Geneva 2009: Hyundai reveals the i20 3-door

Korean based auto maker Hyundai has revealed the much awaited i20 3-door super mini in Geneva. This 3 door super mini is offered with a choice of seven fuel efficient, Euro 4-compliant power plants in petrol and diesel forms including a 78HP 1.2 litre “Kappa” petrol engine that uses 5.2 litres of fuel per 100 kilometers on a combines cycle while releasing 124 grams of emissions per kilometer and a 75HP 1.4 litre diesel which consumes 4.4 litres per 100 kilometers, while producing 116 grams of emissions per kilometer.

Sharing its styling with its 5-door big brother, it comes available in three trim levels including Classic, Comfort and Style. Just like the 5-door variant, the i20 3-door comes with features such as climate control, multi-function steering wheel, keyless entry and electrically-operated windows and side mirrors.

The modern radio/CD system is MP3-compatible and has four powerful speakers. Standard safety fitments are made up by a total of 6 airbags, active head-restraints, latest-generation anti-lock brakes, Electronic Stability Control, and Electronic Brake Force Distribution. Continue reading to view two high-res images. We will update the image gallery as soon as we get more images.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=153]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• linear_system on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:14 pm

satria neo still the best..hehehe..

1sstt

• proton is better…hehe

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:48 pm

so…ugly

• intermilan on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:08 pm

doesn't look right to me..

why most korean car (except the Getz and a few) are all in this dull boring roundish styling? do they actually find it trendy n stylish?

for this one, its kinda have some modern line but put the new ford fiesta beside and DANG! reality kick-in.

• well at least the safety feature and fuel consumption are better than most…

the interior are much pleasing…

• Littlefire on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:33 pm

Yup, what kit mention also right.. They have better safety & new economical engine such like diesel engine to run. Does Proton now offer those safety features ESP? or diesel engine?

Ppl last time scare of korean cars coz it is worst in fc, but now they have fixed the problem and want to conquer Europe after US. Where is Proton now? Middle-east?

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:13 pm

This replaces the Getz right?

• ctawyong on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:29 am

we can see the improvement of the korean, the design, engine, and the quality!! never stay behind, or move backward, like our proton, wake up pls!!

• red7 (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:17 am

still can see people talk bout proton in this thread….

*sigh*

• coming here?

• Littlefire on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:03 am

Coz we want Proton to improve faster, coz China is coming up fast and if we are still slow we are gonna be eaten alive not only by Koreans but also China & Indian cars!!! Remember TATA Nano?!?

• korean fixed their bad fc car

proton never admit their mistake/bad quality

funny some msian still support proton

they made VERY slow progress to improved the quality

btw, satria is not for tall ppl.

korean cars are improving alot

but surely will kena striped down when coming to msia

• linear_system on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:10 pm

okla not proton…VW is still the best..better interior quality,nice design,good FC,good handling,better in every aspect…