The Proton eMas 7 was launched towards the end of last year, and now the carmaker has identified certain aspects of the electric SUV that will be addressed with a number of updates.
If you have taken to the wheel of the eMas 7, you’ll likely have noticed the audible warning for pedestrians when driving at low speeds. If you haven’t heard the tune, this is the jingle. The ice cream truck-esque audio is something that plays at any point below 30 km/h.
This means that whenever stop-start traffic is encountered in the eMas 7 – a near-certainty in rush hour commutes – the sweets-on-wheels musical passage will be your constant companion, as it cannot be switched off. Proton says this is in order to comply with UN ECE regulations, however it is currently working to give eMas 7 customers options for the pedestrian warning audio.
Also among the updates to come for the eMas 7 is the saving of radio frequency presets, the carmaker has revealed at a customer event. Proton is working on a fix to enable the retention of customers’ radio presets, as currently all radio settings will be reset upon vehicle startup.
The Proton eMas 7 is presently available in two variants – the Prime, equipped with a 49.52 kWh battery, and the Premium, which gets a 60.22 kWh battery – both variants use the Geely Aegis short-blade lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery – for 345 km and 410 km of range respectively, on the WLTP cycle.
Charging time from 30 to 80% takes 20 minutes using DC fast charging at up to 100 kW (80 kW for the Prime), while a full charge using an 11 kW AC wallbox takes 4.9 hours for the Prime and 6.1 hours for the Premium. The eMas 7 is also the first Proton to get a suite of driver assistance features, including Level 2 semi-autonomous driving capabilities.
Our man Hafriz Shah has covered the good and bad about the Proton eMas 7 EV, here; watch the full, in-depth review below.
GALLERY: 2025 Proton eMas 7
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Please also address the lack of granny charger. BYD is including that as part of the accessories.
Malaysia traffic jam everyday. Better not tipu ppl stuck in jam got ice cream truckm
I’d be utterly disappointed if I hear that music but realize its not an ice cream truck!
Yes I hope there will be more choices instead of Jeruk sellers
Paddle pop…WOW
Paddle pop…YEAH
Super duper yummy!
Mat Kool mat Kool kawanku
Mari kita ikut…mat kool
Main main selalu
Syoknya syoknya ada mat kool
How about speed limit warning, as well as ADAS settings in general, being reset to default everytime the car is restarted? Will proton update that to enable permanently retaining the user’s preference, too?
Yes,
Driver mode and driver assist setting should not get reset every time you start the car.
First 30 seconds in my e.Mas , I have to redo the settings every time .. I would gladly tell people dont buy yet ! , just for this reason
this is related to ncap 5 star rating, safety features that are not on by default may not be counted or something, so all car manufacturer s who want to get 5 star rating all comply to the same requirements, by resetting those safety features, personally I think this is all wrong, because I as the driver is the one who is solely responsible if anything happen from a legal standpoint and I should have full control whether those safety feature should be on or not, if any of the feature generate too many false positive/false activation, then it means that the feature is not well implemented, or perhaps not suitable for the environment that I am driving in, and the driver should be given the option to turn it off permanently.
Proton oh proton…so many excuses. As if it’s not local nor aware of local traffic here.
Haiyo, radio preset cannot save also didn’t notice? Which intelligent being signed off the launch?
Who listens to local radio stations anyway? Only the folks who can accept the misspelling of breakfast?
Ada bunyi kelawar tak ?
Cannot even store radio station preset?! Goes to show the level of attention to detail that goes into Golden Potong! Even a 10 year-old Toyota Craplolla can save radio station one!
the reason why we are skeptical about China (+Proton) cars, just does not make sense that all the radio presets are gone once the car is turned off. doesnt have the details where is should be, even a 30++ yr old walkman have the feature of saving.
you do know this only happens with the PROTON version, right? locally sourced parts and components is the problem here.
Maybe forgotten pilot run…haha
Pls look into Speed limit warning too, reset everytime.
put in a V8 engine sound mah.
Kereta paling jimat minyak
hafriz punca haha
Radio presets failure never detected before product launch?
What other faults being overlooked and not realized yet due to rushing to launch after series of setbacks in project management.
Hope not serious safety issue like Cherry axle welding failure.