Malaysia considering one-off subsidy for EV purchase – a special cash rebate to buy your first electric car?

Here’s big news for the Malaysian EV industry. Deputy minister of investment, trade and industry Liew Chin Tong said in parliament today that the government is considering a one-off subsidy for electric vehicle purchases.

The Iskandar Puteri MP said that MITI had proposed the one-off subsidy plan to boost EV ownership and the shift away from internal combustion engines. The proposal is now in the hands of the finance ministry, specifically the national EV steering committee meeting, The Edge reported.

“This proposal is currently under consideration by the finance ministry,” Liew said, adding that the plan could contribute towards reducing fuel subsidies in the longer-term.

This proposed one-off subsidy for the purchase of an EV is on top of existing carrots reserved for battery electric vehicles. In Budget 2023, it was announced that import duty and excise duty exemption for CBU imported EVs will be extended to end 2025. EVs are also free from road tax and there’s income tax relief for EV charger expenses.

This also coincides with the impending market entry of EVs from national players Perodua and Proton – click on the links to read more.

EV sales in Malaysia reached 13,257 units in 2023, bringing the total number on Malaysian roads to 16,763 units, according to the Zero Emissions Vehicle Association (ZEVA), which estimates that EV sales will reach 19,000 to 20,000 units this year.

So, how does a special cash rebate for you to buy your first EV sound? How much, you ask. In Budget 2024, it was announced that the government will give a RM2,400 rebate to encourage electric motorcycle ownership. Logically, the amount should be a fair bit more than that for cars. RM10k OK?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pro T20 Policy on Feb 28, 2024 at 5:18 pm

Great job politicians!

More policies and handouts that will only benefit those of the T20 bracket.

How many B40 can afford to buy an EV even with a one-off subsidy????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 15
    • Awang Kechik on Feb 28, 2024 at 7:20 pm

Pak lowbai bersorban naik mecedis. Follower kapcai rabak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • Stupid Liew Chin Tong on Feb 29, 2024 at 12:10 am

Take away fuel subsidy from B40 and give EV subsidy to T20.

Stupid MITI deputy minister!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Tan ah biao on Feb 29, 2024 at 9:30 pm

If b40 can’t afford EV then don’t buy EV, simple as that, no one says you must catch up with the latest material stuff. If you are b40 you have fuel subsidy which is from government which comes from the T20 tax money. Also T20 are the ones who can really push start the EV market, not you definitely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • seitha on Mar 01, 2024 at 7:37 pm

Did najis pay his taxes?
        Did najis son pay his taxes
        Did najis daughter pay his taxes
        Don know how many more najises are out there not paying their taxes..
        Don know how many GLC not paying their taxes!!
        take you middle finger and put it inside where the sun never shines

• Please appreciate T20s who are the group paying taxes to subsidy for B40. Contribution from T20 are one of the main income for the government.

So, you are thinking a subsidy to the ev cars is not fair?

• observer on Feb 28, 2024 at 5:25 pm

EV is a different playing field already. It is a gadget, not a mere transport anymore. The manufacturer will have constant control over your vehicle (e.g. certain subscriptions will require annual renewal), other than the usual suspects (range anxiety, etc.). Have we thought about the battery scrap issue yet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
    • Eh... on Feb 28, 2024 at 10:04 pm

ICEs are also connected as well and also have subscriptions. Nothing to do with EV. Educate yourself instead of spewing nonsense please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • seitha on Mar 01, 2024 at 7:41 pm

I THINK you are the one who should SERIOUSLY consider “educating” yourself first…
        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjXw56GuIZQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZRkUy3rHzQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhbvJce4CsA

• Tan ah biao on Feb 29, 2024 at 9:31 pm

Bro thinks ICE vehicles don’t have electronics parts.

• seitha on Mar 03, 2024 at 11:20 am

Yes, ICE vehicles too do have electronics but the manufacturer or authority cannot control the car with their software and apps.
        All EV’s can be shutdown by the manufacturer or authority.

• t333son on Feb 28, 2024 at 5:43 pm

Many people no spare income since harga barang asas naik like nobody’s business lately. Nak beli nasi and lauk only also have to budget. Then these jokers come up with brilliant idea of subsidy for the rich. Most people can only afford cars less than RM100k. Again, Elite Vs the Common People.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
    • Disappointed PH voters,turned BERSIH on Feb 28, 2024 at 7:37 pm

EV above 100k..got SUBSIDY.
      Perodua Axia 40k…potong salary kau kau hingga makan roti chanai/nasi lemak /”poisonous” instant noodles to cut costs to pay sewa,tambang bas sekolah untuk 6 anak etc.
      The sales figures for EV disclose one fact: it is a rich man’s toy.The Ev may be the third car in the family.
      How come we subsidise T20 while the lower class can hardly afford a retrenchment while buying a Saga or Axia ?
      PMX…the greenies are getting more bullets to attack PH.
      Something is definitely not ngam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
      • Cipai on Feb 28, 2024 at 8:41 pm

The whole initiative about driving EV adoption is about environment and carbon emission.
        Nothing wrong if T20 is the one saving the planet first. Would B40 care about environment if it cost them abit more? Didnt think so. Is beyond their comprehension due to their educational level anyway, just like they never understood what 1 MBD is.
        If you are creating the product… you will target people with money or without?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 63
        • T20 that wants subsidy is super stupid on Feb 29, 2024 at 12:04 am

Target ppl with money ✅

Give subsidy for ppl with money ❎❎❎❎❎

Ppl with money are well off to buy those things without subsidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Akio Toyoda...No more Evs on Feb 29, 2024 at 7:39 am

What environment,dude?
          TNB has to burn more fossil fuels to power the charging infra.
          Look at how they mine lithium…u vomit at the environmental damage and child labour in certain countries.
          After some time,when EV car fires more frequent,insurers stop insuring Ev cars,the charging infra is dilapidated..people will ditch Evs.Now,it is a fanciful toy for the rich.
          Look at NGV taxis….just pathetic n deplorable.

• Sohai on Feb 29, 2024 at 11:38 am

Thats TNB’s problem to find clean energy source. You worry about your own carbon footprint first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • greenenergy on Feb 29, 2024 at 6:13 pm

There are always other options. Have you installed rooftop solar panels or subscribed to green energy tariffs for daily usage? If not, stop complaining.

• t333son on Feb 29, 2024 at 9:11 am

not producing more cars is the greenest option but no one talks about that

• seitha on Mar 01, 2024 at 7:44 pm

enough of your EV environment and carbon emission bullshit.
          Tell us exactly what is environmentally friendly about EV..
          We dare you to list them down here

• Wiraturbo on Feb 28, 2024 at 5:44 pm

Don’t you think this “news” will kill current EV sales instantly? Minister should never reveal pipeline plan of this nature… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Niama on Feb 28, 2024 at 8:34 pm

You got it all wrong. The initiative is clearly will help EV sales.
      It is the ICE sales that will get affected.
      Besides, you own Tesla shares? From a consumer persepctive, knowing early is clearly a good thing.
      Dont LOL when you are the subject of amusement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • FudgeMeSideways on Feb 28, 2024 at 5:45 pm

There are no EVs in the Axia/ Bezza price bracket, which is the bulk of your car buyers, Liew.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Sohai on Feb 28, 2024 at 5:46 pm

Free income tax for 1 year lah if buy EV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • That subsidy is better off used to buy solar panels for all Malaysian instead of buying a new car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Helgin on Feb 28, 2024 at 6:43 pm

They’ll likely only hand it out for Proton and Perodua EVs when they come out. Trying to please their vote bank.

• Control the charging cost is more practical than cost of purchase. Not everyone can afford to pay the charging cost. Ev will getting cheaper if govt remove the RM100k limit. Now a lot of brand purposely increase the cost of vehicle to meet the govt requirements! So no point to subsidy the rakyat to convert to EV. Control the charging cost is more practical!

• plakat on Feb 28, 2024 at 9:16 pm

what ever cars or subsidies… motor bike is the best. I switched to kapcai a year… far more fun. I can shout and showed fist to any drivers i not happy with even not their fault… real king of road.

• No2EV on Feb 28, 2024 at 9:41 pm

Ada aku kisah? EV n proton are the same useless BS.

• Ashraf on Feb 29, 2024 at 12:06 am

Many people here are not aware that quality EVs now cost only RM50K in China. This EVs are comparable to BMW or Audi. performances. That’s why Toyota is running scared. So the EV subsidy is most welcomed.

• Nono..gas car is da future

• Awas- No free lunch on Feb 29, 2024 at 9:18 am

Becareful folks, our OKU ministers and gov think we are stupid. One off means your second EV will cost you a bomb. Good government will make money from overseas and use that profit to make cars cheaper, better road, less/no tax, better transport system etc. But our OKU gov only knows how to make money from their own people. Brunei, Dubai etc all no income tax because they use their oil profit to help their own people. China and SG makes money from many startups and business and use the profit to lower tax and build infrastructures for their own people. Now our OKU menteri mau tipu all of us with this trap. Beware

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Don't mix up the roles of public & private sectors on Feb 29, 2024 at 6:52 pm

Do u know what’s the difference between the govt public sector & the private sector? Do you know that profit is the objective of the private sector but not of the public sector? Do you know that the govt’s objective is to provide essential services for the country such as military defence, civil defence, law enforcement, judiciary, correctional facilities, infrastructure, medical care, basic education, etc., where it is unlikely to be profitable and thus can’t be provided by the private sector?
      Therefore, the govt has to obtain funding via taxation & other means of revenue on the profits & incomes of the private sector where the majority of the country’s citizens are conducting economic activities. And this still applies to China & Singapore.
      In oil rich countries like Brunei & the UAE, the revenue from petroleum exports are huge enough to surpass the govt expenditure in those countries, such that their respective govts do not need to tax their citizens.
      However, although also an oil exporting country, Norway still does tax its citizens because its govt puts the surplus from its oil revenue into a sovereign wealth fund as they do not want the country & its people solely depend on petroleum revenue to sustain economic growth & prosperity. The fund acts as a protective buffer against fluctuating oil prices and the expected decline in future oil revenues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Normal dude on Feb 29, 2024 at 9:01 pm

And how about removing or lowering the tax on vehicles and let local brands compete in fairness? Do you think a trash car like City costing over 100K makes sense? Less government is the best government. Lower expenditures so can lower taxation, so people have more money at hand. That’s the only way. That’s what a government should do, what the examples above do. But subsidy here subsidy there then you must get the money from somewhere, so where? Taxes. Stop subsidies, lower taxes, improve education, facilitate foreign investment and in 1 generation you see results. This is a proven approach.

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 01, 2024 at 10:34 am

Awas is right and you are wrong. You sound stupid to think it is ok for Malaysia and Norway to tax its people even though they sell so much oil. Sohai like you make everyone suffer. You know why norway is as useless as us? Guess why..Its because we adopted the same sohai western democratic system. Its a failed system that has many loop holes for corruption and western intervention eg coup. Lousy system. This western cibai system will allow sohai like you to ruin our country by voting wrongly. Majority is not always right. Majority people are not smart. That is why only 5% of the world people are successful while 95% are average sohai like you. So with voting system, the whole country is at the hand of majority sohai like you. Smart country like China will allow the bullet proof meritocratic system to pick the next leader. Big talk in front of the TV will not get you elected. Only proven track record will get you the the top. Superb system. But we like Indians, are so proud to use our colonists system. “Terima kasih pak British, sistem kamu bagus. Kamu bunuh ramai orang kami tapi sistem yang kamu nak kita ikut tu mesti ikhlas dan bagus. Terima kasih British. Kamu ni baik”….Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Pls take a good look at yourself in the mirror b4 u call other ppl sohai & useless on Mar 01, 2024 at 11:05 pm

You can think that the governments of Malaysia & Norway are stupid to tax their citizens even if they sell their oil, but you didn’t think that they already know that the oil resources will run out 1 day & they would still have to get revenue to run their respective countries. Even oil rich Arab countries also know about running out of oil 1 day & that their days of showing off their extravagance are numbered. Thus, they are now searching for other alternatives to the oil economy, which had led to 2 of them, UAE & Bahrain, signing normalisation treaties & establishing diplomatic ties with Israel, in order to have better chances at increasing trade opportunities. It was reported that Saudi Arabia was to be next, but then the current conflict in Gaza started.
          And why do you believe that the government of China doesn’t get money from its citizens? The government of China actually does tax their citizens & business enterprises. The government does not make money for the people. The people have to work for a living (mostly in the private sector) & by doing so, be productive to contribute to the economy. The government takes part of the incomes generated by the economic activities from the people & business enterprises in the form of taxation, to finance its operations so as to provide the essential services in the country.

• Nik Anwar on Mar 01, 2024 at 1:24 pm

This car is for T20. Im in T20 bracket and i dont think it should be subsidized. Government should focus those who are in need. Not us T20.

• SutraBerlian TAN on Mar 01, 2024 at 6:08 pm

Min 25K rebatePls cheers!..

• Wong kon hoong on Mar 01, 2024 at 10:35 pm

Granted. If tesla opened and Byd opened in MY. They were given incentives from MY govt. Let’s notdebate that. It is water underground. So. ? Now. Why are we talking about government rebates??? You EV proponents think its a fair fight? Come and fight combustion engines on the ground. Why are you asking for rebates / subsidy?

• horrayooi on Mar 05, 2024 at 7:28 pm

It is crazy, road tax are so high. Might as well keep on using ICE vehicles.