Tesla Cybertruck seen in Malaysia – launching here?

The Tesla Cybertruck has arrived in Malaysia just a few months after the brand’s first pick-up truck made its global debut last December. This revelation comes after a member of the paultan.org Automotive/Car Discussion Group on Facebook (and possibly an insider) posted this photo of a covered Cybertruck (that distinctive profile is unmistakable) with ‘Tesla Kuala Lumpur’ seen on a wall.

UPDATE: Tesla Malaysia has shared a video on Instagram showing the Cybertruck arriving via a cargo plane and being parked beside the Model 3 and Model Y, recreating the image seen in the Thailand teaser. The video has been added to this post.

If you check the official Tesla Malaysia website right now, you’ll see the Cybertruck listed alongside the Model 3 and Model Y, the latter two already launched here. There’s been no word if the Cybertruck will be sold here, so we can only assume the all-electric pick-up truck is here to be showcased – Thailand will welcome the model this week.

The Cybertruck is the first Tesla to use an 800V architecture for its high-voltage battery system as well as a 48-volt low-voltage electrical system. Other firsts include rear-wheel steering and a steer-by-wire system with a pair of electric motors on the front steering rack and one at the rear.

Deliveries of the Cybertruck have already started in the United States, where it is offered in three variants ranging from USD60,990 to USD99,990 (about RM290k to RM474k). The specifications of each variant are as follows:

Rear-Wheel Drive (single electric motor at the rear)

• 0-96 km/h (0-60 mph) time: 6.5 seconds
  • Top speed: 180 km/h (112 mph)
  • Range: 402 km (250 miles; estimated)
  • Payload capacity: 1,134 kg (2,500 lbs)
  • Towing capacity: 3,402 kg (7,500 lbs)

All-Wheel Drive (two electric motors; one front and one rear)

• Electric motors output: 608 PS (600 hp or 441 kW) and 10,080 Nm (7,435 lb-ft; wheel torque)
  • 0-96 km/h (0-60 mph) time: 4.1 seconds
  • Top speed: 180 km/h (112 mph)
  • Range: 547 km (340 miles; estimated); 756 km (470 miles) with range extender
  • DC charging: 250 kW; 219 km (136 miles) recoverable within 15 minutes
  • Towing capacity: 4,990 kg (11,000 lbs)

Cyberbeast (three electric motors; one front and two rear)

• Electric motors output: 857 PS (845 hp or 630 kW) and 13,959 Nm (10,296 lb-ft; wheel torque)
  • 0-96 km/h (0-60 mph) time: 2.6 seconds
  • Top speed: 209 km/h (130 mph)
  • Range: 515 km (320 miles; estimated); 708 km (440 miles) with range extender
  • DC charging: 250 kW; 206 km (128 miles) recoverable within 15 minutes
  • Towing capacity: 4,990 kg (11,000 lbs)

In terms of design, the Cybertruck is all angular and looks nearly identical to the prototype presented way back in November 2019. The outer panels, or “exoskeleton” according to Tesla, is made up of an ultra-hard stainless-steel that the company says reduces dents, damage, long-term corrosion and is even bulletproof (up to a degree). As for the interior, it’s typical Tesla minimalism with the main highlight being a large 18.5-inch touchscreen to access all vehicle functions and driving information.

Measuring 5,682 mm long, 2,413 mm wide with the side mirrors extended (2,200 mm retracted), 1,790 mm tall and with a wheelbase spanning 3,810 mm, the Cybertruck is a huge vehicle. For context, the Hilux Rogue we have here is 5,325 mm long, 1,900 mm wide, 1,815 mm tall and has a wheelbase of 3,085 mm.

Are you excited that the Cybertruck is in Malaysia? Do you hope that it will be sold here? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Tesla Cybertruck

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• cager on Apr 05, 2024 at 12:22 pm

please ban this killing machine from the road. tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • TQ He Long Must for giving us a rempit exterminator.

• No way to kick or slapped cybertruck side mirror on Apr 05, 2024 at 7:07 pm

Mat rempits’ spine shivering uncontrollable whenever cybetruck approaching within 50 meter radius.

• He Long Must on Apr 05, 2024 at 12:45 pm

Where are you, china fapbois?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Be Your Dad on Apr 06, 2024 at 5:42 pm

Thats ironic considering Elo…He Long’s fapbois are the ones buying Cybertrucks

• Matti on Apr 05, 2024 at 2:35 pm

Does this monstrosity even pass local pedestrian impact regulations, or do we not have those laws here in backwater bolehland?

• seitha on Apr 07, 2024 at 11:54 am

local pedestrian impact regulations?… are you kidding?
      Even those countries that have this regulations have approved SUV.
      All SUVs are deisgned to kill people

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jN7mSXMruEo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4h7-R2o0m-Q

• danny on Apr 05, 2024 at 4:30 pm

i have small pee pee, i need this

• He Long Must on Apr 05, 2024 at 5:52 pm

You need Viagra or you need to send your wife to my house

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Later the truck will rust because this truck is made out of stainless steel

• anonymous on Apr 05, 2024 at 5:25 pm

based on the forums this car has so many issues. one specific example was a YouTuber that literally documented his delivery and it broke almost immediately lol. and the comments were all in defense of apartheid Clyde. not to mention this has absolutely no crumple zones so high speed collisions? you become a smoothie. but tiny shrimp pee pee bros will defend their fhurer with their lives.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 05, 2024 at 6:48 pm

got special commercial vehicle tax or not

• good idea to bring a truck made entirely of stainless steel that accelerates in sub 5 seconds that has zero crumple zone and will eradicate anything it crashes into

• rosdi on Apr 05, 2024 at 7:04 pm

Yes please..

• rosdi on Apr 05, 2024 at 7:05 pm

Best ni masuk kebun, angkat pisang.. etc

• Sohai on Apr 05, 2024 at 8:11 pm

This car should be ban from Malaysia road.
    Just the size alone is pushing Class D license limit and wouldn’t fit into normal parking lots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • now everyone can kill without being labelled as murderer

• Ismail Yusof on Apr 06, 2024 at 5:57 am

I think it’s here to showcase and promote the Tesla brand. Malaysia is probably still too infrastructure deficient to support these large EVs.

• EV Car Mafia on Apr 06, 2024 at 10:58 am

Add a machine gun and mincer bales around the truck.

• penguin on Apr 06, 2024 at 12:27 pm

pls keep it to the US only. i don’t want to be driving or be near this tank. imagine park beside it, that fella swings the door and hit yours, it’s not gonna be a mere ding

• the only time one will need this is when apocalypse is here and you are going to drive all the way to noah’s ark

• ibu hq on Apr 06, 2024 at 3:08 pm

road bullies rejoice – your weapon of mass destruction has arrived

• do they have single cab version for my ladang?

• anywhere else I'd be a ten on Apr 09, 2024 at 1:11 am

Why do I need a gun license when I can have a driving license