Chery Malaysia reaches 10,000-unit CKD production – Tiggo 7 Pro, Omoda E5 to be locally assembled soon

Chery Auto Malaysia has assembled its 10,000th vehicle since partnering with Inokom in May 2023. The accomplishment comes within eight months after local assembly (CKD) operations started at Inokom’s 200-acre facility in Kulim, Kedah.

At present, the plant assembles the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro on a single line, with a second line set to be introduced to increase capacity. New models that will be assembled at the Inokom facility include the Tiggo 7 Pro as well as the all-electric Omoda E5.

“Our focus has always been on delivering safe, reliable products to our customers,” said Leo Chen, president of Chery Auto Malaysia. “We are committed to maintaining strict quality assurance processes as we expand our operations here in Malaysia. We want to continue offering the best driving and ownership experience to our customers,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Chery Opatah 5 on May 31, 2024 at 4:25 pm

10k units in 8 months fast? Wanna know how we did it? Don’t weld your rear axles properly and have mala hotpot stations instead of QC stations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
  • So these are the people that failed to detect the faulty axle. What an incompetent bunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Chery Opatah 5 on Jun 01, 2024 at 1:54 pm

That’s a group mugshot so you owners of the Opatah 5 can go after them if anything happened to you or your car

• Satisfied Customer on May 31, 2024 at 4:58 pm

Congrats Chery. Keep up the good work. Honest product with honest price is the recipe for success. Really happy with the after sales service. Really unbelievable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Chery salesman detected on Jun 01, 2024 at 1:56 pm

Nobody go into your showroom to view cars & test drive? Hanging around PT to kill time & defend your brand?

• Clean King on Jun 05, 2024 at 3:20 pm

Just visited the showroom. Car long waiting list. Too many customers. Salesman all sibuk

• Chery Opatah 5 on Jun 05, 2024 at 8:52 pm

I think you mistaken that long line for car recalls and furious owners making formal complaints. My towtruck driver sent me a pic of the 3s centre after dropping off my immobile Opatah 5 due to obvious reasons

• Cherry on Jun 01, 2024 at 11:13 pm

Sue you if u make a complaint!!!

• aiyaa on Jun 03, 2024 at 12:40 pm

Put your real name, I’d like to know more

• stranger on Jun 04, 2024 at 11:08 am

misread that as “Really unreliable”

• Cina ni motorsikal pon belum pandai buat, nak buat kereta plak. Kang pekerja tempatan yg kena tanggung nama buruk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
    • Hang baru keluar gua ke? China dah pandai buat roket ke bulan lah, tapi puak2 tertentu mcm hang masih kekal di takuk lama je

• Pro-Palestine on Jun 02, 2024 at 8:56 am

Mereka dah buat kapal angkasa sampai Mars dan dah buat stesen angkasa sendiri tanpa bantuan. Dah la tambi, ko punya cerita kling dah tak ada orang percaya

• ron 95 unsub on May 31, 2024 at 5:23 pm

Makesure ada hire pakar welding ya. Lagi ada kes terus bankrupt nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Well, unfortunately, they are assembly plant, not manufacturing. So axle comes in complete set when entering into Malaysia CKD plant.

• ROTI CANAI on May 31, 2024 at 9:52 pm

the wheels on my omoda go round and off round and off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Peppa on May 31, 2024 at 9:53 pm

I wish for your downfall, chery Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
    • Mudahlupa Wuhan on Jun 01, 2024 at 9:49 am

Amen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • lithium on Jun 01, 2024 at 10:57 am

Chery is investing heavily into Malaysia and employing Malaysians yet you wish for its downfall. If you are Malaysian, then its weird logic. On the never ending axle and brake fiasco, Chery have made recall and investigation into the matter and so far they have demonstrated their commitment to make good of the issues faced by buyers.

I hope Chery will continue to improve its QC and also invest in Malaysia creating new job opportunities and also make Malaysia its SEA hub.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • M mudah lupa on Jun 02, 2024 at 8:33 am

There are many people thumping their chests and shout they love the country yet they only care about themselves. These people will use any matter to propagate their myopic views about other races and religions. How to identify such people? You can start with those that shout ‘Balik tongsan’ and call other races as pendatang.

• Potong is no better,even worse on Jun 03, 2024 at 1:11 pm

At least they dare to recall the problematic cars fast and fix the issue.
        If Potong….oh my…they say”sabarlah…tunggu spare parts from China.”P1 will let u wait for weeks for warranty parts.If u cant wait…the same parts,is yours within minutes,if u r willing to pay n get it from external spare parts dealers.
        The Potong, grumpy VVIP founded 40 years ago is the same…as unreliable as b4.

• Exactly. Finally a sensible comment

• Pro-Palestine on Jun 02, 2024 at 8:57 am

Your wish only appears to have the oppoisite effect with a boomerang curse on your motherland. Lol

• Sohai on Jun 01, 2024 at 12:01 pm

Continue and improve, thats the only way to win over the sceptics.
    And is ok to make mistake, just dont make the same mistake twice. Work on reliabilty and after sales. Your customers will help you to sell.

Dont be a Peugeot or Alfa, make exciting cars that no one wants to touch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Mehalpening on Jun 01, 2024 at 6:44 pm

Chery Omoda 5: 109k RMB – 115k RMB, here RM 109k – RM119k
    Chery Tiggo 7 1.5T CVT: 89KRMB to 109k RMB,
    does it sell here below the Chery Omoda 5?

Philipine sell @ 1,250k Peso/ RM100k.

• Byk temolok nak kena penuhkan. Mcm biasa rakyat jd mangsa (taxpayer).

Katanya utk pembangunan Malaysia. But for me, more to pembangangan Malaysia.

2024 masih mundur. Corruption everywhere. Nice.

• merzwan on Jun 02, 2024 at 1:13 pm

10k unists is nothing compared to the 10 million socmed wumaos trying to cover up any complaints about this company.

• it’s clear they’re not just stopping at 10,000 vehicles. Can’t wait to see what the future holds for Chery’s expansion in Malaysia.

• fareed on Jun 12, 2024 at 3:46 pm

Kudos to Chery Auto Malaysia for achieving the remarkable milestone of assembling their 10,000th vehicle. great to see their dedication to upholding quality standards while increasing production

• wei lim on Jun 12, 2024 at 5:24 pm

Within just eight months of starting local assembly operations, reaching 10,000 vehicles is no small feat. It’s exciting to see their commitment to quality and expansion.