It’s no secret that Indonesia and Thailand have their eyes on being Tesla’s pick for a Gigafactory location in South East Asia, with both countries having actively engaged with the EV manufacturer about that possibility in recent times, and not being coy about it.
The jockeying continues, with Thailand now saying that the carmaker is in talks with government for a potential production facility in the country, after having conducted a site survey late last year, Reuters reports.
This was revealed by Supakorn Congsomjit, an official from the prime minister’s office, who said that the Thai government has offered Tesla 100% green energy to run the facility, which could potentially assemble EVs or batteries.
The news report doesn’t indicate anything beyond that, so it remains to be seen if anything actually develops beyond talk. Thailand has of course been offering incentives to electric vehicle manufacturers and EV battery producers as well as tax cuts to local EV buyers in order to bolster its position as a regional automotive hub. While it already has the likes of Mercedes-Benz and BMW assembling batteries in the country, getting Tesla in would be a huge feather in its cap.
The same holds true for Indonesia, which has been aggressively pursuing the carmaker, tempting it with its rich nickel reserves. Talks have been going on for a few years now, although it was reported that Indonesia’s discussions with Tesla to build a factory in the archipelago had fallen through back in March 2022, before resurfacing again shortly after, continuing to this day.
Will it happen for either Thailand or Indonesia? Until an official announcement from Tesla is made on any manufacturing investment in the region, it all remains conjecture, but you can expect the huffing and puffing – and overtures to the carmaker – to continue. To wit, the news late last year indicating that the company had chosen India for its next Gigafactory location, with an announcement on this due in January, which has of course come and gone rather silently.
It’s no surprise why Thailand is chosen with fewer work downtime and no unreasonable boycott culture.
We prefer Chinese brands
China voice for Palestine
Malaysia also China proxy
What happened to balik tiongkok? Now friend friend already la?
kita suka barang murah China
kita xnak org rebut-tanah kita
I heard outside ppl alrdy rejecting the incompetent Pas PN.
Ironically now the nons have the Gomen, they are telling the majority to balik kampung tanam sayur. They complain for the past 60 years now they turn around doing the same thing when they have power.
Moral of the story, never give power away.
Tahniah Madani! They successfully chased away EV battery production to Indonesia and EV car making to Thailand! Now they have closed Lynas at last EV makers have no more reasons to come here anymore.
Well done PMX and those who voted them!
Don’t bother lah. Just focus on the syurga promised to you.
A promise of heaven is still better than hell on Madani Malaysia.
I know these heaven people are dumb but didn’t know they are this dumb.
You must be too dumb to loving hell.
eh Tesla is a US car maker, staunch supporter of Israel..so how ah?
Kami memang suka boikot. Tak suka boleh balik (insert country of origin)
Meanwhile, the madanon gomen is so preoccupied fighting the walaun opposition and totally ignoring FDIs. I’m taking my money to the land of smiles
Tahniah papa
jokowi marah
Good. Our local CKD quality memang koyak. Would take a Thai assembled model anyday, for any brand. We Malaysians assemble cars the same way we lay our roads. Slipshod.
So what investment can Palestine bring to Malaysia? hahahaha….
Investments like
1. Building tunnels,
2. Smuggling weapons and ammunition
3. Smuggling children for eipstein island adrenochrome harvesting
Once pendatang always pendatang
Anwar menang Thailand senang
meleis waiting for foreign investments from palestine state
Ironically now the nons have the Gomen, they are telling the majority to balik kampung tanam sayur. They complain for the past 60 years now they turn around doing the same thing when they have power.
Moral of the story, never give power away.
Yes, Tesla need to worry when the tax-free incentives for EV are over beyond 2025. How much you think a new model 3 would retail in Malaysia CBU from shanghai? Easily 450k.