Euro 5 petrol rollout postponed one year to Sep 2026

As was reported in November, Malaysia was meant to roll out Euro 5 petrol in September 2025 ahead of full implementation by 2027, but based on a letter from the department of environment (DOE) to major petroleum companies in the country sighted by paultan.org, it looks like the Euro 5 roll-out will be postponed by one year to September 2026.

Said letter, dated September 2, 2025, states that the cabinet agreed on this through a memorandum that was tabled in an August 22 cabinet meeting. No reason is stated in the letter.

“The adoption of Euro 5 petrol is a sustainable solution that will positively impact Malaysia’s air quality. The natural resources and environmental sustainability ministry (NRES) and the DOE will work closely with industry players to ensure a seamless transition,” then-NRES minister Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad was quoted as saying in November. He has since resigned.

The introduction of Euro 5 petrol and Euro 5 diesel in Malaysia was gazetted in 2015 by the NRES for introduction at pumps by September 1, 2025 and September 2020 respectively. Euro 5 diesel replaced the Euro 2M grade in April 2021.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Dah Menang Semua on Sep 09, 2025 at 8:36 pm

OH NO!!! I don’t want EURO6
    I just want CHEAP RON95
    don’t mind the standard

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Sep 10, 2025 at 7:48 pm

Yes!! We dont care what Euro, we just want the RM1.50/L petrol as PMX had promised us!!!!

#TurunAnwar

• Bob Mal on Sep 10, 2025 at 1:26 pm

While the Euro5 Petrol was registered for use since Jan 2011. Well guess 15 years later is a celebration since we know Euro2 to Euro4M petrol have no price increase but we are forced to use lower grade.

• Bund sung Lee on Sep 10, 2025 at 1:33 pm

As expected and could evaluate how lazy they r , ultimate curse to us ,useless always

• dont cry sabri on Sep 10, 2025 at 4:24 pm

lackadaisical m , same pattern as how NeverEndingPolicy was supposed to end by year 2000 and malaysia suppose to reach developed income status by wawasan 2020 yet both have been postponed indefinitely

• Gomorrah on Sep 10, 2025 at 4:28 pm

Are we actually getting Euro 5 or is it going to be Euro 5M? I recall the same hullabaloo when going to Euro 4 then tengok-tengok it’s Euro 4M cos we are so special. And are they bringing back RON 92 before they hit us with a price increase for the new grades of fuel? Cos majority of the population do not drive cars that need RON 95 let alone RON 97. Anyone who thinks a Myvi/Saga/Vios/City needs RON 95 really kena scam.

• Curious on Sep 11, 2025 at 7:22 pm

Can the (soon to be lowered down) RON95 fuel price maintained at RM1.99/l once we switch to Euro5?