KLIA begins vehicle access management system enforcement – 10min allowance, penalties from RM10

Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad (MAHB) has announced that enforcement of the Vehicle Access Management System (VAMS) has commenced, reported Bernama.

This follows the trial of the system that began in September, located at Terminal 1’s Level 5 (for departure drop-offs) and Level 3 (for arrival pick-ups) until November 30, and at Terminal 2 from September 15 until November 30.

the trial of the system was found to have effectively changed driver behaviour, with a reduced number of vehicles exceeding the 10-minute limit at drop-off and pick-up queues, from 50% to 21%, said MAHB.

“Data from the trial shows that kerbside congestion improves when vehicles observe the 10-minute limit. The vast majority of KLIA users complied, and with full enforcement at KLIA Terminal 1 starting today, we are ensuring orderly access so that everyone has a fair chance to use the lanes efficiently,” said MAHB managing director Datuk Mohd Izani Ghani.

Under the system, vehicles are allowed a 10-minute grace period upon entry for drop-offs and pick-ups, with penalties from RM10 to RM100 for overstaying. Entry is permitted with the use of Touch ‘ Go and credit cards.

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mike Tee on Dec 01, 2025 at 11:05 am

Wonderful, now launch it for all airports please!

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 4
  • Sparcov on Dec 01, 2025 at 11:56 am

I think it is important to relocate the VIP lane in KLIA Terminal 1. It is very congested with only that 2 rows. Open up the VIP lane as passenger car drop off and the outer as taxi or ehailing.

Thumb up 8 Thumb down 0
    • Gomorrah on Dec 01, 2025 at 8:49 pm

It really wouldn’t be that hard for VIPs to book the area what. There’s usually a bunch of people organising their lives, this can just be another task for them to sort out. Other times open for the rest lah. It’s not like they are in such a rush for last minute commercial flight booking right. Unless kantoi election or running from MACC I guess.

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0
  • Plain BS on Dec 01, 2025 at 3:38 pm

All these are just chasing away rakyat from traveling and visitors from coming right when next year is VMY. A desperado Gomen trying to be insular doing whatever to save its final days skin.

Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Now Everyone Can Pay For My Delay on Dec 01, 2025 at 4:27 pm

How about we also launch a system where we penalise flights delaying 10 minutes past their initial arrival time? MAHB has a knack of assuming people love hanging around airports for no reason, and certainly not because they are waiting for delayed flights.

Thumb up 8 Thumb down 2
  • 15mins would be perfect! on Dec 01, 2025 at 4:49 pm

10mins abit tight. 15mins would be perfect. As ehailing, sometimes when u reach the departure hall, u need to look for a safe spot to stop while waiting those car leaving. And we need to help customer to unload luggages from boot, double check if anything left in the seat and some “smart” customer only pay when reach destination. We can ask them to prepare early, but there r many sooo stubborn. So hope that MAHB can extend to 15mins. Tq

Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • AhmadX on Dec 01, 2025 at 6:32 pm

LoL… Poke then where it tickles… Not bad at all. Not sure if 10mins is enough for large families… Maybe. But it’s a start against those who overstay their welcome and prevent others from using the drop off

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0