Malaysia can move away car-centric infrastructure, focus on transit oriented developments – Nik Nazmi

Malaysians love cars. Our car penetration rate is among the highest in Asia, and that’s despite having a decent public transport network. Can we ever move away from cars, or do we even want to?

Minister of natural resources and environmental sustainability Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad believes that Malaysia can have cities that are not car-oriented, focusing instead on the concept of transit-oriented developments (TOD). He says that public transport in the Klang Valley is very good and it’s possible for Malaysia to move away from car-centric infrastructure in cities.

The Setiawangsa MP said that among the measures taken to realise this is the government’s effort in providing easier access to public transport. He explained that the effort is being taken up by local councils to provide better connectivity from the start point to the destination.

“For example, if we look at London, mayor Sadiq Khan focuses on Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) and the pattern of development in the city changes. In Seoul, many roads have been transformed into parks for city folks. So, Malaysia can also change, but it needs a big push and policy change from the authorities,” he told Astro Awani.

“If awareness can be raised in the community, we can achieve a change in how we develop areas for green sustainability,” he said, adding that such areas will minimise the urban heat island effect, and that will filter pollution and preserve water sources.

Nik Nazmi was previously quoted as saying that the government is committed to achieve nett zero carbon emissions by 2050 and increase renewable energy capacity in power generation from 25% to 70%. All these are in Malaysia’s National Energy Transition Roadmap (NETR), which also contains plans for EVs to form 80% of TIV by 2050.

“To achieve this goal, Malaysia needs to carefully balance the energy trilemma to ensure energy that’s sustainable, safe and affordable for the future,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bob Mal on Jun 25, 2024 at 3:54 pm

LOL 0.1% Chance with our mindset and ability to own a car and continually forcing roads like PJD link to let some feeling special like that.

Also bad example comparing with London & Korea both have congestion charges so bila nak pakai?

• Menteri sembang tin kosong on Jun 25, 2024 at 4:08 pm

As above

• Ghani on Jun 26, 2024 at 2:26 pm

Meanwhile PH mentris rides in police escort convoys forcing other road users aside when traffic jams. Dulu kritik orang lain buat sekarang jadik mentri jugak sama.

• newme on Jun 25, 2024 at 4:09 pm

Why don’t YOU START FIRST? Why don’t you TAKE PUBLIC TRANSPORT TO WORK FIRST?

Since you are environmental minister, why don’t you CHANGE MALAYSIA’S TEMPERATURE TO LIKE LONDON AND SEOUL FIRST?

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 25, 2024 at 4:32 pm

PJ TO KEPONG

20 minutes by car; 40 minutes in a congested traffic; 1 hour 10 minutes by public transport

• Who wrote this article? got typo la…

The Setiawangsa MP said that among the measures taken to realise this is the government’s effort in providing easier ACCESS to public transport.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 26, 2024 at 2:02 pm

Lol! Edited. Thanks for the spot!

• Lets See on Jun 26, 2024 at 8:16 pm

He is MP of Setiawangsa. Did anyone ask if he ever tries to go Parliament by public transport from his constituency? Lets see what he still can say.

• Peppa on Jun 25, 2024 at 5:56 pm

Why talk now? If that is really your concern, your madani government should have execute ap holders bs long time ago

• It will cost more to the gomen to build public transport infrastructure. Currently it is heavily subsidised. If real cost of KL public transport is charged it will be easy higher than current RM50/ month season ticket. . Maybe ten times more.
    Widen the NS highway first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Challenge on Jun 25, 2024 at 6:57 pm

Can all the ministers and YB take the public transportation to their workplace/home and vice versa on a daily basis. Walk the Talk!

• Western Attitude Problem on Jun 25, 2024 at 7:30 pm

It’s trendy to move your capital nowadays. Move the capital to Seremban. ;D

• Lets See on Jun 26, 2024 at 8:12 pm

Lets move our capital to London, then we can do what he says. Stupid minister.

• Lao Fu Zi on Jun 25, 2024 at 7:37 pm

The better public transportation infrastructure we have, the less fresh graduate will buy car.

Progressively after 5 years, the impact will progressively be more visible, and more demand for the Transit Oriented Property, taking grab, ride sharing, public ride, etc.

• Shen Li on Jun 25, 2024 at 10:09 pm

“For example, if we look at London, mayor Sadiq Khan focuses on Ultra Low Emission Zone”

Are the Brits still the masters of Malaysia? ;)

• Penguin on Jun 25, 2024 at 10:43 pm

KL perhaps, but not malaysia. too late with the urban crawl implementation. sooo much thing to fix

• paanjang16 on Jun 26, 2024 at 7:26 am

Boss, what about MRT3? when you want to start on MRT3?

• LRT User on Jun 26, 2024 at 8:07 am

Yeah right, after you jokers delayed KVDT2, downsized LRT3 & MRT2, and nearly cancelled MRT3, and DID CANCEL HSR ?!

You idiots are the last peeps to be talking about transit oriented developments! So STFU!

• @NotBruceWayne on Jun 26, 2024 at 8:22 am

& all this plans are focused for KL area only ka?

• MassivelyAnnoyed on Jun 26, 2024 at 8:44 am

Put toll at every entrance to KL city. Per entry during peak hour charge RM100. Off peak hour only lorry can come in. Only electric bus and van allowed to move around the city freely. Now DBKL please get to work. Make KL city pedestrian and cyclist friendly.

• alphasigmaphi on Jun 26, 2024 at 9:16 am

public transport is very good??????

• PDW7257 on Jun 26, 2024 at 9:20 am

Easy lah mister minister.

Force the idea down in the rakyat throat!
    That is, make gas/diesel no subsidy hence people have no choice but to take up public to save!

• Carfree on Jun 26, 2024 at 11:41 am

definitely we wish that KL can be more like Spore or London. There, u don’t need cars and can easily travel without the need to own a car & to bear the cost of owning a car.

• Robinhood on Jun 26, 2024 at 12:03 pm

Fuel problem also can not settle. Now talking TOD. Get your priorities right! Tell your boss to fulfill his promise first ok!!! Hari ni saya menang, esok minyak turun!!!

• u are right. should have reduce petrol subsidy surely can reduce jam. less jam less angry drivers on the road.

• Laugh on Jun 26, 2024 at 4:10 pm

I stay in Loke Yew Area and works somewhere in between KLCC and Pavillion.

To take public transport I need to wake up 2 hours earlier and spend 1hr 30mins travelling including walking, taking LRT transit to Monorail then walk to office.

To drive myself, I wake up 45mins earlier.
    Travel 25 minutes including take the lift, drive my car, go parking and walk to office.

You be the judge… drive or take public transport.

Our public transport is good?
    What a joke.

• Lancermania on Jun 26, 2024 at 6:05 pm

he mean KL city area right?
    he got go other state see how under develop the public transport at that area?

• meanwhile your friendly next door neighbour has just opened Thomson-East Coast Line, stage 4 on 23rd June, another 7 MRT stations added. Welcome all to visit.

• The federal government should work with state governments and local councils to make city walkable, improve pedestrian infrastructures such as pavement, crosswalk, shade etc. Although I see a lot has changed in the past couple of years especially in KL downtown, but it’s still pretty car-centric with wide streets and vehicles illegal parked on pavements everynow and then. There are a few times I almost got hit by vehicles this includes motorcycles, cars, vans etc.