First official images of new Volvo S60

volvo-s60-2

These are the first few product photos of the new Volvo S60 officially released by the Volvo PR team as a preview to a full-fledged unveiling soon.

The car will make its public debut at the Geneva Motor Show 2010 in early March next year, and production will begin early summer 2010 at Volvo’s Belgian plant.

volvo-s60-1

No other details or specifications have been revealed other than the fact that you can specify an optional feature called Pedestrian Detection that can detect pedestrians in front of the car and brake automatically if the driver doesn’t react in time.

Looking pretty good I must say, though I would prefer if the front end were to be a little sharper. It’s a little soft now, especially with the big soft ‘eyes’ (headlamps) and all. What do you think, do you like it?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Great looking car.

• Ariff on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:23 am

nice~i felt volvo's design are getting better nowadays.They hav finally stopped making boxy cars but still kept the volvo-ness of each car.and ths new S60 looks like the sedan version of the XC60~

• haha…st bernard look?

• Paul Tan on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:28 am

hahaha… the shape of the bumper below the headlamps do look like the droopy cheeks of a st bernard. an appropriate dog breed to be associated with volvo.

• the front looks exactly like the new e-class.

• jolly_idiot on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:31 am

looks like the old Lexus model which comes with a 4 headlight.

• unknown on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:34 am

mercedes w212 headlamp styling.nice one.better than merc

• fastcx on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:42 am

This is suppose to compete with bmw 3series, quite like the design :)

• abb200 (Member) on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:51 am

err dont u guys think the s60 front has some sort of eerie similarities with the dugong vios? lol

• Thomas on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:53 am

Beautiful, but poor headroom behind… as I can see from the exterior.

• katak on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:54 am

i have a dream i dream that our gomen are very happy that the one rakyat only drive proton and kancil.While our PM drive a fahlari all the way to the bank. it tht truth

• tokmoh on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:58 am

Yep, the headlights do look better excuted than on E-class.

Imagine this Volvo in white. Mmm……

• phas3r on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:17 am

volvo used to boxy styling in the 80s 90s because back then the trend is boxy cars la. they are just being up to date back then.. although it took them awhile to stop being boxy

• i hope they can continue their boxy design . looking at interesting boxy design such as phantom, chrysler 300EX, bentley. when bmw goes to flaming surface, merc went to their peanut age and now razor lines …

• too soft….

• nudin on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:49 am

sometime like opel

• *LoL*…….I'm sorry. Can't help it when Paul & shan said something about st. bernard hahaha….isn't that cute?

Ehem..back to topic.

About the front look, I think Volvo can do better than that. Especially those headlamps, maybe. It looks scary to me.

• HyundaiLove on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:16 am

COPY SONATA i40

• ambush on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:17 am

OOOO theres some hint of BMW lines on the side profile…how influential is BMW in the design department..

• mystvearn on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:12 am

Copy new E class?

Not into the looks at all

• ggg2c2 on Nov 11, 2009 at 12:00 pm

forget it , volvo fail in malaysia , the parts import in sure dem 9 expensive to maintain.

• haha

the front light is so similar to the new e class

but well, its not bad

wonder how the rear look and most importantly…the price!!!

hopefully more info on this soon

• i want another car.. on Nov 11, 2009 at 3:59 pm

bug-eyed sporty looking car, haha!

• azrai on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:16 pm

Comel car. the headlamp just like the reminiscent of Merc. Anyway, this will be another China product right. Remember Ford had sold Volvo to Geely.

• meteoraniac on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:24 pm

s60 gets more beauitiful by the day … still prefer the current s60 .. timeless design..

• mitlanevo on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:26 pm

quite weird the front end, but at least it looks better than current S60…

no more boxy, hehez…

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:38 pm

sexy……………

• nikolo98 on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:44 pm

I think it looks great! But is the S60 a direct category competitor to the 3 series? I thought the S40 is the competitor..

• MADBOY on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:49 pm

nikolo98 said,

November 11, 2009 @ 8:44 am

I think it looks great! But is the S60 a direct category competitor to the 3 series? I thought the S40 is the competitor..

————-

yes, the new direction is for S60 vs 3 series vs C class. S80 vs 5 series vs S class. Not sure what they are going to do with S40.

• nighttrain on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:57 pm

Nice except the front end.. Somehow Volvo is like lalang.. they're not really trendsetters. Erm, Italian designers again?

• volvo design is much better nowadays..plus with its safety features..made a great car…good job volvo..

• wajarays on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:35 pm

after drive a volvo, you will be looking for a volvo again ….. the killer model is with T5 engine and top of the line is R engine that you can found only at volvo s60 R and v70 R … to bad that in malaysian market , there is so limited T5 range … you can find T5 model only at wagon model …. only s60 come out with sedan car T5 engine … imagine if volvo cars malaysia bring s40 T5 with manual 6 speed gearbox …. so yummy … can smoke any japan turbo car easily anytime…. i got s60 T5 with light tune up…. its a sleeper car … once the engine boost, you will be orgasm, hehehe

waiting for new facelift c70 T5 arrive in our shore :D

• mitlanevo on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:41 pm

maybe s40 vs. 2.0 jap sedans?

• ilmondo on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm

nice looking volvo.. ikea-ish interior i'm sure.. rear will be a surprise??

one thing nice bout a volvo is its resale value.. volvo for everyone then =) maintanence lain cerita lar :P

happy motoring!

• Nice side profile.. but not the rear lamp cluster

• myviRS on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:43 pm

looks a lot like my neighbor's dog from st bernard breed. hahaha..

• Dhimas on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Just another sedan…..nothing special.
    Too far off the original concept design which is very nice.

is a let down i would say.

• 1malaysia on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:09 pm

nikolo98 said,
    November 11, 2009 @ 8:44 am

————-
    yes, the new direction is for S60 vs 3 series vs C class. S80 vs 5 series vs S class. Not sure what they are going to do with S40.

the s40 should go against jap mid size sedan like camry & accord. those budget fall within this category yet still want continental-feel, s40 is the one.

• redwings on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:07 pm

nice..more sporty…

how come volvo takes so long to replace the S60..? if i not mistaken.. the current S60 is more than 8 yrs in the market..

Saw a XC60 few days back, the S60 and XC60 got lotsa things in common..

Only drawback… the price is out of reach by me..

• regret 3 MPS on Nov 11, 2009 at 9:05 pm

Ahhhh… head to head with Beemer 5 series.. look good overall..

• Gajen on Nov 11, 2009 at 9:06 pm

looks like eclass which looks like lexus GS

• Headlamps reminds me of the Lexus IS.

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:41 pm

this is so much better than any german car

• Ha Gnih on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Front end looks somewhat Accord-ish.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:35 pm

this is a fantastic looking car

• somebody on Nov 12, 2009 at 12:09 am

a safe car i must say..
    more to a lifestyle car…

i dont think volvo is competing with bmw n merc..
    volvo is more to a relax car to drive..but once you floor it, you'll know whats inside the hood..hope there will be turbo version..

• sweden on Nov 12, 2009 at 12:52 am

That's why their tagline is
    "Volvo For Life"
    -u r married for life cos breaking up wld be costly (-poor resale value)-
    :)

• good family car, as always. Thumbs up on the look dept.

• shawal.ali on Nov 12, 2009 at 1:51 am

Looks and safety , thats what M'sian are all about, under/oversteer , feedback , soft/hard/firm ride… doesnt matter cuz majority can't tell d difference ..huhuhuhu

• binarumah.com on Nov 12, 2009 at 3:39 am

waaa..at last volvo totally changed their design. no more facelift.

• V70T5 on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:01 am

it reminds me at V70 mk 3 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:3rd_Volvo_XC70_…

• zaff1984 on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:46 am

like it… but feel volvo interior is quite minimalist… I dont like minimalist interior because my iswara aeroback is already minimal inside or out… so i dont want that in my future car….lolz

• I like the Volvo design, but dared to its engine…

• nice evolution if the present design.problem is the rubber and plastic parts don't suit our tropical weather……my engine mounts and suspension bushings all had to be changed at 5 years……. and evry expensive.The turbo is fantastic for acceleration

• coolguru on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:51 am

This is a fab design!

Paul, no more S40 right as Volvo is simplifying there range of offers

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 12, 2009 at 8:06 am

when is the R variant coming out?

• i like it but the front looks abit too light

• kreeprh (Member) on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:22 pm

This is a fab design!

Paul, no more S40 right as Volvo is simplifying there range of offers

yes allready read it…. where is the heico and r design????? common volvo bring it…. “Luxury is about discovery"

• DukeKTM on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:19 pm

The headlamps kinda taken from new W212 E-class design…is it??

• volvo - fan on Nov 12, 2009 at 11:28 pm

it doesn't look good…
    It is crying. (the fog lamp is tear)

• jopop on Nov 13, 2009 at 3:14 am

feel right,yes definitely cool have a volvo car,The front head did look alike w212 e-class but it look more sharper and elegant,most impressive of this car is pedestrian detection it brilliant and smart design that i watched in youtube,with this system can save and grant safely but malaysia i guess it won't work instead some system call collision detection.

• Lexus Fan on Nov 13, 2009 at 4:38 am

Nice….front lamp likes GS….

• If that car as long got Turbos in it..I'll buy it!!

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 13, 2009 at 5:31 pm

i hope no chinese company is going to buy volvo

• Nice design, but the nose is too flat!

• blasting on Nov 14, 2009 at 3:11 am

body da lawa…tp dpn looks like E class mercedes jer…..hee…

• Abzaja on Nov 15, 2009 at 9:19 pm

I closed my eyes and imagine the color changed to white…then I get the new vios tuned by TRD! (front only)

• mohsin on Nov 15, 2009 at 10:08 pm

volvo is FORD

• intermilan on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:07 pm

the front unfortunately look like kinda korean to me… emm..

• Klu ada T5 model I want it..if it got good turbos- I want! If it can fit with Heico-Sportic stuff I want it….BUT IF it below 200k RM…I'll buy the car tomorrow…

• Azmir on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:28 am

Love it. I'm a volvo man. I'd buy it if had the money.

• Azmir on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:29 am

Love it. I'm a volvo man. I'd buy it if I had the money.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:40 am

yesh,,,,this is nice