Ahead of the official arrival of the Proton eMas 7 (stylised e.MAS 7) as the national carmaker’s first production fully electric vehicle, the brand has revealed on its Instagram account a little more information on the upcoming model, this time offering a glimpse into the vehicle’s cabin.
The latest information officially released reveals that the electric SUV will feature a 15.4-inch central display of 2.5K resolution, which is identical in size to the screen found in the Geely Galaxy E5. This is accompanied by a 10.2-inch instrumentation display ahead of the driver, also as found in the Geely equivalent.
A separate post Instagram story posted to the same account also revealed that the audio system in the eMas 7 will be a 16-speaker Wanos system from Flyme Sound, and the premium audio system is claimed to offer ‘crystal clear sound’. In the China-market Galaxy E5, the top 16-speaker set includes headrest speakers.
The use of Flyme-branded equipment lines up with the Flyme Auto infotainment system that is used in the China-market Galaxy E5, and this has been supplied by Geely group smartphone maker Meizu, which has been designed to be as intuitive to use as a smartphone, Geely said of the interface.
Here, the supplied images of the eMas 7 also reveal that the Proton-branded EV will come with a black interior, in contrast to the light cream interior colour scheme that featured in the Geely Galaxy E5 that was on a nationwide tour.
For technical specifications, the eMas 7 has been confirmed to share the powertrain from the Galaxy E5, which means the use of a single, front-mounted motor producing 218 PS and 320 Nm which will propel the eMas 7 from 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds. For reference, the Galaxy E5 gets two battery options – 49.52 kWh with a CLTC range of 440 km and 60.22 kWh with up to 530 km.
Improvements for the eMas 7 – upon the Galaxy E5 it is based on – include a 400 mm water wading depth rating that is greater than that of the Galaxy E5, aimed at providing added protection against floods.
The Proton eMas 7 will also get a revised suspension setup compared to that of the Galaxy E5, which has been confirmed by a Proton spokesperson. Upon sampling on local roads were found to be very soft, and so a stiffer setup can be expected for the Proton EV.
GALLERY: Geely Galaxy E5 in Malaysia
GALLERY: Proton eMas 7 pre-production prototype
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Wanos? What junk is that?
Stay in your cave, man
Premium for beggars doesn’t mean it’s actually Premium. More CCP junk, churning out like instant noodles, with no whatsoever historical performance record.
By CCP junks, you should add the ‘premium’ DVD‐AVX by UMW into the list. Funny, so Toyota owners been praising CCP junks all this time then.
Ok. Can take 9 years loan. Go buy and eat nasi putih every day
Nasi putih is still better than maggi, dont you think so.
I can see pre-geely cybertrooper still working in the same position. After so many years, still doing the same thing? No promotion? What a loser.
Thats ironic coming from you, newme. Havent you been trolling around here for more than 10 years?
Wanos….did vw group develop bmw vanos?
BYD M6 adi launch still mau tease sana sini, snooze u lose
Marketing strategy.. At least by keep on giving teasers will build the people’s anticipation and ppl keep looking forward..
But if you look at BYD M6 launching, I bet not many ppl knew about it.. At least my wife heard about e.MAS7 and don’t even know what is M6.. that shows Proton has done well with their publicity..
Better BYD brand rather than Proron/Geli…proven world wide and beat TESLA already…not need teasing2 liao lorr…!!!
Take their own sweet time just to rebadge. In between, a few more models has launched and sucked up some EV SUV market share…
It better be well below 100k to stand a chance
Converting from LHD to RHD and extensive testing in local climates isnt just a simple rebadge. I guess your username suits you after all
So Proton contribution is changing a suspension only. Well done. Good job. LHD to RHD still a big woohah? Come on lah, so simple these day. Dont mislead.
Well, if you have seen the work needed to get a proper suspension calibration you wouldnt just brush it off as something easy to pull off.
Let’s put it this way, if it is not because they want to put a Proton badge there, the car will be here sooner rather than later.
And the RHD was developed in conjunction with LHD because this is meant to be an international model. Proton as usual just slowed the process with their bumper tech.
This is 2024. That convertion from lhd to rhd is nothing. Stop bluffing yourself
Really? Tell this to RHD conversion companies in Australia and see how they laugh in your face
Telefon tak boleh pakai
iPad boleh
Proton is still thinking like how they used to control the market share in the 90s… they “tease” features and “spy shots”, thinking people are eagerly anticipating their new car… meanwhile the Chinese brands are churning out new models with better features every week.. no fuss, no delay. It’s even funnier when this car is a rebadge (oh… sorry, JV with Geely).
You know what, at least it manage to catch your attention and you even took the effort to write an essay here regardless for the good or bad.. At the end of the day Proton manage to get a few minutes of your attention here and that shows they did well with their marketing strategy.. cheers
Meh…range at least 700km then probably can consider. Price also another issue. Good luck to those early adopters.
Proton is doing striptease with this EV.Like kura kura.
Sime Darby is making tons of sales with BYD EVs,even overtaking Tesla.
just wait for a bit longer okay. We know you cant wait to place order. Just a little bit more time for Proton to preps for their first EV.
Should be lass gadget thing to keep price low. Small size screen will do. No fancy voice control. No glass atap. People only need practical & reasonable price car.
The screen and voice control is sunk cost for Geely because they have so many brands under them in their parts bin. Since we have a RM100k minimum price, we don’t get parts from the sub-RM50k Geely cars in China. Just my conjecture.
The glass roof is used because batteries make the floor higher so it’s necessary to gain back some head space. They wouldn’t do it otherwise as glass is expensive like you said.
I dont agree. sorry, we are in a time where manufacturers strive to compete with each other by providing best value, best features to customers. If Proton didnt do the same, how are they going to compete. Come on, be realistic. If you want something basic, just wait for an EV from perodua. they might have one without even a radio for you.
Later there will be people complaining why techs so basic. Can’t please everyone so better to use the best parts available.
RM100K or D.O.A. Proton as national brand i believe you can give Malaysian the best option. Better than other RM100K EV like Neta or BYD.
Got android auto and google map isn’t it? or later got plan said Emas owner will gradually get ota update starting from 18-OCT-2026.
Pls give option of black or light cream interior. Light colored interior will keep interior cooler.
No please not black interior again
Gut feel…price more like 120k range. Good luck!
Does it come with the decorative ‘grille’ lights that fans out at the front ? Otherwise, the front looks quite ‘kosong’ as though something is missing there..