Proton Perdana Replacement Model Artist’s Impression based on Mitsubishi Galant

Proton Perdana Replacement

I was thinking the other day about how the Proton Perdana V6 and the Proton Arena are pretty much the only Proton cars from the old generation still on sale now, with the old Saga having being replaced recently by a second generation model that has been rather well accepted by the public.

Before the Volkswagen-Proton talks collapsed, many have been speculating that the next generation Proton Perdana replacement nodel could be a badge engineered Volkswagen Passat. There were many good artist’s impressions of a Proton-badged Volkswagen, mostly based on the long wheel base Skoda Superb.

Now that that deal is off, we will have to look at the current Mitsubishi Galant/Mitsubishi 380 to see what the new Proton Perdana could end up like, as developing a Perdana on Proton’s own is definitely not very financially viable. Proton previously entered into a technical partnership agreement with Mitsubishi, but we have not really seen any obvious results from that yet, as it looks like it is still at exploratory stages.

So yes, getting to the point of this post, I asked Theophilus Chin if he could whip up a second generation Proton Perdana replacement for us to admire and imagine. It’s basically a Mitsubishi Galant/Mitsubishi 380 with styling derived from the 2nd generation Proton Saga. Do you like it? A Proton Perdana based on the Mitsubishi Galant could come with a 2.4 litre inline-4 engine, probably the 4G69 which makes 160hp at 5,500rpm and has a maximum torque of 212Nm at 4,000rpm

If you’re interested in taking a trip back to the past, read the posts below back from 2005, and 2006 when Proton was still in talks with foreign partners: mainly PSA Peugeot Citroen, Volkswagen and a bit of Mitsubishi.

Perdana Replacement Model to be a Volkswagen Passat? – 27th June 2005
Perdana Replacement Model photoshop based on Skoda Superb – 17th July 2005
Mitsubishi 380 powered by a 3.8 litre V6 – 4th February 2006
Mitsubishi 380 to be exported to Malaysia – 9th March 2006
Perdana Replacement Model due in April 2007 – 27th June 2006
Perdana Replacement Model to get inline-4 engine – 17th July 2006
Perdana Replacement Model study still underway – 1st August 2006

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gunblade (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:21 am

Nice, but it really looks like Proton Saga Sedan. although Saga is already a sedan. But it is still an interesting idea.

• White Jack (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:26 am

A bigger brother of Saga..

Looooks good to me. I guess a black color one will look great. Hopefully can be priced below RM120K for the Perdana 2.4

• hidz7 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:29 am

wow..looks good…hopefully the replacement model for perdana will look like this…if not better..btw good jod…

• azrai (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:44 am

To Saga-ish look to me. This can affect the ‘grade’ and ‘class’ of the car itself which should be positioned the highest in Proton line-up. The grill can be maintained actually but not the headlamp and tailgate. Just like Lexus look like Toyota, vice-versa. Maybe theophilis can modified the ’08 Accord headlamp to suit the front portion of the car. The rear can hamp additional lamp at the bonnet like BMW-3 series or Altezza. The chop look really clean indeed. Good job although I do hope the new Perdana will not look like this.

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:45 am

Pretty good photoshop by Teophilus as usual :D
    But I guess the Perdana should have some detailing to differenciate it from the Saga (I like the touches on the tail) to make it look more ‘luxurious’ (the current one doesn’t look dat expensive). Perhaps a few variations, mr Teophilus? heehee (hint: projector headlamps or hid & grille) :)

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 8:13 am

Theophilus…..From the picture …Are you serious name that car “Proton Pendera”? Or you just being sarcastic? LOL. The front design not bold enough to show character of a perdana. To me it should bit muscular and look “don’t mess up with me” a bit. just my opinion.

• nightReader (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 8:13 am

Salam peace! (~_^)v

I guest, Proton will not design Perdana Replacement so simple like new saga. It must be more beautiful design better than Persona design. The headlamp must have tiger eye concept.

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 8:16 am

Agree that is a good photoshop job.. but hope new perdana will not look alike this.
    As gunblade said, is too alike the new saga.. perdana as the top model in the range of Proton, it should look more “special”.

• abtm (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 8:34 am

Did u know that Mitsubishi Australia announced that they are shutting down their Mitsu 380 factory in Adelaide due to low sales figure? That car is shit even with a 3.8 litre engine, a 2.4 will make you feel even hopeless- no thanks!

• mohdjiman (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 8:47 am

Good effort.At least can give some ideas to the proton designers to design Perdana Replacement. Good job!! :)

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 9:29 am

Powered by CamPro? 2.0L or 1.6L? Is proton still with Mitsu on new models? I tot they oledi end the contract?

• cacing (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 9:39 am

Tough luck for the 380. Mitsubishi Australia announced yesterday they gonna “gulung tikar” March 31st. The car was selling 1/3 bellow break even point for commercial operations and Mitsu Japan bailed the plant out twice.

Maybe Proton might have learned the bail out culture from Mitsu!

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 9:44 am

Mitsubishi just announced yesterday that their 380 assembly plant in Australia was going to be shut down.

Cheap parts perhaps?

Anyway, those cars with huge 4L engines cant sell even in Aus where fuel is relatively cheaper (due to higher wages) than in Malaysia.

Dont think it would be feasable over here. It’s simply too big.

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 9:50 am

abtm said,
    February 6, 2008 @ 8:34 am
    Did u know that Mitsubishi Australia announced that they are shutting down their Mitsu 380 factory in Adelaide due to low sales figure? That car is shit even with a 3.8 litre engine, a 2.4 will make you feel even hopeless- no thanks!

It isnt too bad a car actually. But people are simply growing more fuel conscious and sales are going to the 2.0L sedans like the New Lancer, Mazda3, and Civic.

The 2.4L engine would give it similar performance to the current Perdana (roughly the same power to weight ratio). The current Perdana v6 is a bit underpowered.

Holden makes 4L Commodores, and they are selling them in big numbers!… to the government. The Aust govt protects the local car industry by replacing it’s entire govt fleet of holdens roughly every two years!

• petulance (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 9:53 am

ezralimm said,

February 6, 2008 @ 9:44 am

Anyway, those cars with huge 4L engines cant sell even in Aus where fuel is relatively cheaper (due to higher wages) than in Malaysia.

Mitsu were always up against a challenge with Holden and Ford in Oz for a share of the 6 cylinder family sedan market. They couldn’t sell enough cars and this is the result. Even Holden and Ford have suffered drops in sales of their 6 cylinder cars as buyers are moving towards 4WDs/SUVs and medium sized cars (Subaru Liberty, Mazda 6, etc)

This quote is from the aus.cars newsgroup

“There was talk of a “deal” between Mitsubishi Motors Australia Limited and Proton (I think) where the 380 would be built at Tonsley Park and presumably badged as some form of Proton and then shipped overseas, but that deal fell through. Bad news when even Proton doesn’t want the thing :) “

• xsi (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 10:02 am

Looks like Saga but i does definitely look good, it does look luxurious in some sense. Wont mind buying it when i am old enuff, for it. :)

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 10:09 am

I agree, perhaps I should elaborate abit..

The only reason why Holden is surviving while Mitsu had to close manafacturing operations is because the government is protecting it by buying heaps of their large cars.

Top cars (sales figures) bought by australian private citizens: corolla, mazda3, yaris/belta/echo, getz, civic.

The top selling car in australia? The 4L Holden Commodore, a large sedan.

read further: Myth Busted, Aust’s Fav Car http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.aspx?ArticleID=19729

I think Eco is the way to go. Go green. Drop the Perdana, redo the waja properly into a well powered 2.0L sedan with the FC numbers to win over the crowd.

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 10:10 am

GOOD TRY BUT WILL PROTON HIRE THEO FOR THE JOB? I HOPE PROTON CAN LISTEN AND LISTEN TO THE MARKET. LOOK AT SAGA, THEY LISTEN THEY PROFIT. BUT IF THEY LISTEN CAREFULLY LIKE PRODUA MAKING THE MYVI SE THEY WILL BE MILLIONAIRE!

INJECT SOME SPORTINESS AND WALLLA MONE MONEY

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 10:54 am

If you ask me, it was a mistake making the Persona look like the Gen2. And if they make the Perdana look like the Saga, they are seriously stupid! Seeing as how Saga is low-end model and Perdana is supposed to be luxury model, they cant make it looks the same like that (well, the rear atleast looks identical to the Saga).

• abtm (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:05 am

ezralimm said,
    February 6, 2008 @ 9:50 am

abtm said,

It isnt too bad a car actually. But people are simply growing more fuel conscious and sales are going to the 2.0L sedans like the New Lancer, Mazda3, and Civic.

The 2.4L engine would give it similar performance to the current Perdana (roughly the same power to weight ratio). The current Perdana v6 is a bit underpowered.

Holden makes 4L Commodores, and they are selling them in big numbers!… to the government. The Aust govt protects the local car industry by replacing it’s entire govt fleet of holdens roughly every two years!

—————————————————————-

well, u can’t argue that the Aussie govt buys Holden and Fords, but i’ve seen govt badged magnas and 380s as well- also, how many % of the sales of a commodore goes to the govt? i’d say

• abtm (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:06 am
  • wanwnp (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:15 am

hahaa… pandai betul sapa yang edit ni..
    tapi takkanlah perdana macam ni sayang…!

lampu belakang lampu depan copy SAGA… hahaha..
    bumper depan pun x sesuai untuk kereta RM100k

• ynnad (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:28 am

Mitsu 380 very suey le…

fix the PV6 gearbox for good (by giving a 5 yr warranty) and bump up the CC by 20% and they can continue to facelift the PV6 for another 5 yrs hehehehe

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:34 am

nice lor but i prefer something like lancer…. To Paul Gong Xi Fa Cai may this year of rat bring u happiness and luck to all friend here gong xi fa cai and happy holiday……………………………

• azam (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:47 am

seriuosly…..this new mitsubishi gallant….very ugly

• pengawas (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:53 am

almattitude_v1 said,
    February 6, 2008 @ 10:54 am

If you ask me, it was a mistake making the Persona look like the Gen2. And if they make the Perdana look like the Saga, they are seriously stupid! Seeing as how Saga is low-end model and Perdana is supposed to be luxury model, they cant make it looks the same like that (well, the rear atleast looks identical to the Saga).
    ————————–
    – why you so negative… this picture is only photoshop….
    for paul… happy chinese new year…

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:19 pm

if the new saga look like this n maintain it’s current price..they would hv had maybe 70k bookings by now…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Yup, i think Perdana should not look like SAGA. Coz Perdana should be more Premier then SAGA in term of design both interior & exterior or ppl think it is just a big brother. I think the lights should put like Bi-Xenon lights and rear lights design change a bit. The whole car is not bad, but i think if Proton really want to save cost, turbocharge or supercharge the 1.6L campro and put in like VW did to their Golf. U can see the Toyota 4A-GZE 1.6L supercharge engine manage to pump 170hp 6400rpm wif 21.0kg/cm or torque at 4400rpm. This number almost match the 2.4L 4g69 output and besides that i bet the FC and road tax will even cheaper then the mitsu engine.

http://www.club4ag.com/faq%20and%20tech_pages/4A-GZE_specs.htm

This is just my idea, for sure i am supporting force induction system which save a lot of money and cost. If can upgrade the engine to 1.8L supercharge use like in the Elise SC is also a good choice.

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Proton has dropped the plan to rebadge the Mitsu A380. Currently, there is no plans for a perdana replacement. Syed Zainal’s current focus is on the products which got the mass appeal to the public.

1-2 years after the launch of MPV, Proton may come up with a Lancer-sized competitor, probably the Waja replacement. Maybe they’ll produce a long wheelbase version and brand it as the Perdana.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:40 pm

So it this mean that the old Perdana will be on our roads another 20 years like old SAGA did last time? OMG…

• msian (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:42 pm

http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/Proton_Cars

paul….visit this website dude..sum idiot is talkin crap bout you and your website…….

• szw (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:51 pm

odd…

• Celicazz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:09 pm

I think that, they should replace the Waja with a larger car for the premium category, then it should be replacing Perdana as well…

Just a car that fits 1.6 – 1.8 liter segment

no need for a Perdana replacement yet, may be they can have a CBU rebadging instead

focusing on current models and an MPV should be wise.

• Celicazz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:23 pm

http://www.imagesgratis.com/index.php?page=view&id=2e16d2303&name=pERDANA eVO.JPG

just a past time photo shopping

mixing Neo’s styling with Mitsu 380

• Celicazz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:32 pm

… and the price should be around rm 80 – 100k

• Celicazz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:35 pm

http://www.imagesgratis.com/index.php?page=view&id=2e16d2303&name=pERDANA eVO.JPG

my version of Perdana replacement… post it if you want…

Neo’s styling together will Jag’s slots upfront

the chromes is not finished yet…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:50 pm

hi… if you changed the front and rear lamp design… fit with the up-coming ‘new’ engine currently being developed by Proton to replace the Campro… you might have here the next Waja… which I think will suit better than a Perdana.

And guys… this is just an artist impression… not the real thing… keep that in mind… at least respect someone else opinion and artistic thought… don’t simply give comments that might be hurtful to others…

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:11 pm

currently we are working on our first MPV, design freeze end of this month, it will be launched around early next year, after that we will be focused on GXR or Waja replacement……….

• petulance (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:11 pm

msian said,

February 6, 2008 @ 12:42 pm

——————————————————–

That link is a classic!!! Great piss take!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:21 pm

Can someone, or Paul, please do a feature on “Car Chopping” or “Artist Impression”. Seriously, why some people just don’t see what’s real, or what’s imagined?

Again, the word “ugly”. It’s not hurting me, but how does one define ugly? Is, and I mean IF, this “Pendera” is ugly, what is Ssangyong? Sutera? Ria? Are they then FUGLY? Guess it’s good I name the car Pendera, to some’s eyes

Answering some questions…

1. High end and low end must not have styling too similarr? Has anyone seen how closely the VW Phaeton (flagship) and the Latin America VW Fox (baseline) look a like?

2. A car costing more than RM100k should not have a Saga-like grille? Do Rover, VW and Audi cost less than RM100k in where you live? Even in Langkawi?

Proton’s range should consist of the following:
    1. Savvy – City car; Kia Picanto and Chevrolet Matiz category.
    2. Saga Aeroback and Satria Neo – 5-door and 3-door supermini; Jazz and Swift categoty.
    3. Saga – City and Vios category
    4. Persona and Gen.2 – Civic and Golf category; rename the Gen.2 as Persona Aeroback better.
    5. (Midi) MPV – sharing floorplan with Persona, 7-seater, Citra category.
    6. Perdana/Waja replacement – uses Chancellor platform, sized like Camry and Accord, 2.0 and 2.4 engines.

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:33 pm

I SAY DONT TAKE IT TOO PERSONAL THEO. ITS MALAYSIAN CULTURE TOO CRITISIZE. THEY ALL JUST LIKE TO BRAG AND TALK ONLY. FROM THE PM TO THE POSTMAN MALAYSIAN LIKE TO CRITIC AND CONDEMN !

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:34 pm

BUT YOUR CLASSIFING IS GOOD. I CAN TAKE IT AS MY PANDUAN FOR BUYING A NEW CAR.

• waimak (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:41 pm

thank u paul for posting sthing on P1 Perdana. Great work by Theo, too.

As most car makers are improving their product quality and making them higher in standard, class, catagory, Perdana or Waja replacement shud be at least be at par with the rest if not better. Waja and perdana shud be more premium by now.

Great design is a process. It wud b great if P1 knows where their product design is heading. Im sure they do. Then they can wow customers at every model launch.

Talking abt MPV, i think P1 shud’nt stop there. AP1 can go ahead with producing pick up truck, 7 seater coach, lorry, bus and etc. After all, p1 is in auto industry.

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:54 pm

nice thiking for new perdana … but very boring design … this 95% copy from SaGa lamp n bumper … how about copy the lamp of camry …persona is the replacement of wira ??

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:59 pm

No need lah perdana replacemnet yet. Some Malaysian still afforadable to buy Camry,Accord (not me lah) let other brand fill that class for time being.

Focus on MPV is good, coz i dont think MPV only for famly , also could use in public transport,airport limo i guess and commercial. Then P1 could use political power to ask Gov sector to use their MPV.Then when soo many P1 MPV in country, cost will be effective. With gud trackrecord in local, Then P1 could approach other Gov to use this MPV in commercial sector or public transport.

So u might thing this MPV will be like stream or wish. But i think it gonna be like airport limo MPV. Coz i think Zainal always go for mass market, instead of luxury. i might be wrong, but i only give my comment.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 3:00 pm

Design wise, Teophilus followed Saga language for the 2.0V6. There are possibilities of the larger, more luxurious version of Persona, or even Savvy based design. That, coupled with Campro CPS-IAFM-VIM twin clutch 2.0V6 or 2.4TDi, and we might just have a winner, folks.

And when we send it to china and thailand, it’ll sell like hot banana fritters, too.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 3:07 pm

Is this really gonna happen?

• ront (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 3:42 pm

pendera? torturer??

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 3:44 pm

i prefer more on Maru Waja photoshopped in forum.
    it’s much better far from this.. (something look luxury with bit ford mustang look).

Enlarge the Waja, re-engineer the platform.. made it luxury. same as Toyota Camry. Try compare camry in 90’s vs 2000’s camry.. then you’ll know how.

Waja already had good ride and comfort.. make it more luxury and still had good ride and good handling. Give it more power!..

Then.. rename is as Perdana, Terminate the waja name.. (because you had Persona one) and cheapo el saga, no need Waja anymore.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 3:45 pm

ya, gotta admit that the front part must change, too similar to the new Saga…

btw, why the plate stated PENDERA?????

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 4:27 pm

theo, can you try to illustrate new perdana based on the new VW Passat CC or Merc CLS. IMO, perdana is the ultimate proton car. a benchmark proton car, so the rest of proton model will follow it in the future just like Merc S-class did and to its smaller brother.

my dream Perdana is coupe 4 door and as big as those 2 cars i mentioned before, 2.0L-2.5L engine, at least 200bhp, 250Nm of torque, hybrid compliance/have diesel engine, AMT or DSG.

im looking forward for that. heheh

• blunt (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 4:47 pm

abt mitsu pull out from australia..it’s really a big news. For all TV channel -ABC, channel 10, 7, 9..SBS etc..
    Heard that, the Aus gov..through South Australia gov pump in a lot of money the money (in form of grant) to develop mitsu A380 and kept Mitsu plan afloat.
    The main reason is because A380 is planned for domestic market and no export plan.

sidetrack…i just pass my Western aust Driving assesment..so after ni, bolehlah travel jauh sikit..If not, nampak saje Ford or Holden putih(kereta polis) ..terus kelam kabut..

ta..

• nmh (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:22 pm

not this car please….please do it based on RWD car. Proton can buy RWD jaguar platform from TATA or maybe VW. Its light weight too

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:29 pm

I guess everyone wants Proton’s flagship car to be a supercar…

• Sofea Ali (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:29 pm

hi!
    nice job bro,
    but if perdana new model come like this, it’s not luxury enough. No thanks.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:43 pm

i think perdana model will comeout lama lagi lah…

• wong (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:50 pm

msian said,

paul….visit this website dude..sum idiot is talkin crap bout you and your website…
    ============================================
    Not to worry dude, this is either stupid or a bit too smart…for sure his a sicko…

• 707 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:53 pm

Looked a little like the Skoda Octavia

• BW (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:53 pm

petulance said,

February 6, 2008 @ 2:11 pm

msian said,

——————————————————–

That link is a classic!!! Great piss take!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 6:23 pm

Why you need IAFM when you already have CPS + VIM

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 6:28 pm

I think the ‘Pendera’ is nice but I do feel that it need some chrome somewhere around the grill and window area like most luxury cars. However if its a luxury sports version like the M5, then it can be forgiven. The rear, just look too hatchback, a little lower would be better, in look and aerodynamically. We should anticipate a more outrageous design which appeals in its own way rather than a lame ‘playsafe’ one that bored everyone guts out….

• transformer (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:03 pm

nice front!
    rear tailight looks very skoda’ish! Fabia/Superb lookalike!

engine wise, a 2.0L with light-pressure turbo/supercharger that improves low-end torque will do! No need to go for 2.4! Who need 2.4L NA theseday when 1.8TFSI can match a 2.4L NA and returning good milage in city and highway drives!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audi_A4

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:08 pm

omigosh… the uncyclo-watever website seriously made me mad, especially when it mentioned bad things bout paul (i support u paul!) and the juara (yea our family owns 1)… but i took it as an overboard joke~

like wong said, dis guy is a sicko… >.

• hughie522 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 7:21 pm

With the permenant closure of Mitsubishi Australia’s Adelaide plant just the other day (and, as a result, the ceasure of 380 production) the idea of a Mitsubishi Australia-Proton tie up in the near future seems unlikely.

No 380, no possible Perdana replacement.

• wong (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 8:27 pm

TheophilusChin said,

February 6, 2008 @ 2:21 pm
    Again, the word “ugly”. It’s not hurting me, but how does one define ugly? Is, and I mean IF, this “Pendera” is ugly, what is Ssangyong? Sutera? Ria? Are they then FUGLY? Guess it’s good I name the car Pendera, to some’s eyes
    ==========================================
    Those who say ugly don’t even know what is ugly, no worries..

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 07, 2008 at 1:24 am

VW phaeton is a car loaded with unbelievable technology in it. IT really does feel upmarket.
    I really think that proton should make some designs for the up coming cars they want. How about holding a competition on car designing. TC can enter it as well.
    All government officials (high pay scale) use proton perdana v6 as their car. Yes, gov is the one buying the cars, but the ones who are using are the officials. That + individual owners still not a big market? The V6 is no different than the original perdana released in 1995…
    Saga replaced,
    Satria replaced
    Wira replaced
    Even Tiara, shorter lifespan replaced.
    Should be Perdana next???
    Then waja

• GlowJo (Member) on Feb 09, 2008 at 8:31 pm

I think if Proton have to pleased those government officials, they better rebadge Mitsu or VW. Better what not much to invest, and how much cars those government need? 1000 cars per year? To make sure Proton remains competitive, they need to think as a business oriented company not a political machine company…..
    Next to scrap…. WAJA…

• laivo (Member) on Feb 10, 2008 at 10:51 pm

Dear guys,

I loved theo’s work, very american, like the Cadillac CTS / Audi, clean lines, at rm100k much better than latest accord, optima, sonata, ateeza, cefiro.. what is fugly? is the supeimposed VW / SKODA as our perdana!!! thats uglier than the waja..

Do you know the jetta is also ugly?

luxury should be external and internal, the saga is not a cheap thing but value for money, RM30 to 40K is good value, therefore RM100K as illustrated by theo, the specs, biasa la, leather upholstery and steering wheel, 2.0L or 2.4L, V6, 18″ tyres, state of the art sound proofing shift tronics paddle shifters etc etc..

I have seen may illustrated efforts on our perdana, but theo’s d best, let’s all hope our perdana is worth the wait..

Happy New Year 2008

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 2:20 am

ezralimm said,

February 6, 2008 @ 9:50 am

abtm said,

——————————————-

while the press reports say that people not buying cars with big engine caused the downfall of the 380. i also beleive the competition has improved beyond the 380. even b4 people started realizing fuel is getting expensive, the 380 already wasnt doing good. it was getting very good reviews mainly because they wanted to protect the jobs of the people in the mitsu factory in australia. yes, the car was good, but you could get a better buy for the price like a rwd holden. or the reliability of the camry and aurion. the massive discounts on the 380 into the corolla/civic price point didnt help.

the 380 depreciated just as bad as a holden and build quality was not up to scratch.

i dont think they will be able to replace perdana anytime soon unless its a rebadge.

proton should focus on competing in fair international markets. if they are just trying to capture the malaysian market again, then we are set to go through a cycle again. come to think of it….how ironic….a new saga. praises/national pride at first and then curses/national disgrace the next.

• NeutralMan (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 2:50 am

Perdana should be more slicker than the current 2008 Honda Accord and more furious than the 2008 Toyota Camry on its looks.

Imagine that.

• the proton pendera has the front and back lights of the new saga and the body of the proton waja. it looks like a longer and more spacious version of the saga

• very ugly car.looks like most cheapest car in the world…..

• john chin on Dec 06, 2009 at 10:42 pm

I think this model is more beauty & hansome than the latest saga now.If this model on the load I will take it………