Datuk Seri Rafizi Ramli has resigned from his position as the minister of economy of Malaysia, following his loss in the recent PKR party election for the position of deputy president to Nurul Izzah Anwar.
“I have submitted my resignation letter to the prime minister. My defeat in the recent PKR election means I no longer have the party’s mandate to translate the people’s agenda, as championed by PKR, into government programmes,” Rafizi said in a statement.
The Pandan member of parliament added that his resignation from the economy minister post will take effect on June 17, and he will take the remainder of his annual leave from today until June 16.
During Rafizi’s tenure as economy minister, the ministry launched the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database in January 2024. Initially defined as a key component in determining how subsidies and financial assistance were re-targeted, the database – which cost RM85 million to implement – was utilised for the rationalisation of diesel subsidies in June 2024, but has since largely gone off the radar.
Despite Rafizi having stated last November that there would be a second phase of registration for PADU in preparation for the implementation of the targeted RON 95 petrol subsidy, the government’s decision to go with MyKad in the planned implementation likely means that PADU no longer plays a key role in defining how targeted petrol subsidy will be dispensed.
On May 19, Rafizi announced that the RON 95 petrol subsidy rationalisation plan had been fully handed over to the finance ministry, and that the MoF would be managing the entire RON 95 subsidy process from now on.
Earlier this week, second finance minister Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan said that the RON 95 subsidy rationalisation will be rolled out in the second half of this year as planned. Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has however said that the majority of the rakyat will not be affected by the move, and that only a select few (which Anwar was said to have mentioned as the 5% ultra rich) and foreigners would be paying more for RON 95.
Hmmm….kerja tak settle lari, pemimpin tak sepatutnya mcm ni. This gov is a joke.
rafizi launched so many programs that tax the people more. Now after spending RM85m, PADU is longer in use is just a waste of taxpayers’ money. it is good that he stepped down.
Rafizi had been a tireless advocate & strategist of the ‘improvement’ of the nation – the fight against corruption/fraud, that has brought the pm through the difficult stages until he became pm. I believe there’s fraud & cheating in the PKR election process. And all the lies told about RR. I had been a strong supporter of Anwar for 20 yrs.. I hope RR will get over the betrayal he’d suffered, form a new party or join an existing one. If he doesn’t, I won’t vote in the next election. So sickening & dismaying after supporting & fighting for the so-called ‘reformasi’ movement, I feel I myself have been betrayed of my trust.. Pls allow my comment. Tq
Anwar menang rakyat senang
Not dead. Handed to MOF
https://paultan.org/2025/05/26/govt-will-implement-ron-95-subsidy-rationalisation-as-planned-second-half-of-2025-roll-out-amir-hamzah/
Formulaman is gone but we are still holding PMX and Pakatan Kencing Rakyat to his promise above otherwise PMX should resign too.
MOF la…read you last article
Why Rafizi kaput,in the PKR polls ?
Simple…he is too lunsi,always frightening the covid stricken rakyat with “sudden unannounced” price hike surprises.He has lost touch with the grassroots who want to put food on the table.
Hahaha…thats why no matter how high flying u r,u will come crashing down one day .Serve him right.
Hip hip hooray.
All part of the plot
U need somebody to do
the “bad cop” that’s it
this is what we call as democracy in pkr. even the president’s daughter want to compete nobody can stop her because that her right to compete. it’s not about grassroots, it’s about izzah vs rafizi, and the voters only come from pkr member, not from “rakyat”. so it is impossible for rafizi to win. it was expectable, except if you are outsider and non pkr member. if want to talk about grassroots, it impossible for izzah to lose in permatang pauh, but it happened.
PADU = PUDAr
The PADU trap was well prepared for him to step down
Really? Now he can join private sector with stacks of millions rakyat details harvested by PADU. If this was a trap its certainly for the dumb rakyats that trusted PH
Usually doremon will took out something from his pocket to give to his master but some doremon will took out something from his master pocket to give to others.
Now that this shithead no longer has power, SPRM should start opening a case for him and start investigate him.
assumption is – resign before being labelled incompetent. blame lies on next predecessor.
hopefully the RON95 targeted subsidies, PADU and e-invoicing will all mati and go away – dumb ideas by dumbazz – if the govt want more $$$, bring back GST the lesser evil …
He should have stepped down when all the subsidy removals have been completed. Incompetent. Now nobody left with the balls to do this.