Proton BLM Spyshots – a recap

The new Proton BLM which will replace the age old Proton Saga is expected to be launched sometime in mid January 2008, with indicative pricing expected to be somewhere in the RM30,000 range, with perhaps a basic “BLM Lite” model that dips just under the RM30,000 mark.

The new car is based off the Proton Savvy platform but its wheelbase may and most probably will be extended to allow for greater interior room. Here is a list of spyshots of the car spotted on public roads:

• New Proton BLM sighted with minimal disguise on the road!HOT! LATEST SPYSHOT: A Proton BLM without any disguise except for its Proton badges removed has been snapped on the road – the strange thing about this particular car is it had a proper registration plate and even a road tax sticker instead of carrying trade plates!
  • Black and white Proton BLM spyshot – This post shows the Proton BLM from a side view. For the first time the car has also been spotted without steel wheels, so you can see an attractive 7-spoke alloy wheel design.
  • New Proton BLM Spyshot – The car in these shots are covered up quite heavily with tape but you can see the shape of the headlamps which seem quite Toyota Altezza-like, as well as the sporty front bumper design (looks rather like a BMW M Sport bumper actually) which feature a prominent lower air intake. The car is a shade of green, so now we know one of the colour options.
  • Another rear shot of the Proton BLM – This post is one of the first few spyshots of the Proton BLM. This angle makes it look very much like a sedan version of the Proton Savvy, but not much detail is revealed.
  • Clearer Proton BLM Side Profile Spyshots – These nice shots of a white BLM were snapped by a Lensa Malaysia photography forum member with a rather good camera, so the shots turned out pretty clear.
  • Proton BLM Artist’s Impression by MaruPAULTAN.ORG Forumer Maru whipped up these 2D impressions of a Proton BLM, who based it on a Proton Savvy but modified it to look like a 3-box sedan.
  • Is this the new Proton BLM? – This is the very first sighting of the Proton BLM on this blog – not much detail can be seen in this photo except the fact that the car is white in colour and the rear tail lamps seem to be detailed with a mix of crystal-like red and white.

For those who have sent in photos of the Proton BLM fully undisguised, I have received them and I appreciate the kindness but unfortunately I am unable to post them up.

In these times where many parties take legal action against websites it is unsafe to publish the photos because the undisguised car was snapped inside a private building and not on public roads.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tech.titan (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 5:26 pm

will this new BLM affect persona sales?
    planning to buy persona but i think it’s worth to wait and have a look at BLM (or persona CPS + ViM? )

paul any leaked info on the BLM specs?

• Tracks (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 5:31 pm

Can’t wait to see what Proton had in-store for us next year especially with the release of BLM. Keeping my fingers crossed though as Proton had a history of disappointing the rakyat.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 5:35 pm

blm is not bad, sedately styled, punchy engine i belive,
    no cartoo look like the (below ,sutra), have some degree of comfort although without the handling character of a satria neo, (of course its different)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 5:42 pm

any guesses on the engine? i think its gona be a toss between the 1.3 campro or 1.2 savvy/renault engine, with the former being the more likely…

hope they have a manual version, complete with twin airbars and ABS, priced at under RM43k… now that, will be a good buy!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 6:28 pm

If this car basic variant price below RM 30K. then it is a big joke for Proton having Merdeka Sales for aging Iswara at RM 26,999.00. Those who bought it not only have to “contend” with the car, but expected the 2nd hand value “free fall” once this BLM is in the market!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 6:29 pm

Anyway, looking at the spyshot including those in studio “bare all”. The exterior styling is decent and acceptable.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 6:30 pm

One more point, I believe it will affect other model 2nd hand value as well, MyVi and Viva may include.

• mdabdullah (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 6:42 pm

i’m new.. how to send picture to paul… is there any body can help..

• AmiR (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 6:55 pm

my dad told me he saw blm being test drive at 150 km/h ++ in the highway as he wasz on the way to KL…..

naza, perodua,toyota vios, honda city all going to be kena “bungkus” oredi…xD

go for proton….cheap n best..

• transformer (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 7:26 pm

WRONG!

Good things doesn’t comes Cheap!!!

when u crashed, u will be “sardin-in-a-can” !
    so nothing is cheap! cheap is cheap! u will find many things aren’t there that supposed to be… So its time to wake up! Don’t think that P1 sell cheap car! There aren’t cheap anyway(as other makes are being taxed very high!)

• crully (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 7:29 pm

Saw 2 of em last thursday.. Near LCC-T. They were quick. One black one and a White one.. Still under heavy disguise. Easily doing 160-170kph.. My car barely kept up with them. And one of them was an automatic from the engine note while shifting. It was almost constant. But, there was some crosswinds that time and I see that they are susceptible to them as they were both wobbling at that kind of speed. Could be due to the tall hatchback derived design. Should be a campro engine inside it. I drive a savvy back home, and they just don’t accelerate as quick as the proton BLM. The question is, they were accelerating to 100+ in merely seconds, so which campro engine could it be?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 7:47 pm

I promised to myself no more potong in the rest of my life but exception may be granted for potong pre-bungkus sale. I am hoping to get my wife an Iswara for market-going purpose. RM5000 a piece, maybe?

• s60t (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 7:47 pm

The target buyers for proton BLM are not the same as those in the market for the toyota vios or honda city so I don’t think they will “bungkus”.In fact I expect they will still continue to do very well as the reliability and resale value of the toyota and honda are proven. It doesnt mean that you spend less when you buy a cheaper car. I bought a proton satria in 1996 for RM 40K and sold it for 28K in 1998,lost much more than if I had bought a toyota.

• kington (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 7:50 pm

I’m not saing that Proton will not be better than Perodua but given the current circumstances and the distance these 2 have travelled, Perodua is THE ONE now with a headstart. Though Proton started almost a decade earlier and with even more impressive sales figures thanks to this country’s policies, Proton seemed to have throen everything down the drain with many flawed investments and lack of reserach & development to move together with the market. I mean, c’mon, you can’t expect Malaysians to constantly buy Proton Wiras and Iswaras for the rest of their lives right? This is not North Korea with a closed door.

This BLM, serving as the base model alongside the Savvy, will somewhat continue to attack Perodua’s range of cars, especially the Viva. However, one must not jump to a silly conclusion of saying that market leaders like the Vios, City and MyVi will be doomed. If so you insist, why does Perodua continue to sell the Myvi by the bucketloads even though the Persona is such a good deal?

And still, the Viva is the 2nd best selling national car behind the MyVi, which is not hard to believe as i’m beginning to see more of these Vivas around the streets of KL, Melaka and Penang.

Of course, for mortals like us, models like the BLM, Myvi, Viva and Persona will continue to make us rub our hands in glee thanks to its affordability but the extent of what people treasure more in theor investments is another story.

For the time being, Proton does seem to be making some progress but since such investments are not for me juggle with on a yearly basis, i guess i’m willing to pay more for something more proven since my experience in my Wira left felt shortchanged…. heavily.

• s60t (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 7:57 pm

Lots of cars can reach 160K if you floor the accelerator and have enough distance. But how stable is the car at that speed? What’s worrying is having modifed kancils literally flying on the highways.A car that’s made to withstand 250kmh is rock solid at 160kmh whereas a car that’s made for 160kmh will feel like it’s at breaking point at 160kmh.I had a wira 1.5 auto (3 speed gearbox) which could touch 160 but with the revs at >5000rpm!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 8:46 pm

BLM at 160 km/h. Is it a prelude to Ah Beng speed car?

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 9:24 pm

The BLM is gonna be an everyday bread and butter car. Fuel efficiency at 70km/h will probably be more important than a high top speed.

It’s interesting to see how it would look like.

PT… post the pics on some anonymous pic site under a pseudonym then go to a CC and login to this blog using an anonymous hotmail/gmail to post the link and there you go you are no longer legally liable >:-)

• mofo (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 9:33 pm

I would think the “success” of BLM depends on the price. However i don’t expect this would be cheap as Paul mention as above [within RM30k range]. This might be direct competitive with ViVa instead which capped 660cc at 28k to 1kcc @ 44k. On business view, they don’t have to go too far to lower the profit margin just for sake as Iswara Replacement model.

Premium model might be capped around 40k-43k to avoid direct compete with Persona.
    Basic/Medium Line maybe around 35k-39k.

If these goes on, high possibilities than existing Iswara will still in production for the lower end market avoid to lose their existing buyers. In terms of technical, P1 is ahead of their rival but brand would be another story. Anyway just my 2 cents. Cheers

• Vengeance (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 11:05 pm

any1 can send me the pics without disguise? my email is [email protected]
    thanks!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 12:22 am

I’d like to see a 1.6L in it. Korean-Lotus (LG CNS + Lotus). What if they take this ‘My first Lotus’ concept further? Would be nice to see BLM GTi.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 12:28 am

i saw two today . wat a coincidence!

right infront of projet station,next to carefour wangsa maju

the entire front and rear wer covered….bt it looks tall in real life…sting like the nissan latio….

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 12:39 am

Thanks Paul, the undisguised car is at Lyn for people to see anyway:P

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 1:59 am

I thought the BLM engine will be 1.3L campro + VIM…

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 3:05 am

3 in the morning now, aargh

according to bernama proton sells more than 1000 proton during thai show,
    savvy is the hottest, other model shape, handling and engine wise,

……..

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 7:36 am

firstly i hope they will not give the blm silly names. second, sales will depend on the practicality, car looks and the price. 3rd, clearly on the advertisement, proton needs to highlight if the car is a slow fuel sipper(if it is one). 4 good choice of colour.

• rexis (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:28 am

Okay, lets see, based on Savvy platform? So we can expect the price is somewhere between savvy and persona. So, whats the likelihood that we will get an AMT BLM? :D…..

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:58 am

Whoa! nice & interesting topic!
    Proton, pls hurry up! while the public can’t wait..
    Er SZA, no sneak preview for BLM?

• abe (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:22 am

where many parties take legal action against websites it is unsafe to publish the photos because the undisguised car was snapped inside a private building and not on public roads.

>>>>>>>>
    waa.. forgot to read this term. post already.

• umo (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:35 am

sebenarnya, saya dh naik keta ni..
    mmg luas kat dlm..
    nampak je kecik..
    audio, dari clarion..
    meter, siemens vdo..
    enjin campro 1.3..
    enjin ni kitorang panggil enjin IAFM..
    ada sesuatu yg istimewa kat enjin ni..
    rasai lah sendiri nnt,
    saya dh try dh..

keta ni kalu 32000..
    mmg dh bole beli sgt dh..
    terlampau murah dh tu..

• umo (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:51 am

kete BLM pakai enjin campro baekk pnya ni bang..
    mmg utk jimatkan minyak..
    campro sekarang ada 3 jenis..
    campro biasa = minyak cam air paip..
    campro CPs = minyak lbh kurang jer ngan campro biasa..
    campro iafm = mmg jimat nak mampos!!1

• fionac (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:57 am

I heard from a source who works on the car, that it’s gonna be launched 17 January 2007. As well as being priced around RM35k.

I generally think that the REAR look of the car looks like a mini merc kompressor. slightly bulky. At least I saw the white version of it. the Front.. looks like any other proton neo/gen2.

havne’t actually seen it on the road.. so no reviews on the performance.

But for that price. it’s very cheap. Milo tin quality?? have no idea.

• Wind_chaos (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 12:09 pm

can’t wait to see proton’s new birth..can anybody send any new proton BLM picture thru my e mail? [email protected]

• abe (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 1:55 pm

to PT , can you x plain why are you blocking my prev post.

i did not write any link at my prev post.

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 3:08 pm

No hurrys…wait for next January..in the showrooms…is a Saga replacement..(yawn)…next please..

• waimak (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 3:20 pm

I think the success of Persona is attributed by the right pricing and the model itself (a sedan). No doubt Proton is working on the quality but then, that’s quite hard to justify by layman. BLM should at least follow the same Persona’s formula, be it the launching, the pricing, the model and most definitly for me, the technology.

Judging a car solely by its punchy engine and the speed (150 km/h, 170 km/h..) is rather childish as I think not everybody is a racerboy or racer wannabe. A good car come with a package and I think BLM should be a value for money.

I’m waiting for the sneak preview/ teaser/ mini website.

• abtm (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:02 pm

all this hype for what should eventually turn up to look like a dacia logan like car…

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:38 pm

waimak,
    any 16 valve engine, if having a linear torque, (lower value at early stage) is called peaky,

any 16 valve engine with variable intake, tend to have flatter torque is called punchy,

the later is whats under the hood of BLM,
    this is good for short shifting driving style of mature driver, where torque is availabe,
    and nothing is wrong to rev high spirited drive ocationally as it is a campro engine normal character,

so it suits everybody,

have u ever drive a volvo 850, if u ever drive one u ll be able to tell the flexibility of the engine, that not even the eldest like it younger driver also love it,

• BW (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:42 pm

i think paul, your talking about the photos i sent haha… i understand that… better don post it.. kena tangkap habis lo lol

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 8:00 pm

umo said,
    December 12, 2007 @ 11:51 am

kete BLM pakai enjin campro baekk pnya ni bang..
    mmg utk jimatkan minyak..
    campro sekarang ada 3 jenis..
    campro biasa = minyak cam air paip..
    campro CPs = minyak lbh kurang jer ngan campro biasa..
    campro iafm = mmg jimat nak mampos!!1
    ——————–
    umo,
    cps engine mana boleh sama f consumption,
    ill be some margine of improvement since midrange of the cps is not as lethargic,

anyway
    iafm if incombination with cps — its an alfa,

• crully (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 8:19 pm

I don’t think the engine will be peaky like the Gen-2 or Satria Neo’s engine. It pulled cleanly and kept pulling away. Not like the normal CAMPRO way of accelerating, which is asthmatic until u get to 5000rpm. They accelerate well, which means proton have (i hope) got rid of the sporty feeling but peaky and substantially underwhelming power delivery of the campro engine. But then again, this will be good for FC as u don’t need to shift down too often to be in the powerband of the engine. Even better if they made this BLM about the same weight as the Savvy. One of the reasons why the savvy did so well in FC test runs was because it was light, not sporty. If the car can do 170kph, it just proves it does 170kph, you won’t know what kind of revs it needs to do that 170kph. Who knows? 5000+, 6000+ rpms? It’s mad to rev it that way. This is a car for the masses. And the masses don’t drive around like as if the devil is chasing them. I can bet this car is gonna give the Savvy’s record FC challenge a beating.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 8:44 pm

Malaysian nowadays are kaya, 32k dah kata terlampau murah.

Too bad, many are still on 9-year 100% loan!

• waimak (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:16 am

Agree with you Proton GL as that’s CamPro’s character. I drive a manual. Yes nothing is wrong to hit high spirited drive ocationally but not everybody has the same way of driving. I personally get irritated with city driving and ‘hi-rev oriented’ engine/ driving is not the way of going at it, but on a long drive, rather straight line-highway like, campro is the best. I have chased a non-proton car with campro.

A good car is made up of several key components and I’m saying to judge a car solely by its speed (and can ‘tapau’ this and that) is rather immature.

• feeze26 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:26 am

I can’t wait this BLM… has made sum calculation.. hehehe..
    but did’t like SA attitude… just wat dunno when customers wearing t-shirt..

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:33 pm

savvy has the look,
    it cheerful car but yet solid as a whole,
    i saw a black standard savvy without rear spoiler with white roof paint job, very cheerful and classy indeed,

good thing is white roof is good for heatwave reflection, good thinking for that savvy owner stylish as well,

(silver kelisa with black roof ,good for retaining heat..eem in malaysia ,,we are not in europe)

• szw (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:19 pm

where to see da real fotos ?

• waimak (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 10:59 am

White BLM hmm.. I think its gonna be a hit! By the way, what is its name? Saga?