Gov’t to introduce monthly capped quota for targeted RON95 subsidy to prevent misuse – Amir Hamzah

The government says it will introduce a monthly capped quota for eligible individuals when it rolls out its RON 95 fuel subsidy rationalisation plan. According to finance minister II Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan, this is to prevent those who are not eligible for it to benefit from having someone else pump subsidised fuel for them, The Edge reports.

He said that the finance ministry is finalising the quota system as part of the implementation, which is currently in the last stages of being fine-tuned in terms of the criteria for eligibility and the delivery mechanism that will be deployed. “We will have a quota. We must have a quota. We do not want someone to pump fuel for other people,” he said in parliament.

“We must set quotas to prevent misuse. The ministry is carefully considering how to allocate quotas, ensuring that ordinary citizens have enough subsidised fuel, while managing risks of overuse or fraud,” he said.

He added that there will be a distinction between ordinary users and those whose everyday work relies on the usage of fuel, such as p-hailing delivery riders and ride-hailing drivers. “Ordinary users will have a set quota, but for p-hailing and e-hailing drivers, the quota will be higher because this is their primary task. We will make that distinction,” he stated.

Details of the targeted RON 95 subsidy implementation plan are expected to be revealed at the end of September. It has previously been indicated that information from the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database will be used as a reference to identify eligible recipients, and the use of MyKad as an identifier for the delivery mechanism has also been mentioned consistently.

10% discount when you renew your car insurance with us

Compare prices between different insurer providers and use the promo code 'PAULTAN10' when you make your payment to save the most on your car insurance renewal compared to other competing services. You can also pay with instalment using Grab PayLater or Shopee SPayLater.

Renew Car Insurance

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Robinhood on Aug 26, 2025 at 12:10 pm

What if there are people whose place of work is very far from their home and there is no alternative public transport????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Najib on Aug 26, 2025 at 7:53 pm

Then you move to a house nearer to your workplace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
      • Robinhood on Aug 28, 2025 at 9:56 am

Then tell the govt to subsidise at least RM500k to buy a house. Ni memang bodoh punya menteri!!! Another thing, don’t tell us to change job to suit his stupid policy. We might as well change him.

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 28, 2025 at 1:49 pm

RON95 jer RM2.50 /liter
        Usah bimbang la kalian

• Fahmi PMXI on Aug 26, 2025 at 9:14 pm

At first PMX said 85% enjoy subsidy.
      Then more conditions…luxury car ,homes owned.
      Then now quota lagi.
      Dont treat rakyat like pengemis.
      Kalau mau bagi bantuan,dont keep adding more conditions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Bryant on Aug 27, 2025 at 12:10 am

Are you one of those? If not stfu. Stop being a whiny bitch and finding donkey scenarios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • newme on Aug 26, 2025 at 12:22 pm

Surely there will be someone claiming to be driving whole day as a profession. Not delivery driver nor ehailing but he just drives.

• Konpius on Aug 26, 2025 at 1:20 pm

Like that many people will apply the e hailing permit to enjoy the subsidy without actually doing e hailing job .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • stasta on Aug 26, 2025 at 1:41 pm

let me guess- 200 liters for car owner, 100 litres for motorcycle

• Akmal Salleh ...where r you? on Aug 26, 2025 at 1:53 pm

If Madani keep on fine tuning multiple times,in the end,the eligible gets only crumbs.At first,PMX said 85% will benefit…now B4 implementation,this tak boleh,ITU tak boleh … might as well scrap the blardy subsidy.Dont treat rakyat like beggars..If someone is caught abusing the system,send the bugger to jail.Why treat the rest like crooks?

• Nvm, Malaysia easily can donate 100millions anytime. Very rich, can continue to subsidize us!

• Should give quota to all malaysian, instead of selected people. After all, the T20 also pay tax, more than the rest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
    • Masakroti on Aug 27, 2025 at 8:59 am

T20 pay the most tax, are least appreciated and blamed all the time. Gomen is smart to divert the attention away from corruption and mismanagement, which is the biggest elephant in the room draining money from the country, not puny fuel subsidy for T20. People are punished for working hard/ smart. Propaganda is strong and the sheep is easily fooled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • bersyukur? on Aug 26, 2025 at 2:16 pm

then people misused within the quota lor.. not solving the problem also…

• Nurul Izzah on Aug 26, 2025 at 3:54 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Ssare on Aug 26, 2025 at 4:10 pm

many ppl lepak driving around for fun and purposely piss of other drivers. bagus juga let them stay home haha..just lift all subsidy la..

• Domestic traveller on Aug 26, 2025 at 4:17 pm

Then i need to visit my parent at hometown much lesser than now I guess. Once a month to my hometown and to my in-law hometown currently need to be split to two months. And maybe if got emergency, I do need to prioritise which hometown to forfeits or maybe the vacation plan need to be forfeit. Yeah, it is hard to live now and they make it a quota just to make it harder. Ohh, if there are weddings, please note that for a month I might able to attend one only. If possible for those planning to get married, please schedule it properly. LOL.

• Ben Yap on Aug 26, 2025 at 4:25 pm

A bigger concern is that what happens if someone successfully steal personal data from mykads? who is going to be responsible? or is government going to say this is isolated case and will take forever to look into it?

• cukaboi on Aug 26, 2025 at 5:07 pm

can give millions as donations to other countries but neglect your own rakyat.

• Kow Chee kong on Aug 27, 2025 at 4:57 pm

A lot of certain group in the country support the donation to the other country “organisation” . Surely the govt will still need the support of the group who support the donation. You think quota reduce for that group meh?

• Lol no minyak on Aug 27, 2025 at 8:40 am

Are we a third world country or something.puasa petrol is it? Need to catu like we are on our last barrel?

• use brain on Aug 27, 2025 at 2:33 pm

hello even at the higher price of RM2.5 per liter of ron95 , its still much cheaper than neighbours indonesia, thailand, singapore.

• Yes la use brain, there the cars much cheaper, here duties are 3rd highest in Asia.

• he didnt use brain on Aug 28, 2025 at 2:05 pm

car prices at singapore, thailand , indoneisa much cheaper than malaysia? must be joking. thats why i advised to use brain but seems my advice fell on deaf ears.

• MOHD FAHMI BIN A HAMID on Aug 27, 2025 at 5:35 pm

SAMAK KELAYAKAN

• realis on Aug 28, 2025 at 8:52 pm

bagi jer fixed quota to everyone. minyak tu pun malaysia (rakyat la) yg punya. quota tu mesti x cukup utk kaya, kalau utk org yg pakai motor jer, dpt lebih, dapat la dia jual pun dia dpt duit lebih sikit. buat quota yg complicated ni mahal kat sistem jer, tiris juga last last

• Sigh... on Sep 02, 2025 at 12:40 am

What the fish the quota2. Sigh…