Here we have yet another early look at the 2025 Proton Saga MC3, courtesy of Johnny Tan. The spyshot, taken at a petrol station opposite Proton’s headquarters in Shah Alam, shows a fully camouflaged mule with makeshift headlights, a new front grille and most importantly, an ADAS camera behind the windscreen.
For now, it’s unclear if this MC3 update will be a stop-gap facelift for the long-running model before the proper next-generation version arrives, or if this is indeed the purported AMA-based new Saga. What’s clear is that the body looks identical to the current car, it would be unlikely – not to mention disappointing – if this is the actual “all-new” model.
Beyond what we can see here, everything else would be pure speculation. Whether it will carry on Proton’s own VVT engine or any form of a Geely powertrain, we don’t yet know. It’s certainly exciting times ahead for Proton, with this one the horizon as well as its second EV model that has already been confirmed for this year.
So folks, what do you think this is: a late facelift for the current Saga, or the all new model? Discuss below.
Here we have yet another early look at the 2025 Proton Saga MC3, courtesy of Johnny Tan.
The spyshot, taken at a petrol station opposite Proton’s headquarters in Shah Alam, shows a fully camouflaged mule with makeshift headlights, a new front grille and most importantly, an ADAS… pic.twitter.com/0WWajrfIrf
— Paul Tan's Automotive News (@paultan) January 18, 2025
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Oh god!! Get rid of those hideous KDK sport rim!!!!
And hope they redesign the dashboard, the current dashboard design still looks like a 2000s car
they’re going to make it as a new model courtesy to the xv80 camry. probably as a cheap way out.
And powered by 1.3 campro vvt turbocharged engine
Campro turbo engine already end production in 2023,VVT engine will be end production in 2027.
The dashboard looks different as well. Looks like one-piece horizontal layout like those in the Mercedes.
When are going to change the presently still using savvy sedan body platform to all new body platform?
Small wheel with thick body, it looks really weird just like its larger sibling Persona. What the heck the designer thinking about? And the 4 spoke looks like wheel is truly awful. Sometimes thinking why should we still need a national car brands yet basically P1 belong to China while P2 is Japan. These 2 national brands are making affordable cars but yet it is not really that cheap especially P1.
The X50, X70 and X90 are close to foreigner brands like Chery, Jaecoo and GAC. Yes all these foreigner brands are same from China but even if they having higher excise duty or import tax than Proton, these brands only sell slightly higher. That’s shame for Proton where they should sell cheaper to us as they being protected by gov.
At this point, P1 and P2 are basically 2 flimsy excuses that our government is using to make more easy money from collecting the ridiculously high excise duties imposed upon cars from non-local brands.
Like the Lexus LBX Morizo RR cost 6.5 million yen in Japan, which is roughly RM190k. But here in Malaysia, RM190k still only get you some lousy car that doesn’t drive all that well and most likely isn’t well built enough to not turn into a noisy, rattling mess in less than 3 years of being driven on our horrible roads. Our car industry is an absolute joke, but all these katak bawah tempurung people and our gov still always syok sendiri to our pathetic car industry.
As an Indian, the roads in Malaysia are a complete dream. Not only that, saying that you can’t get a good car for 190k is nonsense as the Tesla Model 3, BYD Seal and the Omoda C9 exist. Plus, I can’t speak about Proton, but Perodua is not a flimsy excuse as my P2 G1 Alza SR BASE MODEL, which costed 52k in 2013 is still running like a dream.
Test mule. New engine and gearbox on old chassis. Long term testing.
if test mule why need to camouflage? test mule terang terang will pakai the current body kan?
Test mules that have older models’ body panels tacked onto a new chassis is a common practice. The camouflage is to conceal the fact that mismatched panels have simply been bolted or riveted onto a different body.
This is keldai saga la
Hybrid powetrain will be a good update from saga. Transitioning from our ice to electrification. Saga need better fuel efficiency hence hybrids is best for it. Not the x90 hybrid ya. I doubt it will give much.
Biar betik, chassis dari zaman Savvy nak continue next generation? Proton better make sure that’s an AMA platform. But beggar can’t be choosy.
Mad Ani and Sick Man Of Asia laughing all the way to the bank. Thumbs up kalau setuju
Setuju…your head lah
Macam mule je. Depan definitely lagi lebar dari belakang. Pelik proportion dia.
why have to gambar the driver pnya bald head too
Photogenic
Recycling the old Savvy-sourced BLM platform is contrary to then P1 CEO (syed zainal) who assured us that they would limit their new model life cycle to no more than 7 to 8 years. Remember the Saga “wise-up” tank sometime in 2000s?
It’s happening again.
I still remember when I am a small boy drawing a car with small wheel, this is the one hahahaha
pity malaysians. with RM40-50k only can buy these kind of junk. in japan, that same amount can already buy very decent cars and a lot of choices. guess who we should thank for this nonsense? the one that invented the AP permit person.
The market for the Saga does not require powertrain like CVT. A 4-speed automatic transmission is sufficient. Consider the success of the current Saga: people buy it because it is reliable. If proton plan to switch to CVT, better make sure it’s reliability.
Current saga is the driving is smoother with this 4AT than the previous cheapass CVT that jerks and stalls.
International car manufacturers facelift once. Proton and Perodua keep facelifting for donkey years to come.
MC3 is impressive with ADAS seriously