JPJ introduces new Malaysian driving licence card (LMM) design, but only for those driving overseas

The road transport department (JPJ) has announced that it has introduced a new version of the Malaysian driving licence (LMM), which comes with enhanced security features. The card form of the new LMM is being distributed in stages nationwide starting from today, May 21, The Star reports.

According to JPJ director-general Datuk Aedy Fadly Ramli, the latest LMM design is capable of preventing card tampering and forgery, and is designed to last up to 10 years. “In terms of design, the front of the new card features a background image of the Sultan Abdul Samad building along with abstract wave motifs, while the back showcases the Istana Negara and abstract floral motifs,” he said.

He added that the issuance of the new LMM card was being done progressively at selected JPJ offices. This is to allow for a smooth transition from the previous version.

However, in line with the country’s switch to a digital driving licence, the LMM card will not be available to just anyone. As it has been with the existing version, a physical copy of the new LMM card will be limited to two types of applicants, which are Malaysian citizens who are travelling abroad and will be driving in a foreign country, and non-citizens.

Aedy Fadly said that the general public renewing their licence under normal circumstances will only get the digital version of the licence through the MyJPJ app.

“If you are renewing as usual, you will get the digital licence via MyJPJ. But if the applicant is going overseas, they can request the physical version of the driving licence,” he said. We understand that proof of upcoming travel (as in flight ticket, etc) is one of the requirements to be able to get a physical LMM card.

“We know not all countries accept digital licences except for Singapore, which has accepted it, but there are other countries that do not. Travellers need to carry a physical licence along with an international driving permit (IDP), which can be applied for at JPJ. Every country has different regulations,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Other countries, you get a driving license till the age of 65 in the case of Britain. No need for renewal just pay once.

• MarkX on May 24, 2025 at 8:51 am

In other countries sucha s Japan, Canada, Australia, you get a lifetime driving licence, but you have to go health & competency inspection every 2 years.

• Sabri on May 21, 2025 at 11:09 pm

Annoying la. Have to purposely visit the jpj again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • lolsomany on May 22, 2025 at 2:30 am

They should do this since 2022, why so slow. This what happened when you executed things without thinking every issues will arise when going digital

• more harebrain nonsense from this dept. creating more redtapes for everyone, wasting everyone’s resources while not making things better for everyone including the dept of transportation.

almost all countries globally issues a physical driver’s license as the primary issuance. digital being secondary.

whoever that came up with this harebrain idea needs to be fired asap before more redtapes r gonna be issued to kill off productivity in a country that is already low in productivity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Abg jamil on May 22, 2025 at 6:38 am

Lawo jgk pmpuan kelantan tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Bumblebee on May 22, 2025 at 7:42 am

And there is your rollback from the decision they took. Never think before implementing just do…

• Totally Absurd! Discriminatory as well. I think wanna use the word *odoh! Pui.

• Traffic Police on May 22, 2025 at 8:40 am

Hope the entire group of enforcement officers got the update accordingly, not insist of seeing the physical license and have their tools in hand during the roadblocks.

• Akhirnya perubahan yang ditunggu-tunggu menjadi kenyataan. Memang hidup keras dan susah tanpa design baru ni. Terima kasih banyak-banyak. JPJ memang berhati rakyat. Terbaek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • 112BZ on May 22, 2025 at 9:01 am

They always know a way of making money!

• Richard on May 22, 2025 at 9:03 am

You cannot enforce expats to take a road exam after 3 months and at the same time benefit from 1949 Geneva Convention treaties when Malaysians are driving overseas. Wondering how long it will take before embassy’s start complaining about this.

Would be interesting for Paul Tan to look into this from a more legal perspective. For example is Malaysia still compliant or not.

• newme on May 22, 2025 at 9:16 am

Yes, for those driving overseas only.
    At overseas, the law enforcers supposed to know what “BTM”, “Motosikal Tiga Roda”, “Mahkamah” and “Ketua Pengarah Pengangkutan Jalan” are.

• Y force ppl to use digital!!! on May 22, 2025 at 10:07 am

I dont understand y they insist of using digital form instead of physical one? Cant they give option for us to choose? I prefer physical 1. It will be a hassle when we need to look for the app, click it , search for the license, what if the hp got no battery or internet or suddenly hang? And now almost all condos/ housing area need to show license/ic to register at guard house , i feel safer to show them license instead.

• Ben Yap on May 22, 2025 at 2:10 pm

In March 2025, i went to JPJ to get the physical driving license and IDP. the wait at JPJ is so long it is big inconvenience. the applicant can apply for IDP at UTC but cannot get the physical license from UTC. so have to make another trip to selected JPJ branch to get the physical license. Just give physical driving license to everyone. even if JPJ charge a nominal for a physical license, it is a huge welcome.

• Gomorrah on May 22, 2025 at 2:19 pm

Said this before and I’m saying it again. Lu bukan KDN. Lu tak perlu tahu siapa keluar masuk negara. Kalau lu mau pergi tanya KDN dan imigresen. Lu punya kerja hanya untuk keluarkan lesen memandu.

This departmental overreach started with Loke and people need to start questioning why he and his ministry are overstepping their bounds. Is it because he wants to become the Home minister?

• It’s already a night mate dealing with JPJ especially when you are a non-citizen, nothing has been done to ease off things . POS & UTC don’t serve non-citizens , JPJ doesn’t allow to login on JpJ app for non-citizens , none of them JPJ offices in KL serves non-citizens except Wangsa Manju , at Wangsa Manju they ran out of the LLM cards almost daily even when you queue form 7 Am in the morning . Why create unnecessary trouble in this day & age .

• If digital version cannot be accepted in oversea, then why shld we have the digital version, go oversea must use physical card and show flight ticket, ini memang susahkan rakyat….

• Mike Tee on May 26, 2025 at 10:53 am

99% of people do not have to drive overseas so 99 out of 100 won’t need the physical card.

You are being deliberately obtuse, I hope

• I thought already softcopy using MyJPJ. So, what is the benefit? Another waste of government fund?

• Mike Tee on May 26, 2025 at 10:55 am

You did not read the article huh?

It’s for people who need to drive overseas, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei(EM), Indonesia (EM) and also rental companies overseas need to see the physical driving license

• pundeklah on May 23, 2025 at 8:19 am

why bother announcing if it’s not available for the general public? media can get free food n drinks in the announcing event?

• Rajamurthi on May 23, 2025 at 12:53 pm

Wasted time and money roadtax also we disposal
    Enough is enough if you got more money that use for other things like public toilets give to poorer to use it

• What if im DRIVING to Thailand instead by flight so how am i supposed to proof to JPJ in order to get my physical licence?

• Who designed this, a bored intern on MS Paint during lunch break? Fonts are fighting each other, English comes and goes as it pleases, and the overall layout feels more “vintage souvenir” than official document.

Appreciate the update, but maybe next round let’s call in an actual designer (and maybe a copy editor too)? Right now, this card isn’t doing Malaysia any favours on the international stage.