Proton X70 gets MYTV Mana-Mana digital TV app

Proton X70 owners can now access MYTV Mana-Mana’s extensive content library directly through their IHU-enabled vehicles using Proton’s pre-installed internet connectivity, thanks to a collaboration between MYTV, Aco Tech and Proton.

MYTV Mana-Mana offers 23 local and international TV channels, 22 live radio stations, and over 1,800 video-on-demand titles. Users can begin watching in the car and continue later on smartphones or other devices. Also, internet-based radio streaming negates the need to change FM frequencies as you travel interstate.

MYTV digital terrestrial television last year achieved 7.5 million viewers (+19.4% year-on-year), and the Mana-Mana app, launched in July 2023, has surpassed half a million downloads, nine million cumulative views and is maintaining over 180,000 active users monthly.

“In line with the latest technology, MYTV is committed to providing access to all Proton car owners with high-quality entertainment and information via MYTV Mana-Mana app starting with the X70 model,” said Altel Holdings (holding company of MYTV) acting group CEO Helmi Mohamed Harith.

“I’ve been informed that MYTV and the Commercial Radio Malaysia (CRM) association plan to engage with the investment, trade and industry ministry (MITI) to explore the feasibility of integrating this application into the infotainment head units of vehicles, including EVs,” communications minister Fahmi Fadzil said at the launch, according to Bernama.

He added that MYTV has made efforts to introduce the digital TV service on Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad‘s (KTMB) business-class carriages, and that it could make its way to in-flight entertainment in the future as well.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• distracted driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Did the minister consult JPJ/police about movie playback on dashboard head unit? Not controlling android head unit with illegal streaming sales in M’sia is already bad enough, now with OEM some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Peppa on Nov 27, 2024 at 12:52 pm

I thought using phone while driving is illegal. If 2+2 4 and 5+5 is 10, wtf is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • alibaba on Nov 27, 2024 at 1:24 pm

very clever, giving only dangerous to consumers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • PaulTesla on Dec 02, 2024 at 9:53 am

Hahahahha funny people nowadays. U dont ever bother this function exist in tesla merc bmw but making lots of noise when it comes to proton. U b40 please think before commenting please

• PH Please Step Down Now! on Nov 27, 2024 at 1:56 pm

PH propaganda right in your car, what else do you want you sheeps?

Now with AA/CP available why would you even want this near you? Oh wait, sheeps…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • Massage Chair Podcast Warriors on Nov 27, 2024 at 2:44 pm

A very good edutainment to kill time.
    Could only watch tv programme on IHU while car in stationary mode good for those waiting for picking up children at school waiting gf bf finishing dressing up makeup coming out to board your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Arnav Nishanth on Nov 27, 2024 at 3:03 pm

Are these people idiots? They do understand that you can only watch this during park right? I CAN confirm this, bcuz I own a 2024/2025 X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Peppa on Nov 27, 2024 at 4:05 pm

No we don’t because we don’t own cars with questionnable infotainment security

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • ironic on Nov 29, 2024 at 7:49 am

ironic because peppa owns a cx30 with ancient tech which doesn’t even allow to play videos on the head unit

• Stefan Pertz on Nov 27, 2024 at 8:23 pm

And how long you think it will take for people to find a workshop of sorts that will disable this, allowing for video to be played at any time?

• in my opinion, from a technology perspective, this is not impressive since many local TV channels already have live broadcasts via the internet which you can watch through a browser.

• Tehro on Nov 27, 2024 at 7:18 pm

Why don’t have 8TV ? Who wanna watch RTM stuff