Suzuki SX4 hatchback spotted in Malaysia

[ UPDATE: The Suzuki SX4 1.6 automatic has been launched in Malaysia! Click here for more details, specifications, photos and most importantly PRICES! ]

Reader Akmal spotted this little hatchback at the JPJ Putrajaya building. Although the photo is blur – probably as a result of a phone with no autofocus – from the rear you can make out that this is a Suzuki SX4 hatchback, which probably means we will be getting a fourth Suzuki model in Malaysia soon. The SX4 will be joining the existing ranks of the Swift, Grand Vitara and the APV.

Suzuki Malaysia is lacking a sedan model so yet another hatchback seems redundant, but they could be planning to introduce both sedan and hatchback models of the Suzuki SX4 like what Tan Chong has done with the Nissan Latio. The Suzuki SX4 has also been rebadged by Fiat as the Fiat Sedici.

The Suzuki SX4 is a little B-segment hatchback and can be equipped with offroader styling, much like the Volkswagen CrossPolo. It can be equipped with all-wheel-drive. Read more on the SX4 in the related links below:

2007 Suzuki SX4
Suzuki SX4 Sedan
Suzuki SX4-based sedan to be unveiled at Geneva
Suzuki SX4 WRC Concept
Suzuki SX4 sedan photos unveiled ahead of Geneva
Suzuki SX4 sedan unveiled
2006 Fiat Sedici

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 4:47 am

pointless to hav 4wheel drive in a small engine car….suzuki should bring sting different ….

• longdongsilver (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 7:01 am

Putrajaya? No number plates? Looks like they are visiting JPJ’s Bahagian Teknik for Type Approval submission, so they must have driven over on trade plates to let Ir. Mohd. Dalib (the technical director who you hear on the radio sometimes) have a walkaround and check chassis and engine number locations, etc.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 9:38 am

More the merrier!

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 11:18 am

Yeah, I saw one too, yesterday, somewhere near the UNITEN . Maybe the same car, from Putrajaya heading to Kajang.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 11:51 am

In Japan even small engine also got 4-wheel drive.. The basic Mira 660cc a.k.a Kancil also got 4-wheel drive, even Lancer (Wira) 1.5L also got 4WD. Coz in Japan, they got snow and need better control on 4-wheels…

If this in 4wd also no problem, coz it may show out in a different category.. I support 4wd more to FWD even cost a little bit of FC.

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 2:17 pm

yo..i’ve saw dis im miri as a brunei car…

• transformer (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 3:02 pm

not that interesting anymore… thanks Suzuki!

• haroldz (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 3:16 pm

ya ya
    saw a few in miri brunei-registered one…
    will be cheaper than latio hatchback/ spectra5/ matrik?
    maybe price around rm 75-85k
    hopefully, nx yr national budget will introduce lower tax for spare parts

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 8:29 pm

I think that SX-4 should be a nice car. Hope the price will not be too expensive.

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 1:31 am

I thought we’ve established that Malaysians love sedans…

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 8:44 am

Dear mzfnd,

Correction. Malaysians PREFER to BUY sedans, because of overall practicality you get by paying such a high price. Hence, Malaysian LOVE to have expensive cars as it makes public statement. This is a fact and I do not have anything against my country. Don’t twist my point and make it into an endless debate.

Regards

• mild7 (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 8:42 pm

oh… this car is everywhere at brunei here!!! west malaysia dun hv????? only now been spot??????? the car is launch more than 6-8mths overhere!!!!!

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 11:13 pm

Dear razor_clawzz,
    I was referring to the luurve we’ve seen in the Persona discussions as oppose to Gen2’s. Hence, my statement. But, hey, to some extent we are both correct. So, thanks.

..and I sense there’s a lot of Mirians around here.

• cars2ry (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 3:26 pm

i have seen that car on road somewhere in cheras with kl plat no…..
    but not sure if that suzuki used body part only or it is original seem like that pic….confirm….100%