Penang Dept of Environment issued 80 saman to bikes, diesel vehicles in 5 days – emissions and noise

Penang Dept of Environment issued 80 <em>saman</em> to bikes, diesel vehicles in 5 days – emissions and noise

Penang’s Department of Environment (DOE, or Jabatan Alam Sekitar) issued 80 saman to vehicle owners for failing to meet emission standards in Ops Gerak, a five-day operations that started on December 4.

Penang DOE director Badlishah Ahmad said that of the total, 34 compounds were issued to diesel vehicles while 46 were issued to motorcycles. 712 vehicles were inspected in five locations, namely the Sungai Dua southbound toll plaza, Juru northbound toll plaza, Penang Bridge toll plaza, Lebuhraya Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu (Jalan Batu Maung) and the Second Bridge toll plaza.

Badlishah said that they focused on trade and private vehicles, and noise and emissions tests for motorcycles. A total of 38 Notis Arahan Seksyen 48A or retest notices were issued to diesel vehicles, three to petrol vehicles and 53 to motorcycles, Bernama reported.

DOE was taking part in an integrated operations that also involved PDRM, JPJ, AADK (Agensi Antidadah Kebangsaan), Majlis Bandaraya Seberang Perai (MBSP) and Majlis Bandaraya Pulau Pinang (MBPP), assisted by the concessionaires for the two bridges.

Badlishah said that the state’s DOE has carried out 53 operations this year to inspect emissions of ICE vehicles and sound/emissions for motorcycles. Compounds worth RM232,000 and RM30,300 were issued to the respective categories.

Lorries emitting plumes of black smoke, two-stroke kapcais with a high-pitched noise and distinct exhaust smoke, and modified cars with pops and bangs are rampant elsewhere too – all these surely cancels out the positives of Malaysia’s EV push? How about a nationwide crackdown, DOE?

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• KJ Lim on Dec 10, 2025 at 2:20 pm

please do that in KL PJ area. There are many idiots arounds.

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0
  • Ghani on Dec 10, 2025 at 6:43 pm

When Penang drivers go around rushing like cant wait to take a dump and they only take action on noise & emission. That shows how badly the enforcers in Penang are out of tune with reality on the road.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
    • ghani brain use on Dec 17, 2025 at 11:58 am

“rushing around” isnt illegal. as if KL drivers also dont rush around.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Come to Selangor pls. A lot of stupid people modify exhaust revving around apartments at 3am.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • the worst part is daily around 615am they make a loud noise and disturb entire sleeping neighbourhood, oops wait thats not loud vehicles.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1
  • HELLO PENANG on Dec 22, 2025 at 2:00 pm

I bought a bike with an aftermarket exhaust. the prcvious owner told me he sold the existing exhust. so i went passby this OPS and i was found guilty because the noise level is ~100db. the jabatan alam sekitar told me only allowed 95db below. so i went to the dealership and asked about the original exhaust and costed around MYR6000. i hope that the goverment give excuse to the superbikes and the numbers are not that high as the loud exhaust is also a part from the safety feature. many time ive encountered car ‘tak perasan ada moto’ and just change lanes. unless its too loud maybe >105db then it make sense to saman.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0