JPJ gets new Toyota Fortuner fleet to replace 10-12-year old vehicles – cost is RM10.4 mil for 58 SUVs

The road transport department (JPJ) has received a new fleet of Toyota Fortuners. The assets were handed over to the state HQs in a recent ceremony by JPJ director-general Datuk Rospiagos bin Taha.

According to JPJ, the new vehicles are an urgent need (keperluan yang mendesak) and will replace vehicles that are 10 to 12 years old. The new vehicle assets can spur productivity and empower the preparedness for enforcement among officers nationwide, the department said.

JPJ revealed that the this fleet vehicle purchase is an initiative under the Program Cakna Madani Agensi Penguatkuasa that was announced by prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in 2023. The programme allocated RM100 million to enforcement agencies, and part of JPJ’s portion was approved for the vehicle purchase, which amounted to RM10.4 million for 58 vehicles.

Assuming that the RM10.4 million is for the Fortuners alone, that amounts to RM179,310 per unit. In May 2023, the Fortuner’s price was increased by RM5,000 to RM189,880 for the 2.4 AT 4×4 and RM230,880 for the 2.8 VRZ AT 4×4. The petrol-powered 2.7 SRZ AT 4×4’s price was unchanged at RM191,880.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hmm why didn’t they go LOCAL and use X70 or X90? RM179,310 per unit and replacing vehicles every 10 years when lots of rakyat are driving shitboxes that are >10 years old! What a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • karpal sinking on Jul 23, 2024 at 12:19 pm

this is the way gomen thanks the JPJ for all that revenue from selling all those plate numbers

• JasonX on Jul 25, 2024 at 4:42 pm

I don’t think we are putting geely and reliability in the same sentence yet. And the spare parts issue… Oh.. how long they took just for that…

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 22, 2024 at 12:52 pm

Bestnye

• *sighs* scrolls to comments,
    Ooh there is non yet

• t333son on Jul 22, 2024 at 1:53 pm

imho when civil servants drive around in vehicles that majority of the population can never afford in a lifetime, something is not right.

• Ali-X on Jul 22, 2024 at 2:00 pm

funny why the JPJ didnt buy proton x70 or even x90.

• Dah Menang Semua on Jul 22, 2024 at 2:36 pm

10.4mil for 58 units
    Average 179K /unit
    Not free duty ke?

• Peppa on Jul 22, 2024 at 2:39 pm

Why do we need JPJ anyway? They are all useless af

• munkay on Jul 22, 2024 at 4:22 pm

government agencies rolling in 200k vehicles, the people riding in 50k trash

• Org gomen on Jul 22, 2024 at 8:15 pm

Kira yang betulnya rakyat semua pakai Fortuner gomen kena pakai axia ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Masakroti on Jul 23, 2024 at 1:02 am

Yes why not? Because Rakyat is paying their salary. Did your boss ride motor while you drive civic or BMW?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 24, 2024 at 9:26 pm

Memang kena sultan, CEO, polis, bapak kau, semua pakai Axia baru kau puas hati kan? Yes why not?

• Celicazz on Jul 23, 2024 at 8:15 am

You know, these are not your everyday vehicle and need to keep at least 7 years?

• Bieight8 on Jul 22, 2024 at 4:54 pm

They should get land cruiser…

• stasta on Jul 22, 2024 at 8:06 pm

civil servants (mostly landprinces) happily enjoying 13% pay rise and on top of that driving t20 car fully paid for by the taxpayer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Do they pump expensive diesel?

• David on Jul 22, 2024 at 9:36 pm

Gomen sendiri avoid ploton. Hahaha

• Patut subsidize rakyat tu 10mil. Cut half to get car like proton x90 pun cukup. Y need fortuner

• chan hong kiang on Jul 23, 2024 at 12:03 am

unlimited towing

• Masakroti on Jul 23, 2024 at 1:01 am

I want to know why JPJ cannot use saga, bezza or persona. They need to go off-roading? Why rakyat can drive 20 year old cars while they cannot? Useless parasites

• Susukotak on Jul 23, 2024 at 1:21 pm

Murah la dari harga biasa.

• ativa cukup dah for JPJ fleet

• Brain dead government. You want to cancel ron 95 subsidies because the country is in deep debt and broke, and yet you spent 10m on luxury cars for your own government’s benefits? You shouldn’t even get an X70 when the country is this broke.

• Japanese car parts like toyota more reliable and availability. If go for x70 then suddenly your break down, kereta kena sidai, fortuner more lasak, you know how toyota reliability is. And when government purchase they are tax exempt