Proton X50 R3 Lite Accessories Package – sportier wheels, bodykit, Premium and Flagship only, RM7.5k

Good morning, everyone! We’re at the Malaysia Autoshow 2024, where Proton has released a new R3 Lite Accessories Package for the X50. Consisting of new wheels, exterior graphics and copious amounts of R3 badges, the pack brings much of last year’s R3 20th Anniversary Edition (which was limited to just 200 units) to a wider audience.

Exclusive to the RM101,800 Premium and RM113,300 Flagship variants of the B-segment SUV, the pack costs RM7,500 and is made available in limited quantities, offered on a first come, first served basis. Aside from the deletion of the matte black wrap, it is essentially identical to last year’s special edition.

On the outside, buyers will receive a bodykit consisting of a deeper front splitter, side skirts and rear diffuser extension (here all finished in matte grey instead of yellow), as well as the “S” rear spoiler offered on the Geely Binyue/Coolray. You also get spindly 18-inch black lightweight alloy wheels, an R3 grille badge and an R3 Limited Edition rear badge, while a black and red bonnet stripe completes the look.

Inside, you’ll find an R3 embroidered headrest, along with an R3 Limited Edition dashboard badge and R3 carpets. No changes to the mechanicals, so the 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine (which produces 150 PS/226 Nm in the Premium and 177 PS/255 Nm in direct-injected Flagship TGDi form), seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission and MacPherson strut front and torsion beam rear suspension are unchanged.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tricycle on May 21, 2024 at 9:27 am

Dear Proton, we want better handling package or add ON even after we have bought x50 for more than 1 year.

Power wise, we would think it as sufficient. Just that handling and braking is in need of upgrade for the R3 version.

Be creative a bit Proton R3 department.

• UNker on May 21, 2024 at 9:59 am

Kalau tak grille engineering, sticker engineering…

Proton, the power of tukar grille and tepek sticker…

• ahbeng on May 21, 2024 at 10:41 am

Looking dated already as compare to other newer launched china cars. It will be a tough competition to entice buyers to pick x50 or even x70 unless a new model appears.

• @NotBruceWayne on May 21, 2024 at 11:14 am

Still a good looking but where is the facelift model like the one at the Philippines???????? P1 CEO, you realize this segment is very competitive now right?!

• Old stock cannot sell ke?..need to add on accessories

• Peterson Voon Teck Siong on May 21, 2024 at 6:45 pm

I buying Conti all my life so this sticker promo not efect me so I say penny for penny peanut for kera. I selling tayar since 2002 also Michelin dealer no lowya brand.