GWM Tank 300 open for booking in Malaysia – RM250k est. price, deliveries of off-road SUV set to start in July

Great Wall Motor Malaysia has announced that the order books have opened for the Tank 300, with the off-raod SUV expected to make its way into the local market very soon. Slated to be introduced in Q2, the company says that deliveries are due to begin in July following its official launch, which is now expected to be sometime next month.

As previously indicated during its preview in March and recent test drive in China, the Tank 300 will arrive here as a CBU fully-imported offering, and will be offered in its non-hybrid 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine form. Estimated pricing has also been firmed up, with the SUV anticipated to be priced in the region of RM250,000, slightly lower than the first indication of it offered earlier this month.

To recap, the mill will offer 220 PS (217 hp or 162 kW) and 380 Nm in the way of output, with drive delivered via an eight-speed automatic transmission and a dual-speed, electronically-controlled part-time four-wheel drive system. Technical highlights include an all-terrain control system with nine driving modes, a ramp angle of 23.1° and a maximum gradability of 70%, along with a maximum wading depth of 700 mm.

Inside, you’ll find a well-appointed interior, with novelties including a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and 12.3-inch infotainment touchscreen – with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support – as well as Nappa leather upholstery. Standard fit items include a nine-speaker Infinity sound system, automatic air-conditioning and double-layer acoustic glass (for improved in-cabin NVH levels), among others.

Meanwhile, driver assistance kit on the ANCAP five-star rated SUV will include items such as adaptive cruise control, lane drparture warning and autonomous emergency braking as well as a 360-degree all-around view monitor with a Transparent Chassis Function.

The Tank 300 is of course on display at the ongoing Malaysia Autoshow 2024, shown at the event in its regular forms as well as the unit you see in these images, a specially-kitted version that dresses the SUV up with body-coloured flares and flashy accoutrements such as the OTT bonnet and cool-looking aluminium storage box mounted on the rear access panel of the vehicle.

However, don’t get too excited about all the glitz that’s on show or hoping that it will be offered here, because it won’t be, not through official channels at least. According to GWM Malaysia, the black display unit and its Chinese-market accessories was brought in to show potential customers what can be done in terms of customisation for the vehicle, should they wish to explore that path.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• FudgeMeSideways on May 23, 2024 at 10:36 pm

250k for a china car. Let that sink in.

• Thats tempting

• awg1031 on May 24, 2024 at 8:20 pm

China car is the new jap car quality , or some say German..

• apek pro ccp on May 24, 2024 at 7:52 am

Merepek. Cam kartun kereta2 cine ni..warranty 10 tahun pon tak gune

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Squid on May 24, 2024 at 9:52 am

3 letters… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Firdaus on May 24, 2024 at 10:39 am

Better to get a new or used Fortuner!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Off roader wannabe on May 24, 2024 at 10:41 am

Waiting for BEV option.

• Pro-Palestine on May 24, 2024 at 4:39 pm

Looks amazing. G wagen pun boleh ke tepi. Harga pun munasabah for the specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • Everywhere copycat car on May 24, 2024 at 4:52 pm

Even proton now also china car. Now Malaysia full of low quality tong san car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • merzwan on May 26, 2024 at 11:00 am

Well, our currency also low quality, so what else do you expect? We can only afford low quality China imported cars or even lower quality locally assembled cars.

• Not use your money to buy, why you so butthurt? You can afford then go buy Japanese or European brands, simple case solved.

• Pro-Palestine on May 30, 2024 at 2:01 pm

Dia jeles ma @Lol. Biasa la sesetengah spesis tu suka dengki dan sebar berita palsu seperti ular. Kan ada satu pepatah, bila kamu terperangkat denga seekor ular paling bisa dan seorang I****, kalau nak hidup, bunuh I**** tu dulu.
        Pepatah orang tua tu tepat sekali. Bila saya dah besar baru saya faham maksud beliau.

• Front looks like ssangyong korando

• Jacky on May 24, 2024 at 9:53 pm

Why in China 308 H/P inport Malaysia only 200+hp?

• Pro Ovaltine on May 25, 2024 at 11:48 am

If people ask me what car I drive I say I Pay 250k for GWM got logic or not.

• Pro-Palestine on May 30, 2024 at 2:04 pm

Very logical. People will envy you and praise you for being a smart consumer. Pay 250K but get 700K worth of car.

• Oldman on May 28, 2024 at 10:16 am

First glance, G class of Mercedes’s replica
    That’s it