force and fee of course.

• Rider4Life on Jan 25, 2024 at 2:08 am

Tak beza banyak sangat pun B2 dan B Full, sekolah memandu ajar pun xhabis, makan naikkan yuran je tinggi2.. Paling cikai sekali, dorang tak tekankan pemahaman penggunaan lampu pada keadaan yang macam mana, dah gelap pun masih ramai tak bukak lampu kereta, harapkan LED tapi lampu belakang tak ada. Tak jugak diambil tindakan. Orang lain jadi mangsa. Bila bagi isyarat tangan, keras kepala. Seb baik tengah buat kerja.

• azlan on Jan 25, 2024 at 3:43 pm

one license is eough. maybe for newer riders, mandatory a few years horsepower limit of two wheel machine they can operate. maybe below 50hp. no need to have different categories of bike license.

its all about discipline and your choice to ride higher powered bike or not. risk will always be higher on two wheels machine compared to four wheel vehicles. if u r skillful in operating high powered machine, by all mean go ahead n ride like the wind… but if u have not acquired necessary riding skills but still want to ride these high powered machine like a hero, i say go ahead too, maybe u will live to learn the hard way…

always be alert, be discipline n acquire advance riding skills if possible when u r ready to jump to higher powered bikes.

one license is enough… its a matter of being smart or u prefer to be stupid… u decide….