Gov’t to replicate its ‘no advance notice’ strategy for RON95 petrol targeted subsidy – Rafizi Ramli

While the government has not indicated anything about the removal of blanket subsidies for RON 95 petrol beyond stating that it is presently studying the matter, there could be very little indication of the time frame for its introduction before it is implemented.

That’s what economy minister Rafizi Ramli implied when he said that the government will be replicating the same strategy for RON 95 petrol as it did for diesel, when there was no public advance notice on any decision to remove blanket subsidies, Malaysiakini reports.

Asked if the move will be implemented this year with a pre-announced timetable, Rafizi said that the government is keeping its cards close to its chest in the same way it did with diesel. “We did surprise everyone with diesel, and I think everyone is up for another surprise,” he told Bloomberg on the sidelines of the World Economic Forum’s summer gathering in Dalian, China.

He reiterated that the government remains committed to its diesel subsidy rationalisation programme for now. “For the time being, we are focusing on diesel, because the big leakages actually happen with diesel. I think we do need to make sure and learn from the process to improve the overall system,” he said, while downplaying concerns that the plan to abolish fuel subsidies would affect inflation in the wake of price hikes.

Meanwhile, in response to questions about Rafizi’s statement, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that the government has yet to make any decision on the need to rationalise the RON 95 petrol subsidy, the Malay Mail reports.

The PM said that Rafizi’s statement primarily focused on targeted diesel subsidies, which the government is studying for implementation effectiveness. “I read Rafizi’s text; he mentioned that we are focusing on diesel, which needs careful consideration for its implementation,” he said

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jerry on Jul 01, 2024 at 10:45 am

He seem so happy with such brilliant strategy

• DonkeyKong on Jul 01, 2024 at 3:22 pm

Wow, how fancy it is to surprise the rakyat! So amusing! A big round of applause for Pakatan Harapan!!

I’m sure the rakyat also has a big surprise in store for these clowns in GE16

• Ben Yap on Jul 01, 2024 at 10:59 am

The rakyat also keep close to our chest our cards on who we gonna vote.

• Zaman Jahiliah Maresya 2022 - Kini on Jul 01, 2024 at 11:30 am

Look at that clown face. He’ll be up for a surprise too after the vote count is completed in the next GE

• newme on Jul 01, 2024 at 11:40 am

This nincompoop thinks messing with the people livelihood is funny as like the badly executed diesel subsidy pullback was overwhelming successful.

• TinKosong on Jul 01, 2024 at 11:53 am

dah mula nak scam dgn furmula baru dia…

• i think the suitable word is dismayed, distraught, taken aback rather than surprised.

• MiguelH on Jul 01, 2024 at 12:25 pm

wow they are actually lifting the subsidies while these monkeys get monthly allowance for petrol/transport. So much for saving the nation debt. while their monthly allowance are insane on top of earning 50k a month for goyang kaki

• Daripada pakar “formula” kepada pakar “surprise”. I taught the Madani government is transparent? Ke ini semua pakar “wayang”?

• Next is ‘the rakyat to replicate their ‘no advance notice’ strategy for not voting for Harapan, especially Rafizi Ramli in next election’

• Sohai on Jul 01, 2024 at 3:45 pm

This fellow is one of those that said fuel price should be RM1.50.
    and he wasted resource to do his useless PADU that ultimately proof worthless.
    Now come and make this useless annoucement.
    Certainly one of the under performing minister.

• Karma on Jul 02, 2024 at 6:54 am

Yes, Rakyat like these surprises very much. They will repay the government’s “good deed” in due time.

• You surprise the rakyat, the rakyat will surprise you too. Think cafefully, PH Govt.