Anwar Ibrahim test drives Proton eMas 7, calls it a proud achievement of Malaysian automotive landscape

YAB Perdana Menteri, Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim semasa majlis penyerahan Proton eMas di Putrajaya. 21 Mei 2025. IZZUDDIN ABD RADZAK/Pejabat Perdana Menteri.
NO SALES; NO ARCHIVE; RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE ONLY. NOTE TO EDITORS: This handout videos may only be used for editorial reporting purposes for the contemporaneous illustration of events, things or the people in the visual or facts mentioned in the caption. Reuse of the videos may require further permission. MANDATORY CREDIT – Izzuddin Abd Radzak/ Pri

Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has taken the Proton eMas 7 for a test spin around his office grounds, saying on Facebook that the EV SUV is another proud achievement in the Malaysian automotive landscape.

He added that the eMas 7’s selection as the official car of Malaysia’s ASEAN 2025 chairmanship reflects the progress of local technology and the confidence in the capabilities of Malaysians in driving the automotive industry of the future.

YAB Perdana Menteri, Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim semasa majlis penyerahan Proton eMas di Putrajaya. 21 Mei 2025. IZZUDDIN ABD RADZAK/Pejabat Perdana Menteri.
NO SALES; NO ARCHIVE; RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE ONLY. NOTE TO EDITORS: This handout videos may only be used for editorial reporting purposes for the contemporaneous illustration of events, things or the people in the visual or facts mentioned in the caption. Reuse of the videos may require further permission. MANDATORY CREDIT – Izzuddin Abd Radzak/ Pri

“God willing, I believe the Proton eMas 7 will be a catalyst for the promotion and development of the nation’s EV industry, especially as we will soon host the 46th ASEAN Summit. This initiative is also in line with Malaysia’s zero-carbon commitment in the years to come, and sustainability and green energy transition agendas under the Malaysia Madani framework.

“Let us continue to support local innovation and work towards a more sustainable, competitive and technologically-advanced future,” said Anwar.

The eMas 7, Proton’s first EV, is based on the Geely Galaxy E5, with the Malaysian company claiming it to be a co-developed model with local involvement.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Facebook on May 22, 2025 at 10:15 am

Rebadge is a milestone to Anwar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • bersyukur? on May 22, 2025 at 10:57 am

Whats so proud about changing badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • GgggggPPP on May 22, 2025 at 11:04 am

Cery Proud

• Ben Yap on May 22, 2025 at 11:24 am

technology and design is not from Proton. so there’s nothing to proud about malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • errr.. what achievement? Re-badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • meladam on May 22, 2025 at 11:27 am

translation, range are all can’t be trusted. saw a lot stranded emusk due to these issue

• What is it to be proud of? Chinese EV with Proton badging? If it is fully develop, that is something to be proud of. It’s not Malaysian engineering, it’s Chinese engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Bob Mal on May 22, 2025 at 1:06 pm

LOL eMas7 is a proud achievement indeed even the windscreen instead of featuring Malaysia landmark now features China and probably 97% are direct Import + Paste jobs done and even Cronies vendors also must be impressed about their quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Curious on May 22, 2025 at 1:34 pm

Testing aje but government and state still buying Mercedes or Camry. Only want to encourage the rakyat to support the local but they are buying European or Jepunis products.

• What achievement, technology? yini kereta from tongsan-land, pak cik…..

• FrankC on May 22, 2025 at 2:57 pm

Proton brand will always be associated with malaysian. no matter what pmx says we know this emas7 is geely made vehicle with local touch ups.. btw these units are still cbu..i wonder when proton can start ckd.. chery already faster in setting up ckd than proton… something proton is supposed to be worried about

• The fanboy on May 22, 2025 at 3:41 pm

It has too many flaws. It can be better if testing done thoroughly.
    Busher if you bush me, you get one reward point.

• Peppa on May 22, 2025 at 3:42 pm

Is he an idiot? Why should he be proud of that sad excuse of a rebadge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Mat Rambutan on May 22, 2025 at 5:24 pm

Proud to rebadge an existing model from your parent company.
    Jaguh Kampung mentality. Forever third world.

• Tanpa Geely, mampu kah?

• Wonderwhy on May 22, 2025 at 6:41 pm

So, rebadge (copy and paste) is proud achievement?! LOL

• YB Kinte Kunte on May 22, 2025 at 8:11 pm

A rebadged Geely EV…Hello YAB PMX…I dont wish to pour cold water on P1…any company with adequate funds can rebadge a Xoami or X Peng EV by paying huge royalties.
    Until Proton can come up with original designs…I dont really see how we can start blowing our own trumpet.
    You can also rebadge an ancient first generation Tesla by paying Elon handsomely.I m sure the Musketeer would not mind,since his latest tesla sales r slowing down.

• Sabri on May 22, 2025 at 8:51 pm

as much as i love and respect the emas…. this car is a mere rebadge la k

• Make Malaysia Great Again on May 22, 2025 at 10:29 pm

In a car? He should be back in jail for what he did to our beautiful Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • JibKor on May 23, 2025 at 7:57 am

Our standard of proud is so low with just a badge says it all

• Sticker said china on May 24, 2025 at 9:04 pm

They didn’t even bother to change the stickers on the windscreen.
    It’s not klcc but china

• Not even developed in Malaysia, just a rebadged CCP car, clown

• Chun Wei on Jun 02, 2025 at 1:06 pm

Rebadging a Foreign Car as a National car is a Proud Achievement? Wow I feel depressed , more like a Proton Propaganda