Zeekr EVs will be locally assembled at Automotive Hi-Tech Valley (AHTV) Tg Malim – Proton

Zeekr 009

In the future, EVs from Zeekr will be locally assembled at the Automotive Hi-Tech Valley (AHTV), Tanjong Malim, Perak. This is according to Proton, which launched its new EV plant within its complex at Tg Malim today. You can think of Proton as the ‘anchor tenant’ of AHTV, which was launched in 2022.

“Proton’s partnership with Zhejiang Geely Holding Ltd (Geely) would also see other premium brands, such as Zeekr, being locally assembled within AHTV,” Proton said in a press release. Zeekr is a premium brand of Geely, which is of course Proton’s foreign partner and donor of its SUVs and EVs.

In October 2023, DRB-Hicom and Geely signed a master collaboration agreement that sets forth the underlying principles, governance framework and mutual commitment for the AHTV project, including specific roles to be undertaken for development and promotional initiatives.

Automotive Hi-Tech Valley – click to enlarge

AHTV will attract investments both locally and from overseas, which will propel it to be an international automotive hub for NEVs (new energy vehicles, China’s term for electrified vehicles), DRB-Hicom said in a statement then.

“Its focus will not only be on the production of automobiles of various makes, but also in the manufacturing of high-technology components and parts for NEVs. This will further expand the capability of local vendors towards specialising in high-technology manufacturing,” the company added.

Both DRB-Hicom and Geely has since signed MoUs with Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA) and Malaysia Automotive Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) to collaborate on developing AHTV.

Zeekr currently sells three EVs in Malaysia – the Zeekr 009 luxury SUV, the Zeekr X crossover and most recently, the Zeekr 7X SUV which competes with the Tesla Model Y and BYD Sealion 7.

Zeekr 7X

AD: Drive the ZEEKR model of your dreams. Submit your details and Zeekr Carro (Bangsar, Mutiara Damansara, Penang, Seremban outlets) will get in touch with you.

10% discount when you renew your car insurance with us

Compare prices between different insurer providers and use the promo code 'PAULTAN10' when you make your payment to save the most on your car insurance renewal compared to other competing services. You can also pay with instalment using Grab PayLater or Shopee SPayLater.

Renew Car Insurance

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• FrankC on Sep 04, 2025 at 6:23 pm

This is good news!!! So proton supply chain must work harder to enter Geely supply chain ya. otherwise missed opportunity. Work harder boys and gals!!!
    remember, an automotive company is all about supply chain competitiveness. proton is too small have to accept geely supply chain to be competitive. so proton own supply chain must skill up and work hard to enter Geely supply chain to be competitive and survive in long term

Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • Sabri on Sep 04, 2025 at 11:24 pm

nothing special, will close shop pretty quick since Msia dont buy EV that much. lucky China Gov heavily subsidy if not all Bankrupt already. Better buy BMW EV better drive. China EV very floaty and bumpy will car sick amd only straight line ok. even then BYD only low speed sprint good, mid highway high speed boost is weak amd makan electric very much.

Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • Hmmmm on Sep 05, 2025 at 5:32 pm

Wow…sub zero mind comment.
      Msia dont buy EV that much but better buy BMW EV…hmmmm.
      For now, EV not for anybody M40 and below. Anybody above that bracket dont really care as they have the means to spend. Those who ‘woof3’ a lot must be not from that bracket.

Thumb up 12 Thumb down 2
    • Overly soft suspension is the only major complaint against Chinese cars but not for long. Chinese brands are starting to tune ride and handling in Australia, where good handling and comfort is the norm.

Thumb up 7 Thumb down 2
    • Sabri on Sep 07, 2025 at 12:49 am

lol don pretend to be me. members know i hate bmw and love ccp cars

Thumb up 3 Thumb down 1
  • Sabrina on Sep 05, 2025 at 9:49 am

This is good news for EV buyers who will get more choices. After the duty exemption on CBU EVs expires on 31 Dec 2025, only CKD EVs will be affordable to the middle class while CBU EVs will double in price.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 3
  • Sabri, I’ve been driving contis most of my life and still drive a BMW iX. I also got 2 BYDs and a Zeekr. As an owner and frequent driver, I find the China cars ideal for handling our often uneven or broken roads and speed humps supremely. No more fear of crashing over a pothole. My BYD SL7 AWD also never fails to deliver instant and massive power on tap on highways, overtaking has never been easier. I’m awestruck with the Zeekr’s built quality, after all they got Audi’s design team. I only pray this will remain top notch with CKD in a Proton plant. It’s been years since Geely took over but Proton’s reputational deficit is still a major factor in the minds of many Malaysians

Thumb up 11 Thumb down 3
    • John, Agreed with you. I also have 3 contis performance cars which AMG A45S, CLA45S and Audi S5. Just bought Zeekr 009 after selling my Honda Odyssey and very satisfied with the performance and handling.

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 2
  • alldisc on Sep 05, 2025 at 3:33 pm

Need to CKD otherwise come 1st jan 2027, that model would be slapped with heavy import tax and may push the car price to somewhere between 300k and 400k

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0