Statistics have shown that motorcyclists and pillion riders account for the highest number of road accident fatalities in Malaysia each year, making for almost 70% of the total. This makes the kapchai the nation’s deadliest vehicle by far, as The Star reports.
The high fatality rate, which has been climbing since 2023 and 2024, is not surprising, as small-capacity motorcycles, especially those below 150 cc, are often lethal because their delicate structure offers almost no protection during mishaps, according to the Road Safety Council of Malaysia (MKJR). “This leaves riders highly vulnerable to serious injury or fatality,” said council executive member Datuk Suret Singh.
He said statistics show that 34% of fatalities involving smaller bikes occur on federal roads, while 32% happen on state roads, 22% on municipal roads and 12% on expressways.
Given that between 85% and 90% of the almost 16.8 million registered motorcycles in the country are kapchai or small-capacity two-wheelers, with many often capable of speeds beyond 110 kmh, the percentage isn’t likely to drop, with Suret calling for stricter measures to prevent more tragedies.
“Road safety interventions, which focus on commercial and passenger vehicles, should no longer continue ignoring the elephant in the room. Since small-capacity motorcycle riders constitute 70% of deaths, we must consider measures that control their usage and exposure,” he said.
One such measure being suggested is a temporary six-day ban on motorcycles during the festive periods, when roads are heavily used. “Restricting the use of kapchai two days before, during and after a festive season could address this issue. This might seem extreme and unpopular, but lives matter,” he said, adding that riders could carpool or use public transport as an alternative during the temporary ban.
Of course, statistics can also reveal another face to things. As reported last year, a study carried out by the Vehicle Theft and Accident Reduction Council of Malaysia (VTAREC) showed that while the number of motorcycle-related fatalities was 12 times higher than those involving cars, only 13% of accident cases were caused by motorcyclists. The study conducted by the council revealed that 67% of accidents were caused by cars, while 20% were caused by commercial vehicles. Also, the roads are not to be blamed.

most motorcyclist i see on highway are monkeys… only 13%??? LMAO… these data questionable
Either no license or L- licence and mostly are kopi-license winners
Well it is even more Syoking that motorcyclist had one of the lowest traffic summonses as revealed by the authority compared to what you seen on the road daily.
Of course, statistics can also reveal another face to things. As reported last year, a study carried out by the Vehicle Theft and Accident Reduction Council of Malaysia (VTAREC) showed that while the number of motorcycle-related fatalities was 12 times higher than those involving cars, only 13% of accident cases were caused by motorcyclists. The study conducted by the council revealed that 67% of accidents were caused by cars, while 20% were caused by commercial vehicles. Also, the roads are not to be blamed.
There’s the culprit….this para should be on the headline or at the top instead of buried at the end. remind me of fox news….hahahaha
There are lies, damned lies and statistics.
Motorcyclists are not held responsible for the endangerment of themselves and others. They are not accountable for anything.
Motorcyclist runs a red light and hits a car? The car driver will be charged with reckless driving although it’s not the driver’s fault.
Motorcyclist goes against traffic and hits a car? Again, the car driver will be the one charged with reckless driving.
Illegal street racers slam into a car and the rider does? Guess what, it’s the driver that will get charged with reckless driving causing death!
At every single turn, motorcyclists can be total menace on the roads and when they cause injuries to themselves and others, it’s the innocent drivers that will be charged!
Honestly, I would say that the more reckless motorcyclist fatalities on the road, the better. It’s nature’s way of getting rid of the useless pests of society. Let only law-abiding courteous motorcyclists exist on our roads.
Statistically 5000 motorcyclists fatalities in accidents annually reported, up to 10k unreported, adding up to 200,000 over 20 years.. is truly beneficial to road safety that the volume of motorcyclists reduces, imagine if there were that 200,000 still disturbing everyone, kita bersyukur there’s so much less and tomorrow there will even less
wait. 87% of motorcycle related accidents were not their fault but by non-motorcycles, and their suggestion is to ban motorcycles on certain days & curb their usage? the one suggesting must be a special kind “genius” from this same gomen that rewards criminals that trespassed & built illegal temples… apa nak jadi Madani ni? #MalaysiaBoleh #’MadaniPejuangPencerobohBinaKuilHaram
close to 90% of the motorcycles purchased are kapchai, surely kapchai will have the highest accident rate. this is common sense. if 90% of the motorcycles purchased are harley davidson, Harley will have the highest accident rate too? so Harley is not safe?
Enforcement against lawless bikers is a huge letdown.
You can enact a million stricter laws..it means nothing without relentless enforcement.
Just station oneself at any traffic light junction.
B4 the lights turn green,a dozen bikers will speed off.
Especially,those ehailing gig riders.
They r riding their lives into their own graveyards but also cause untold harm to innocent bystanders.
We dont need new legislation.
Just ENFORCE the existing laws.
One of the significant reason for booming numbers of vehicles on the road is because of the JPJ rule to relocate ‘the hodoh’ plate into another vehicle (mostly motorbike) when owner intends to replace it with an interesting plate.
Should have allow the ‘hodoh’ registration number flooting in the system waiting for any interested party instead.
stop spamming your stupid comment everywhere. motorbike with vvip number plate usually is parked at home and not even rode on the road.
I’ve talked with one of the JPJ top brass. He says JPJ is aware of the issue and undergoing process to change it. Just wait and we’ll see who is dumber here. BTW if u are motorcycle dealer then everbody know that u are just thinking money only. That’s why u are buta kayu.
then you are moving the goalpost by talking about unrelated topics. if you have five adult drivers in your family and each needs to use their own indvidiual car, thats a different issue altogether and how is it related to relocating number plate to a motorbike?
The dumbass minister and jesters should enforce traffic rules on those idiot biker or just stfu! Tired of useless politicians and their endless bs.
Because everything is cars fault right? But a wise man once told me, doesn’t matter whose fault if you are the one injured. Time to change the law. Riders are so irresponsible.
Only 13% of accidents caused by motorcycles? That’s hard to believe. Not all riders, but many ignore basic rules — running red lights, weaving dangerously between cars, speeding for no reason, full throttle as possible, acting samseng. We see it every day.
If we truly want fewer accidents, enforcement must be real. More CCTV, stricter action, and consistent penalties. Not just the penalty on license plate and such. The rules already exist — apply them.
With 16.8 million motorcycle registered on the road.. how many actually fit for use on the road? Is it time to update the information and to remove those unfit motorcycle from the road. 16.8milluon is already 50% of msia population. Not logical…
just change the rules and revise current ruling that motorcycle insurance can be held liable if motorcyclist at fault or driving recklessly. the law is lopsided such that its always the drivers fault whenst in most cases, its lane spliting, driving against traffic, speeding, and running red lights. not to mention, tonnes and tonnes of physical damage to cars where motorcyclist just continue driving, dents, scratches, broken side mirrors, the list goes on.
i can comfortably say the majority of car drivers really hate these motorcyclist which causes our NCD gone eventho we as car drivers obey every single law !
Yes totally agreed , the current law doesnt applicable anymore, most motorcyclists drive recklessly and once got accident even not at the fault of the car driver, police still summonsed the car driver and its totally unfair, why they are so protected, should be fair to other road users who adhere to the JPJ laws, should fine heavily on the motorcyclist those who failed to present their valid licenses, ( as current practice the most they only got fined RM300 for no valid licenses and lepas tangan and all the responsibilities towards the innocent car driver)