PJD Link alignment needs to be improved; nearly 50% of complaints from PJ residents – Selangor exco

The alignment of the proposed Petaling Jaya Dispersal Link (PJD Link) highway is in need of improvement, according to the Selangor state government, reported Free Malaysia Today.

The social impact assessment report revealed that nearly 50% of complaints were received from residents in Petaling Jaya, however residents in Puchong seemed to be agreement with the project, said Selangor infrastructure and agriculture committee chairman Izham Hashim.

“We have made the decision that there has to be improvements to the project’s alignment. This is the decision we [the state government] have made, and we leave it to the federal government to make the [final] decision, Izham told the Selangor assembly.

The PJD Link project was initially said to be cancelled last July due to unsatisfactory impact assessment reports, then said to be possibly revived.

Last month, Izham said that the PJD Link project has not been cancelled, but has been postponed to allow for a realignment review to be made for certain areas.

In January, following a meeting between the PJD Link developer and the Selangor Economic Action Council (MTES), the decision on the project’s revival was postponed until further notice, The Star reported at the time, as PJD Link was concerned with the high level of protest over major segments of the highway.

The proposed PJD Link is a 25.4 km-long, dual-lane elevated expressway aimed at connecting Damansara to Bandar Kinrara in Selangor, linking the north and south of Petaling Jaya by passing through Petaling Jaya Utara, Bandar Utama, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Petaling Jaya city centre, Taman Dato’ Harun, Taman Medan Baru, Taman Sri Manja, Bandar Kinrara and Bukit Jalil Technology Park.

This would also have 11 interchanges located at Bandar Utama, SPRINT, Damansara Intan, Jalan Universiti, Federal Highway, Jalan Barat/Jalan Sultan, NPE, KESAS, Jalan Puchong, Jalan Kinrara 1 and the Bukit Jalil Highway.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• stewp1d on Mar 06, 2024 at 12:23 pm

Who complain just ignore this route to em je lah..simple..why bother to ppl that don’t want it? buat apa tersorong-sorong..

• Manifesto Dicapati on Mar 07, 2024 at 7:54 am

PH voters in Selangor dah kena game lagi skali HAHA! GGWP Selangor Pakatan!

• anonymous on Mar 06, 2024 at 12:52 pm

girl just cancel the damn thing what is not clicking we don’t need more highways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Please lah on Mar 06, 2024 at 6:06 pm

Not everyone is as fortunate as having mrt or public transport near their house.. Or able to work from home.. Not building more highways will make traffic congested like Jakarta or Bangkok.. Too late to build

• yusrykru on Mar 06, 2024 at 1:28 pm

baru setel widening grave with the recent all gov fleet change to EV, this time use excavator terus if this project jalan, some more all hardcore PH supporters in PJ and u give them this tahi

• Ben Yap on Mar 06, 2024 at 2:51 pm

now it’s 50/50 that agree and disagree. Just get 51% to agree and proceed with it. the 49% that don’t agree, they can opt to move to somewhere else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Gomorrah on Mar 06, 2024 at 10:29 pm

Yes when population more than 50% tells you no pork, no alcohol and no judi, you also move somewhere else la. Good one gamed yourself. The 50% that disagree are being inconvenienced for the 50% that agree. Why don’t you clowns that agree to this move somewhere nearer lah?

• Ben Yap on Mar 07, 2024 at 10:51 am

no pork, no alcohol and no judi is ok for me. i don’t do all these. those that don’t agree will affect those staying in Puchong, Bukit Jalil, Old Klang Road and those within these vicinities. just for the sake of PJ people, those staying at the South need to suffer.

• Gomorrah on Mar 07, 2024 at 5:42 pm

Ah so its all about conforming with what you want lah. The world where everyone is a Ben Yap clone. Why are you staying in the south and travelling? Why don’t YOU move? Ever considered asking yourself the hard questions? Can you afford to? If not, why not? Why aren’t there opportunities for you to work near where you live? Why must you pay toll when you are paying taxes and road tax? You want to work one place and live another place distant and the people living and working in PJ have to be inconvenienced for you? Why not you move to PJ lah since you want to be so close to your workplace. Or just pitch a tent and live in your office.

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 06, 2024 at 3:39 pm

cancel la projek ni, bodo sial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • mrt my50 on Mar 06, 2024 at 4:40 pm

SPE link the biggest flop, not helping to ease the jam but worsening traffic to pj.

• so nearly 50% complaintss received were from petaling jaya residents. that means the other 50% were from puchong. how they conclude that puchong agrees to it ? its not like sepang/hulu langat would make a fuss about this.

• LeSiMon on Mar 06, 2024 at 5:22 pm

PJD link should be connect right after the Sungai Besi toll plaza, not far from Technology Park Bukit Jalil.

• Please lah.. on Mar 06, 2024 at 6:03 pm

Just rename to LDP2 and advertise on the many billboards along LDP.. Your approvalship will sky rocket to 80%.

A 5 yo can be a gov if the job is to cancel this project and that project.. No development and status quo is the reason Malaysia is lagging behind our neighbours.

• Robert Moses on Mar 06, 2024 at 7:45 pm

The more highways are being built, the more residents will be forced to move to outskirt area. Next, highways will be built to accommodate them for short travel time, resident will be forced to move again and the cycle repeats itself until there are no space left.

• New highway construction should not be allowed to disrupt current traffic flows by closing lanes or diversions.