New Toyota Wish gets CVT and Valvematic engine!

The Toyota Wish is due to be replaced soon, and in light of the current economy situation and Toyota’s expected first loss in a long long time, it’s going to be built on the same platform as the outgoing with but with some improvements and a new set of engines, in Japan at least. These leaked brochure images here reveal to us how the new Wish will look like. There are a few improvements such as the A-pillars which are now thinner to improve visibility. The Japanese Wish will enjoy a new range of Dual VVT-i and Valvematic engines, the latter which first debuted on another MPV, the Toyota Noah.

The top of the line 2.0 litre Wish in Japan will get the 3ZR-FAE engine equipped with Toyota’s latest Valvematic variable valve lift technology. It produces 158 PS at 6200rpm and 196Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. The lesser engined sibling will be powered by a 1.8 litre unit producing 144 PS at 6,400rpm and 176Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. Both are mated to a Super CVT-i transmission.

There will be four variants – the 2.0Z, the 2.0G, the 1.8S and the 1.8X. The brochures also reveal that Toyota will be differentiating the different variants of the Wish with different exterior looks. For example, there are at least three different levels of prominence with the wheel arches, and the results are 3 different widths in the dimension sheets of the brochure. The “narrowest” most tame-looking Wish is only 1,695mm wide but the widest 2.0Z variant is 1,745mm wide. The Wish 1.8S in somewhere in between at 1,725mm. The red unit you see here is the 2.0Z.

The Wish was an immensely popular model in Malaysia, but for a very long time 100% of sales were enjoyed by the grey importers as it was not brought in officially by UMW Toyota. Only later did UMW bring it in but by then all the Wish owners were already Wish owners. It’s safe to say with this new Wish, UMW will be selling it right from the start. But don’t be surprised if you see the same old 2.0 litre and 4-speed automatic installed instead of the modern Valvematic and CVT transmission.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:06 pm

its obvious that toyota is copying the honda stream.

• Adly (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:07 pm

look too japanese…………

• bpkid (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:21 pm

The grille is a definite no-no. Older Wish’s grille is obviously better.

• cars-addict (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:21 pm

hmm….ok la…the interior looks very beautiful!!!!but i admire more the past model la….

• cars-addict (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:22 pm

when will it come to malaysia????

• L15a (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Honda Stream look better than this

• wajara (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:52 pm

UMW……please lah….not the old engine and gearbox….!!!!!!

• 7213209 (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:57 pm

Must be very new. Even in Japan now I never see any. Or maybe I not yet see…

• DtG (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Adly said,

February 2, 2009 @ 8:07 pm

look too japanese…………

Because it is??? anyway IMO, bits of scirocco at the front n grand livina at the rear… meter panel reminds me of perodua… haha…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 10:11 pm

taillights not nice, overall acceptable….

• Bebelon (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 10:16 pm

The rear looks like downsized previa!! Front grille is terrible design…anyhow, it is another low cost design car from toyota!!!

• omar (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 10:34 pm

If u look carefully, the rear looks very much the same as toyota ipsum..

is is both model is using the same chasis?

• ameen (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 10:52 pm

prefer old look but with new engine.. hehe..
    toyota trying too hard with this design.. look too aggressive..
    maybe some people will like those kind of look.. but not all ryte?
    whatever it is.. good luck =)

• transformer (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:01 pm

it seems like Toyota had been hit hard ny current global recession wave… how many R&D/Designer had been layed-off recently…?

anyone have this statistic?

you can do it better by doing Toyota old-prudent ways in design… just keep minimal change from previous model will do. see Altis Gen.1 and Altis Gen.2… Spot any difference ?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Oooh this is surely one for the Marketing Department who also does R+D and makes coffee for the boss.
    One word about CVT transmission; Yeeeecchh!!!
    Looks like they couldn’t get a proper torque at the bottom end and hoped the transmission do all the work. Ingenious? Not!
    One prevailing question would be; will it come with leaf springs? If so, would it be 3 or 4 ply carbon steel? Yessir this will bring them back the profits.

• gajen (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:29 pm

looks very sporty and nice…way better than stream…i hardly see any stream on the road also..

once its here in msia, it will be selling like hot cakes

• ignas (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:35 pm

either toyota tries too hard or they just enjoying ruining their design. its totally crap. no substance no identity other than deformed shape, head light and tail light. oh my sympathy.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:38 pm

gajen said,

February 2, 2009 @ 11:29 pm

looks very sporty and nice…way better than stream…i hardly see any stream on the road also..

once its here in msia, it will be selling like hot cakes

open your eyes wider and prolly u’ll see better…unless of course ur staying in some felda reserves.

i would like to see this new wish selling in malaysia…obviously the designers got too lazy with the design…looks like a squashed estima….awful *bleh*

cam.shaft

• mct (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:41 pm

yeah……
    i see lot of pro basher at here
    hm , still wondering , as no one see before this car (this car isn’t going to japan market until may 2009 ) many already bash hard about the design etc….
    will umw bring it ? that still a question , for your infomation , you can hardly see a umw wish 2.0 on malaysia road .
    perhaps you all dunno it , toyota already plan to remove 1az-fe from production line by 2010, and replace all with 3zr-fe or 3zr-fae.
    2.5L camry gets 6 speed auto box already , would it be reasonable if this new wish would used an 5 speed instead the old wants .

• hyundai (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 11:51 pm

So Stream-ish…
    But interior looks nice…

• makkymokky (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 1:06 am

I really dig this design, one of the better designs from toyota new models, unlike the lazy design of the new altis

• db8 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 3:01 am

the steering looks like from a honda civic..lol..

• kobealex (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 4:36 am

errmm… the top front part kinda reminds me of the City. Would prefer the current Wish and totally love and admire Honda Stream.

• kobealex (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 4:37 am

top half i mean…

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 8:54 am

woooowwww!
    soooo ‘modern look’ dashboard, especially the middle one shape.. soooo ‘modern’ (harras mode)..

modern like ass!
    what is that ugly and lazy design?
    what’s that 1 big button with rectangle around?

• lambov12 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 9:56 am

it’s damn ugly !

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 10:14 am

I would say…this is more like a major facelift than CMC. It’s just been different especially the front and the back let alone the side whereas the side just look so similar to the old one wondering if it’s the limitation of the form factor or the design team but like the old saying “if it isnt broken, why fix it?” After all, the old wish does sell really well.

Irregardless of the design nor the new variant of engines offered, should UMW Toyota choose to launch this model in Malaysia with the same old engine and transmission, they’ll contribute to the better business of the grey importers where theirs will continue to sell like..err..the current wish..yea.

Unless UMW has decided that it’s time that they stop thinking that a Toyota in Malaysia will sell so long it moves and start putting in some new engine and transmission, they’re just telling everyone that “Malaysian only need a reliable transportation, nothing more nothing less.”

That might be true to pre x gen. But the x gen and now y gen Malaysians many has went overseas to see and even own some of the great cars out there and even Toyotas in overseas has the better specs and fit & finish compared. So when these gen came back (many dont btw), they’re looking for something similar locally and considering the ownership vs income ratio is much higher in Malaysia than many other countries, naturally given a well educated and decent IQ Malaysian, I’ll demand a similarly built and spec’d Toyota or any other made. Isnt it fair to us as the consumer? Why are we talking on behalf for them where we’re actually paying for it? Why are we protecting them for their mistake and discretionary way of conducting business in Malaysia and taking the Malaysians as the lower educated citizens?

We should ask ourselves if we still want what UMW and any other made selling what they think we should be buying? Do we want to always admire what other countries are getting and only getting it thru the grey importers at prohibiting price with non existing after sales services? What bout paying a huge part of our income just to have a bare minimum spec’d transportation? 2 airbags, abs, ebd? Are these luxury to those who drives a Proton Saga? Arent their life equally as important? Why in country like the European the manufacturers are taking the consumers so seriously? Why not make it the same here in Malaysia? What would it be? The decision lies in our hand and we should be telling those car makers who hasnt taken Malaysians seriously to quit their business or get serious with their offering.

• yippi33 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 10:41 am

at first, i thought it was one of theophilus’s artwork ..haha..more to a facelift to me..luckily it gets a new engine and tranny..but the interior do looked nice..the best compared to other toyotas ive seen by far..the exterior looks boring though

• red7 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 10:47 am

“But don’t be surprised if you see the same old 2.0 liter and 4-speed automatic installed instead of the modern Valvematic and CVT transmission.?”

omg!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 10:59 am

Major kosmetik change on outside can’t call it all new, new engine quite good. Me like. Good enough to pretty up Malaysian roads.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:00 am

Proton MPV prettier…

• BB (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:48 am

like most of the reader’s commend, i do dissapointed on the new style of the new Wish. concern Honda may catch up Toyota in the nx 5 yrs! why?
    1. City > Vious
    2. Civic > Altis
    3. Accord = Camry
    4. CRV > Rev4 (compare $ as well)
    5. Stream = Wish

• f1 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:55 am

Kinda boring like bit out dated compare with d current 1 which is better looking especialy d headlamp. R toyota running out of designs or just to save cost?

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 12:40 pm

BB said,
    February 3, 2009 @ 11:48 am
    like most of the reader’s commend, i do dissapointed on the new style of the new Wish. concern Honda may catch up Toyota in the nx 5 yrs! why?

wut do you mean by. “Honda may catch up Toyota in the nx 5 yrs”

Honda already above toyota rating what?
    Honda won many design award but toyota not.
    Honda tech a far better.
    Honda had sportcars but toyota not.
    Honda had legendary icon car but toyota not.

None toyota car are superb and well known.. Supra? nooo… it’s not a legendary . But NSX yes. Type R yes..

toyota just a blood$ucker hiding behind name of ‘reliability’.
    most toyota vehicle are nothing..

err.. except ‘sprinter trueno and hilux’ , but initial-d is another story.. (at least, they have to give credits to the comic artist…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 12:49 pm

better buy mazda 5

• gods twin (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 2:06 pm

Sick of this blind bashers, the produstion car is only hitting now in japan. Yet so many bashers. Some dude upthere comparing bout legendary cars, pls notice that all model mentioned by you is sports oriented,only a small percentage of owners,what about the cars for the masses? What has honda done, dont forget the record selling cars by toyota know for reliabilty and comfort such as the SEG’s (nick named mini lexus),LE and more .Honda was shooting blanks then. Dont blame the car maker, NCP in our country spoils everything that is being sent to our country.

Honda already above toyota rating what?(pls do your researce, 2008 JD powers, toyota rated as number 1 for satisfaction, comfort and value for money, do your research 1st la, before bashing.

Honda won many design award but toyota not.Camry won the design award in My,Aus and Jap when it was lanuched some 5 years ago(Outgoing version). So did the SEG’s for the build quality and was the 1st to market the Hybrid, follewd by others.

Anyway i do agree that toyota is getting retarded lately, especially the ALTIS. the intirior is ok but the exterior, dont know wat happen. Prefer the civic over the altis, Planning to book the civic hybrid end of this month, Any of you guys have any news on this car?

• familyman (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 2:59 pm

hahahaha

what the freak.. toyota also cost cutting on design department..
    i have to say our country options are quite limited due to the way the whole industry is structured AP, tax, import duties, high profit margin by manufacturer themselves.

have to agree about the gen X comment.
    once u go obersee and see all the differences for the same kind of money u paying for H or T, you’ll be sick to your stomach..

• shamel (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 3:11 pm

This new Wish another Toyota (also follow by Honda and Nissan) business model of having slightly heavy FACELIFT (in those day term) BUT christened it as full model change, new model.

Underpinning of the car was common; look at Altis, Crown, Wish, Alphard, Estima, Crown Sedan, Premio, Allion—the result: we got old thing in not very fresh new ‘altered’ clothing. End up, overstretch live span of the model LONGER than continental, normally 7-8 years instead of normal Japanese/Korean at 4 years with 2 years, facelift interval.

Altis produced from minor change of front/rear Toyota launched in 2001. 2007 world got their Altis, which last at least until 2012. SO, the same model use more than 10 years.

Why we got this? Because they can afford the luxury of being TOYOTA, really great name with so so tech but awesome reliability. I’ll buy this car over my previous love, STREAM though Stream really a new model when it launched in 2006; not merely a facelift.

Simply because reliability though engine-wise the Honda give more mile every liter but not so significant. By the way, l’ll never compromise if they only offer lower than multiple suspension for all. Drum brake also can’t considered too.

• layman (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 3:26 pm

Malaysia forum is very unique, cars brand or model that sell well will get bash.
    Proton – selling well, get bash
    Vios – selling well, get bash
    Wish – selling well, get bash
    BMW,Merc – all model well get bash, but they are selling well
    Audi – No basher, hardly seen on the road
    Volvo – No basher, getting less on the road

So, bash what ever you can, the fact is this car will sell better than Honda Stream.

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 5:16 pm

layman said,
    February 3, 2009 @ 3:26 pm
    So, bash what ever you can, the fact is this car will sell better than Honda Stream.

No! ..
    naza & chinese car got bashed too..

but none of them selling well. :p

• peterc (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Possibly a bit late but thought it worth commenting as a very satisfied owner of one of the first Wish made in Thailand 5 years ago. Certainly I would not buy the new model as portrayed. Nothing of any consequence is different. For me to change would require either the 2.4 engine from the Camry, which is presumably the same size external dimensions as the 2 litre engine, since they both fit in the Camry; or the forthcoming Camry Hybrid engine, which should have more power. It would also need a 5 or 6-speed automatic gearbox. Having seen this outline of the disappointing new model, might get TRD in Thailand to supercharge mine giving an increase in power from 150 to 200 bhp.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 6:46 pm

layman said,

refer to ur post..yeah..in malaysia audi n volvo is selling good…bt nt as gd as merc n bmw…but in other country..theyre doin well especially audi…

• shamel (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Rear design heavily borrowed from Nissan Wingroad though front design pretty good for my eyes. Interior also carried over by last generation.

BUT never expect newest engine or tranny from UMW-Toyota. We merely deserved less advance technology.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Don’t really like the looks. Dunno why it reminds me of a Subaru.

• redrules (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 8:56 pm

When I bought my 1st generation mini MPV I thought it was suitable as a small growing family car. But now when I look at mini MPVs, I think somewhere along the line the designers has lost it’s main purpose….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 9:42 pm

i want more ferraris on the road, so i bash ferrari. the ferrari f430 spyder and ferrari california sucks.

• king (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 9:46 pm

*YAWN*

zzzzz

• king (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 9:53 pm

wake me up when toyota stops making 2nd facelift, 3rd facelift etc… and start making a genuine new model.

• shamel (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:12 am

Scooby with flying vagina grille?

• bpkid (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 7:20 am

Whatever the shape this Wish will get, it will sell like hot cakes.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:55 am

layman,

Then allow me to begin bashing audi: they’re for c*cks.

Yaaaaawn….

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 12:49 pm

Interior is good for me, but i still prefer the old wish design for the exterior.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 1:16 pm

layman;
    lol.. just for th fun..let me bash volvo to although i used to like them last time.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 7:25 pm

layman said,

Malaysia forum is very unique, cars brand or model that sell well will get bash.
    Proton – selling well, get bash
    Vios – selling well, get bash
    Wish – selling well, get bash
    BMW,Merc – all model well get bash, but they are selling well
    Audi – No basher, hardly seen on the road
    Volvo – No basher, getting less on the road

—————–
    alfa romeo sucks cos they too bloody beautiful, saab sucks because they are cool. i bash u alfa romeo and saab.

• hadie on Mar 13, 2009 at 12:33 pm

the exterior design is sucks. but the interior view,ok.hope UMW Toyota will modify the exterior design of Wish 2009 for the sake of malaysia market.

• hensem none on Apr 05, 2009 at 5:41 am

how much it is? anyway good to see and hope the price either.

• Edika on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:23 pm

I know its hard to change d mind. But to change the past, we need sacrifice. Emmmm iskkk….issskkkk im very sad and dissappointed to see a new model not in my WISH

• rozaleo on Aug 14, 2009 at 5:30 pm

the earlier one design much better if to compare and i drving one. economical, reliable luv it. Pls la don't compare wiv exora apa class?

• tokmoh said,

February 4, 2009 @ 9:55 am

layman,

Then allow me to begin bashing audi: they’re for c*cks.

Yaaaaawn….

Well some say that BMW are for pimps and Merc for uncles.

Never heard bout Audi are for c*ocks !?

• The best is the past model…but i think stream is too…how to say..rectangular…new wish is rather looking better than stream….

• love n girls1998 on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

i have both new and old wish in my house,my brother owns a stream.the exterior design of wish n stream was not comparable,wish looks elegant and stream looks sporty.after driving both of them,wish has a better stability and the steering is more responsive than stream.i prefer the interior of wish because it looks premium compared to stream.the dashboard of stream might be more attractive but it looks rather cheap…lol.wish also has a better fuel efficiency than stream.as a result,definitely wish is the best choice bt stream is good too

• lalaboohae1098 on Jun 20, 2013 at 4:23 pm

once you see it,u will love it