2025 Toyota Camry XV80 launched in Malaysia – 2.5 hybrid, 230 PS, 1,250 km range, TSS 3.0, RM248,800

UMW Toyota Motor has launched the 2025 Toyota Camry at the ongoing Kuala Lumpur International Mobility Show (KLIMS) 2024. The ninth-gen TNGA-based XV80 D-segment sedan comes in a sole 2.5 HEV hybrid variant priced from RM248,800 (OTR before insurance), fully imported (CBU) from Thailand.

Launched in Thailand last month following the model’s ASEAN debut in Singapore in August, the new Camry carries a 186 PS/221 Nm 2.5 litre Dynamic Force A25A-FXS four-cylinder engine, a 136 PS/208 Nm permanent magnet synchronous motor, a lithium-ion battery and an eCVT for a combined 230 PS and 1,250 km of range.

That bold front is what Toyota calls ‘Hammerhead’ styling, and we can see why. A slim upper grille and a wide lower grille creates a sophisticated and aggressive stance, while aerodynamic air curtains enhance handling stability and reduce turbulence. Rolling stock are 18-inch alloys wrapped in 235/45 Bridgestone Turanzas, and there’s a space-saver spare tyre.

Inside, you’ll find a two-section panoramic sunroof, ventilated front seats, a 12.3-inch touchscreen with wireless Android Auto/Apple CarPlay, a 12.3-inch 1,920 x 720 full-colour instrument panel and a head-up display. The steering wheel is power-adjustable for rake and reach, while the driver seat is eight-way power-adjustable and two-way lumbar, and has two memory settings.

You’ll also find nine JBL speakers (including subwoofer) and an amplifier, and there’s voice command as well, which Toyota calls Voice Agent (say Hey Toyota! or OK Toyota!). Also on are tri-zone auto air-con, 15W wireless charging, three USB-C ports, power-reclining rear seats (up to eight degrees), rear and side power sunshades, and of course, a ‘boss switch’ on the side of the front passenger seat.

2025 Toyota Camry spec sheet; click to enlarge

In terms of safety, there’s seven airbags, panoramic view monitor and Toyota Safety Sense 3.0, which uses both a camera and millimetre-wave radar sensor. Included is AEB, ACC, lane departure alert, lane tracing assist, road sign assist, auto high beam, safe exit assist, blind spot monitor. You’ll also get a vehicle telematics system, front and rear dashcams and premium solar and security tint.

Available colours are Cement Grey, Platinum White Pearl, Attitude Black, Dark Blue Mica (+RM800), Precious Metal (+RM800), Emotional Red (+RM800). The 2025 Toyota Camry comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty and an eight-year unlimited mileage hybrid electric warranty covering the hybrid battery, inverter and power management control unit. Customers can extend the hybrid warranty to 10 years for an extra RM3,500.

GALLERY: 2025 Toyota Camry brochure

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the 2025 Toyota Camry XV80 highlight a mix of appreciation and criticism, focusing on its interior, pricing, and value. Many find the interior design outdated and materials cheaply finished compared to rivals like Mazda CX-60. The RM248,800 price is deemed high, especially given concerns about hybrid resale value, performance, and safety. Several commenters compare it unfavorably to cheaper models from Germany, Korea, and China, arguing that the Camry's features and specs don’t justify its cost. Some suggest alternative options like pre-owned luxury or continental cars or even EV brands like BYD and Tesla, questioning whether Toyota's pricing aligns with Malaysian market expectations. Overall, sentiments reflect disappointment over pricing and perceived lack of value, with some calling for better specifications or lower prices.

• Raymond on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:14 pm

BYD/Tesla better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 24
    • Amadeus on Dec 05, 2024 at 10:25 pm

After 5 years, it’s kaput. Too bad, you need to buy a new model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Mr osaka guy on Dec 06, 2024 at 2:34 pm

Not for BYD/Tesla, only for toyota where toyota can’t even last longer than BYD/Tesla, especially toyota also caught by cheating scandals due to poor safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • RV auditor club on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:20 pm

Gonna be low rv car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Kelab Bumikuli Pineng on Dec 07, 2024 at 3:40 pm

Pocket too deep don’t care RV. Will buy 2024 camry hybrid then send to workshop modd to halfcut Mirai front end and swap ice-hybrid engine out to FCEV hydrogen explosive powerful engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Dugung X on Dec 13, 2024 at 7:03 pm

Pocket too deep you buy Rolls Royce or Aston Martin. Not cheapo Camry

• Expensive….performance also can’t beat rivals too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Proton oh Proton on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:23 pm

Gov should consider PHEV incentive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Harga BMW 3 Series gile ke gapo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • eCVT 2017tech for 250k car on Dec 04, 2024 at 6:13 pm

Year End 320 promo new car price cheaper then this 248k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Veneno on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:40 pm

Ain’t going nowhere with that price. It tops out at RM228,651 in Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Sohai on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:44 pm

What is UMW thinking pricing it at RM250k? And still have the cheek to ask RM800 for certain colours. Better get a recon Lexus or pre-owned Continental car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • EV Car Mafia on Dec 04, 2024 at 5:03 pm

Chinese cars are now in the 100 -200 mark. Koreans are trying to push further. Japs and conties dont want to be in the same league. This trend is troubling..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Suren on Dec 05, 2024 at 1:13 pm

CCP cars are in the 100 – 200K mark? Don’t be delusional. The price is cheap due to EV tax rebate in Malaysia and CCP gov subsidy for manufacturer. All these incentives are not going to last forever. Let’s see how CCP cars are going to compete in the future with a level playing field. Furthermore, this is a Camry with more than 30 yrs of reliability record. Get a smartphone if you want lots of gadgets, you don’t need them in a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • Whatever it is, still the same. Btw, did you think camry will last longer than before where you will see that toyota owners have more problems when driving new toyota? And also did you think still relevant to buy outdated vehicles like toyota when many people are moving forward to buy other brands like tesla, byd, korean cars, kia, xpeng, honda and so on. Times have change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Mr osaka guy on Dec 06, 2024 at 2:35 pm

Sooo….but many people won’t buy boring but poor safety car like toyota

• Sohai

• Suren small penis on Dec 18, 2024 at 8:36 pm

EV are made in china hence it’s called china made or chinese car. CCP is a political party. U fcking pcs of racist shit. Did chinese rape and kill your ancestors?

• Still not enough power. Anyways, bye bye toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Dec 04, 2024 at 1:54 pm

Fuh! almost price the same as a BMW 320i…. about the same status already…

• bersyukur? on Dec 04, 2024 at 2:05 pm

where da comment for those asking for nice pricing in the last camry post? waiting for ya all ya..

• JustAGuy on Dec 04, 2024 at 2:32 pm

250k is just insane..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Interior looks like 2005, UMW still consist of dinosaur board of directors? And it’s overpriced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • You can’t afford on Dec 04, 2024 at 3:01 pm

For those who say better buy bmw or merc, don’t be fooled. Entry level conti cars are mostly empty specs and low performance engine. Merc A class even uses Renault engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
    • anonymous on Dec 04, 2024 at 5:54 pm

so many Merc fanboys angry at this lol but where is the lie ??

• Just because you can’t even accept new reality on why Merc can do better than toyota, even bmw also can do better than Toyota. I can sense that you are the one of angry toyota fanboys here….btw, toyota fanboys have been talking bad on other brands from many years till today but can’t afford

• anonymous on Dec 04, 2024 at 9:27 pm

no one said toyota is doing better than Mercedes. was referring to op’s comment of the A class using a Renault engine and also the low specs for their entry level cars which are both facts. perhaps you should get acquainted with facts here.

and you know what, it’s i cannot afford a Mercedes. at least not in malaysia. even if i could i wouldn’t be dumb enough to buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • Suren on Dec 05, 2024 at 1:17 pm

True, entry level contis are garbage, stripped bare of everything like the BMW 320i and 218i, Mesedi GLB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • If you test continental cars and toyota cars, definitely disagree on what you said, did you see many people felt that bmw are more reliable than toyota, even maintenance cost not cheap than toyota. Please ask yourself, to toyota fanboys here. Truth is truth

• Mr osaka guy on Dec 06, 2024 at 2:36 pm

@CBA yes agree. but toyota salesmen claimed that toyota is better than others but didn’t realize that toyota have poor safety than any other brands

• kingx on Dec 13, 2024 at 7:36 pm

You say 320i is garbage and this junk Camry is supposed to be grand? Stupiak toyota salesman

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 04, 2024 at 4:34 pm

cantik but harga yahudi, byd seal best la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • bersyukur? on Dec 04, 2024 at 5:10 pm

2minute petrol pump run equal distance you charging 3 times.. LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • But can you handle when ron95 subsidy will reduce with roadtax and maintenance also not worth when seeing this car? Actually, buying ev is not even worries especially when you charge at home after use? Just that you just don’t want to study further about cars, you just comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • bersyukur? on Dec 05, 2024 at 9:39 am

its a hybrid you dum S

• Not only just hybrid, it is for petrol too. Please read more, okay toyota fanboy, can see why are you so worried about your toyota sales

• mr osaka guy on Dec 06, 2024 at 2:39 pm

@CBA

Camry also not selling well than other brands nowadays than before

• UNker on Dec 04, 2024 at 4:58 pm

not surprising the price from UMW toyota will be like this,

A Camry with BMW 3 series price….

• nobody want to buy Camry unless it’s government officials, even Altis is now rare on road but Altis is my favourite car

• urgent money wanted on Dec 04, 2024 at 5:19 pm

1cc = rm100k.

• anonymous on Dec 04, 2024 at 5:52 pm

good packaging but wrong pricing. should be 230k at most (and even then it would be ridiculous). like come on now it’s a Camry…tops out at AUD$53,990 (~RM155k) in Australia so let’s bffr.

• With this price, only Toyota or Camry diehard fan will consider this. Hybrid resale value won’t be good, performance not as good as EV, same price range as Conti car, another sun setting model like Accord

• eCVT 2017tech for 250k car on Dec 04, 2024 at 6:19 pm

Year End 320 promo new car price cheaper then this 248k

• Behind looks like TM3

• Been Yappin on Dec 04, 2024 at 11:44 pm

our ringgit so bad that the pricing had to be like that or what ? I mean look at the pricing in Thailand or Australia and then the Japanese wondering why they are slowly losing the car market against Chinese in the ASEAN market

• Pro-Palestine on Dec 05, 2024 at 1:32 pm

Nothing wrong with the ringgit. It is that the cost of manufacturing in Japan and all other vassal state of America (eg Korea, Philippines etc) are too high while countries that are close with China and Russia have lower manufacturing cost. Western countries and their asian lap dogs are dying and cannot compete any more. Chinese EV is killing them with much lower price tag because of lower manufacturing cost.

• Ranter on Dec 05, 2024 at 7:56 am

Here I thought of waiting to purchase a Camry with better specs. What kinda price is that?? Bye bye Camry. You deserved to be in low sales. Bring back 2.0L engine non hybrid. With the TNGA, you guys can do better than 2.5L. The world is going for optimisation, not bigger the better engine.

• Dwade on Dec 05, 2024 at 8:33 am

RM245k, but still with the boring black trim interior. We’re going to year 2025, but many car manufacturers, including toyota still treat us Malaysians like a market from the third world country or sumthing.

• Prius import from Japan is cheaper than this from Thailand

• mirza on Dec 05, 2024 at 11:18 am

rejoice top government officials! the government issued car (kenderaan rasmi jawatan) for JUSA A and above is now camry.. later its gonna be upgraded to this model and they can buy it upon retirement with huge discount. use during pencen.. rejoice with cheap maintenance..

unlike last time.. which is an old model with a lot less value and features..

• Peluang Man on Dec 05, 2024 at 1:00 pm

‘Overpriced’ & ‘under specced’ aptly described this in comparison with what other countries get (excepting more expensive Singapore, but at least it gets made in Japan Camry).

• Camry sales and both Contis have been dropping like crazy globally..In malaysia MB and BMW throwing prices to move cars…while most buyers are opting for Tesla,BYD seal and Xpeng G6…

• Perodua maju on Dec 05, 2024 at 8:47 pm

Come on perodua … Time to rebadge camry as well hehehehe

• Amadeus on Dec 05, 2024 at 10:26 pm

After 5 years, it’s kaput. Too bad, you need to buy a new model

• autobahn on Dec 07, 2024 at 9:11 am

The pricing is completely the opposite. Conti cars phev is cheaper than their comparable ice version due to tax discount. But this hybrid camry is more expansive then their normal ice version. Where is the selling point then?

• Based on the spec sheet and price tag. I can foresee many people will turn toward 320i or recon luxy. With year end promos and rebates, better deals can be achieved with little effort.

• The price is ok if the quality or materials provided is justifiable. I have viewed the car at KLIMS, the door design and material used almost the same as Vios. A lot of touch point on the leg are hard plastic. This is a joke compare to Mazda CX-60 (expecting to sell around Camry price).

• Dugung X on Dec 13, 2024 at 7:02 pm

WTF Copy 100% ketam Accord that failed. 250k for hybrid, the RV sure hilux below 80k after 5 years. Bodoh lah this greedy UMW, uncle don’t prefer hybrid at high price. Lexus ES250 used to be 250k. Overpriced shit

• MOHAMMAD BIN MAT YUSOF on Dec 18, 2024 at 11:16 am

TOYOTA CAMRY 2025

• blueelephant on Dec 19, 2024 at 4:30 pm

personally, love the interior