Does the Proton MPV have anything to do with an upcoming Chery MPV?

Proton MPV and Chery MPV
See rest of upcoming Chery MPV spyshots

Ever since initial sketches of the Proton MPV was revealed by Buletin Utama TV3, there have been readers who have noticed similarities with a disguised next generation Chery MPV that has been spotted and captured on camera in Europe. It’s only natural to start speculating. Let’s take it beyond speculation for abit shall we?

If you compare the sketch to the actual vehicle that was snapped there seems to a few similarities, with even the design of the front bumper being rather similiar.

Let us go back in time and take a look at the trail left on the internet from the short stint Proton had with Chery in the past three years.

• Proton signs joint feasibility study MoU with Chery Automobile Co Ltd and Alado Corp Sdn Bhd for the evaluation of “possibilities and opportunities for, inter alia providing assembly services and distribution of vehicles of Proton and Chery brands in China, Malaysia and also in ASEAN” – Bursa Malaysia 23/05/2006
  • Proton extends MoU with Chery and Alado for another two months – Bursa Malaysia 01/09/2006
  • NST quotes Alado Corp Sdn Bhd saying Proton was in talks with Chery to produce an MPV first, and later an SUV – 28/09/2006 “Proton looks to China to make bigger cars” by Zuraimi Abdullah, NST Page 43
  • Proton extends MoU with Chery and Alado until 28th February 2007 – Bursa Malaysia 04/12/2006
  • Proton, Chery and Alado end feasibility studies, and begin evaluating findings – Bursa Malaysia 26/02/2007

If you look at the timeline of news releases, there’s only one mention of development of an MPV with Chery and it came from Alado Corp, Chery’s local assemblers and franchise holders, not from Chery or Proton. Proton’s initial announcement of an MoU stated that what was being evaluated was an assembly and marketing deal, not an engineering/co-development deal.

Another explanation could be that those sketches in Datuk Syed Zainal’s presentation were old, back from the days where Proton did have something going on with Chery, but whether it is still happening now or not is another question altogether.

So does the Proton MPV have anything to do with the new unreleased Chery MPV? There is NO reliable indication anywhere of any relation at this point of time, just some similarities in aesthetics. More updates to be posted as info becomes available.

Landwind FashionLATEST UPDATE: I think we can put an end to the speculation going around that this new Proton MPV is the Chery MPV spotted in Europe simply because the Chery MPV is not even a Chery MPV in the first place, so 4Car and various other European publications who published the shots have got it wrong. As you can see, the vehicle has already been launched and it is actually the Landwind Fashion. So there we have it, just a little bit of research and digging up around the internet and we have an answer! :) The new Proton MPV has nothing to do with Chery. Thanks to Nahar ARS for the photo.

Proton MPV sketches preview production model
First sighting of new Proton MPV-related test mule
Proton MPV due in early 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 6:43 am

Wow even the rim cap is the same

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 6:59 am

Only time will tell.

Its highly likely Proton may have a joint development of vehicles in the segment. Proton being a small manufacturer does not have the resourses to develop all new platforms for all its vehicles. If history is any indication, thier new cars will also share platforms.

Only the Gen2 so far is done on its own in house platform as we have led to believe.

If this pans out, I wonder how the anti-chinese-car-safety-advocates will start reacting. Some of them being quite hard core proton people.

• azrai (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 7:15 am

From the sketches it really do look Cherish enough. Still, it look too small like extended viva.

• White Jack (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 7:33 am

Ya la why look so much the same ??

Good spotting it Paul :)

Paul Tan says: many other readers also spot it

• normaluser (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:03 am

The sketches are usually concept, and not final. And since most MPV shapes and lines are the same, its too easy to spot the similiarities.

However, the rear lights on the sketch seems to bulging out, while the Chery’s are bulging in. And the Proton MPV’s A-pillar are not cab-forward (look closely at the door mirror) compared to Chery’s.

I dont think Proton is using Chery’s platform for its MPV. News reports said that DSZ has confirmed that they are using a totally new platform right? Its not even an extended or re-engineered GX platform used for the Waja & Gen2.

Paul Tan says: i am also skeptical of any link between the two, but am keeping an open mind. this post was mainly to provide a research and fact-based answer to some questions.

anyway, the larger version of the proton mpv sketch image that I have shows a cab forward design with a little A-pillar window. refer to link below

http://images.paultan.org/images/protonmpvsketchlarge.jpg

• normaluser (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:22 am

Thanks Paul for the bigger pic.
    From the Proton MPV 1st sketch, we can see that the door mirror is attached to the door, while the Chery’s mirror is attached on the column of the A-pillar window.

• arch747 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:46 am

I doubt it. Being as sketches only, regardless what model of MPV we put next to those sketches they somehow gonna looks the same. MPV being an MPV, these models sharing similar design. Try putting a Wish or perhaps a Stream images next to it, somehow its gonna look similar too. The trick is to make sure the camera angle is similar. But Proton, pls dont use MPV design close to Citra. Yuck!!

I really look forward to it. Imagine an R3 version of Proton MPV. pergh!!!!!

• whodz (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 9:45 am

I’ve noticed that at azlano’s blog also mentioned about the MPV, but nothing said though. He just said it was 0.5 second on national tv. :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 9:57 am

“Only the Gen2 so far is done on its own in house platform as we have led to believe.”

you dont have to lead yourself to believe it, its a fact. and youre forgetting the savvy/saga, and neo as well as the waja, which the gen2 is derived from.

• n8cky (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 11:18 am

Kinda Bulky, i tot p1 was doing a medium sized?like stream/wish?from wat i saw from Cherry, it looks like a bigger sized MPV like Naza Ria, can the CPS move it?I guess they tested the cam-pro in wish to climb the genting (somehow i saw a badgeless, ugly wish, smaller rim, so i persume it was a test drove from proton?)
    From sketches, the rear looks more like Grand Livina, the front maybe wish?
    But from my personal feeling i will say that the Cherry, if they’re using 1.8 cam, the width will be narrower from the back. And definitely they need to make it lower to match the stream-line.The driver over head roof top is too tall, makes it look more bulky, feel slow, and unsafety.

• ynnad (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

I have doubts on the use of the Chery V5…

any reason for Proton to purposely put in a fake picture like this as a means of FUD for marketing purposes?

Earlier test mules were using the Wish platform. If the MPV was going to be based onthe Chery V5, the test mules would have been on the Chery and not the Wish. at least procuring the Chery V5 test mules would be alot cheaper than the Wish.

• shamel (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Cheaper to use Chery mule BUT how about perception? Stream-Wish is the benchmark for midi mpv NOT the Chinese version of (ugly) mpv, cut-and-paste of sort!

How about Mazda5-ish design? You guys can accept?

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 1:19 pm

no!!! we don’t want Chery…….!!!!!!!

Stream, Wish, Mazda 5, Grandis at least better designed, and more reliable than those made-in-China ‘toy car’……

• kei9 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 2:29 pm

Pergh.. i don’t belive a bit :)

• kei9 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 2:34 pm

LOL finally someone knew ;)

• Paul Tan on May 29, 2008 at 2:35 pm

Please read the updated part of the story…

• farghmee (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 2:40 pm

btw, where can i get the footage during the blm launching at klcc?
    some1 said that earlier model of the mpv was included in the footage??

• ilmondo (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 2:47 pm

thank god!

lol.. yea.. as a car fan.. i thank god as i dont really wish the new MPV to be sharing anything with Chery.. we all know that the chinese are coming up really fast.. but as a car fan.. haha.. not a good idea to me..

but from a businessman POV, P1 + Chery may not be a bad thing..

too bad i’m not a businessman.. :P

really hoping for proton + lotus magic ere.. with logic of jap midi MPV..

cheers!

• trustgtr (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 4:22 pm

i hope proton products won’t be technically connected to any china manufacturers just yet..

• ... (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Paul,

Please post up the pics of the real Chery V5 aka Chery B240 sold by alado.

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/07/02/chery-b240-7-seater-mpv-in-malaysia/

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/07/02/chery-v5-crossover-chery-b14-mpv/

then we can compare

• mystvearn (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:17 pm

Pray that this will be a proper proton car from ground up and not some taking of other people’s ideas and making it yours. Juara was not supposed to roam on our roads…(no offence to Juara owners)
    I think everyone following the avanza/innova design. If can make something like that, will be fine.

• arie1968 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:28 pm

i think it’s fresh model from p1. make it happen p1.
    it’s just said can fix with 7 adult. we will see…..
    malaysian designer not bad at all.

• ah liew (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:52 pm

damn ugly….

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 9:01 pm

thanks for the update…. ended the temporary nightmare, lol~

• hazremi (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 10:15 pm

Pray that this will be a proper proton car from ground up and not some taking of other people’s ideas and making it yours. Juara was not supposed to roam on our roads…(no offence to Juara owners)
    I think everyone following the avanza/innova design. If can make something like that, will be fine.

• s (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 10:53 pm

malaysian designer is better than cherry designer i think, so hopefully p1 mpv much much ‘macho’ than that ugly cherry…

• fliedlice (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 11:01 pm

hi guys,

I used to work in the automotive industry until recently, and I know for a fact that the proton mpv design is not related to the chery design. it’s their own design.

• kedaikopi (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 11:06 pm

maaf saya tidak fasih berbahasa inggeris. saya dah ikuti paultan.org ni setahun. banyak info mengenai keluaran kereta-kereta terbaru yang saya peroleh. mengenai isu Proton MPV, saya harap Proton dapat meningkatkan lagi prestasi di dalam menghasilkan kenderaan yang berkualiti dan selamat, selain menampilkan rekabentuk yang dapat menarik minat rakyat malaysia. saya mendapat maklumat bahawa Proton akan membangunkan model enjin terbarunya yang dinamakan N.E.F atau New Engine Family yang mampu menjana enjin 2000 hingga 3000 cc. adakah ia akan dibangunkan bagi model MPV? saya pun tidak pasti. sama-sama kita tunggu…

• junky_man (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 11:22 pm

Nahar ARS is my collegue! We’re in crunch time and he has time to scoop up pictures for paul tan? :P

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 8:20 am

unlike the avanza/innova which are based on basic “truck/van” type platforms, I believe this proton mpv will be based on a proper car-like monocoque platform ala wish, stream, grand livina..etc. This should point towards car-like ride and handling as apposed to something thats akin to a small van or truck.

besides that, i dont think proton taking anything from china at the moment, they’re too busy selling them stuff right now.

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:13 am

I don’t know what the fuss is all about, this is only a sketch. It might be just an initial design by one of designer for all we know. Maybe Proton just wanna see our reaction or put off any spy shots of the actual car being identified as the real thing. If we wait until a few months before the launch, maybe we could see the usual covered up model running around. Before that, lets not jumped to any conclusion.

BTW, I was told by a friend (whom I would not disclose) that this MPV actually is a JV between Proton and Honda. So maybe there is more Honda influence here than we thought initially.

Lets all wait for the launch shall we.. :)

• Realeyes (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 10:57 am

Urgh..damn bulky.. My “wish” to have a P1 MPV that looks like a Wish, remains a wish..

• Otromen (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 8:05 am

It may have some resemblance with Mitsu Grandis
    http://www.budgetjamaica.com/images/grandis.jpg

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 4:30 pm

five word.. UNGLY..

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 4:30 pm

four word.. UGLY..

• oranglulu (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 9:18 pm

ugly duckling!

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:19 am

If it is related to the Grandis, I’ll be happy to own one, if one of those chinese mada then I’ll pass.

• idaho5307 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 9:19 am

Paul,

Last Sunday went to Tg. Malim and saw a proton team testing the VW Touran. In the convoy, there were also 3 Gen-2s. All the four cars having trade plates and “Test Drive” stickers can been seen on the sides.

Is the new MPV also benchmarked against the Touran?

• Jie (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 11:38 pm

What? Proton factory open on sunday? Hard to believe.