MINI Countryman details and gallery released!

Earlier we posted up three leaked images of the MINI Countryman; now BMW has released full information and a complete gallery of the MINI brand’s fourth model. The Countryman crossover is MINI’s first four-door and first four-wheel drive vehicle – ALL4 all-wheel drive is an option. But don’t worry, the brand’s famed “go-kart feeling” is retained, BMW claims.

A choice of three petrol and two diesel engines are available, all Euro 5 compliant. The 1.6-litre four-cylinder petrol engine in the Cooper S combines fully variable valve management (Valvetronic) with a twin-scroll turbocharger and direct fuel injection for the first time, making 184 bhp and 240 Nm (260 Nm on overboost). 0-100 km/h is done in 7.6 seconds while top speed is 215 km/h. The 122 bhp/160 Nm naturally aspirated engine in the Cooper is good for 0-100 km/h in 10.5 seconds and a 190 km/h top speed. The entry level MINI One Countryman comes with an uninspiring 98 bhp and 153 Nm – vital stats are 12.7 seconds to 100 km/h and a 175 km/h top speed.

More popular in Europe will be the Cooper D, its variable turbine geometry equipped commonrail turbodiesel pushing out 112 bhp and a stout 270 Nm. 0-100 km/h in 10.9 sec and top speed of 180 km/h looks plain on paper, but real world performance should be great, as is the 22.7 km/l fuel consumption. Also available is the One D, with 90 bhp/215 Nm.

All versions come with a six-speed manual as standard. Petrol variants can be had with a six-speed Steptronic auto with steering shift paddles.

The optional permanent ALL4 all-wheel drive employs an electrohydraulic differential that sends up to 50 per cent power to the rear wheels in normal conditions, and up to 100 per cent under extreme conditions. The suspension is made up of front McPherson struts and forged track control arms to reduce torque steer and rear multi-link units. All versions can be had with sports suspension that lowers ride height by 10mm. The steering is an EPS system with Servotronic. BMW says that a range of John Cooper Works Performance Components will be available.

Inside, MINI highlights the Center Rail, an illuminated platform that runs the length of the cabin, allowing occupants to personalise their own space by clipping on holders, bins and armrests, besides plugging in audio or communication devices. The Center Rail ends after the front seats if you specify the three-seat rear bench (at no extra cost, four seats are standard).

And how big is the Countryman exactly? It measures 4,097mm, almost 400mm longer than a MINI hatchback while the wheelbase is 2,595mm, about the length of a C-segment saloon’s. Boot volume is 350 litres, expandable to 1,170 litres by folding the rear seats.

View the full gallery after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=782]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• squawk on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:42 am

The center rail is cool but it's just a nice-to-have.

• kamarul azhan on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:05 am

What a car, nice design, currently my father drive as MINI CLUBMAN, if he see this MINI COUNTRYMAN i'm sure he want to sell his current MINI and buy this one

• exactly hw big is it? i mean in terms of comparison to something else that we're quite familiar? is it suv like or a bigger mini?..someone?

• Alpha on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:28 am

Hey,this is kinda nice~~it looks really FUN!!and it looks sportier than the Cooper~~nice~~

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:29 am

no boot space, 350 litres is like….smaller than a volkswagen polo. its gonna be expensive for sure. really gonna be niche market. it cant be priced lower than a normal cooper. but, it's a lovely car.

• skiborne on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:33 am

cooper s has always been my favourite, but, as for this one, the front end look, i somehow prefer the Cooper over Cooper S. more modern in that sense.

• chuakz on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:40 am

lol….to me its kinda pointless….

• ago87 on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:12 am

This Mini is very nice…Like it very muchiiii…

• toyoltak on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:15 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 20, 2010 @ 9:29 pm

no boot space, 350 litres is like….smaller than a volkswagen polo.

That is why the name is MINI…. next time check dictionary laa…

• Alex Khoo on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:18 am

The car actually looks quite good! Lol at the center dash design of the speedometer + aircon vents. Kinda reminds me of Mickey Mouse. =)

• shawal on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:25 am

Like all Minis…pointless.. but wont stop people from buying

Interior is a bit claustrophobic…

white 1 is nice, blue interior is a no-no,

• clarke on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:48 am

ewww. I'm for a 4 door MINI but keep it down low; if ur going 4×4 go higher &/or 2dr. 4x4s which can't go off road r pointless

• Tiadaid on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:56 am

BMW's getting good at creating a niche where there is no demand for it! First it was the X6 SUT, now this… what's next, the revival of the Isetta bubble car? Although there could be a demand for that if they electrify it.

• ago87 on Jan 21, 2010 at 8:20 am

toyoltak said,

January 20, 2010 @ 10:15 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

no boot space, 350 litres is like….smaller than a volkswagen polo.

That is why the name is MINI…. next time check dictionary laa…

So pity with Mazda 3 MPS,always kena bash by paultan's readers…..may be you should change ur nick name…hehe…

• ago87 on Jan 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

no boot space, 350 litres is like….smaller than a volkswagen polo. its gonna be expensive for sure. really gonna be niche market. it cant be priced lower than a normal cooper. but, it’s a lovely car.

—————————————————-

Please read this one:

Boot volume is 350 litres, expandable to 1,170 litres by folding the rear seats.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 21, 2010 at 8:46 am

Tiadaid said,

January 20, 2010 @ 10:56 pm

BMW’s getting good at creating a niche where there is no demand for it! First it was the X6 SUT, now this… what’s next, the revival of the Isetta bubble car? Although there could be a demand for that if they electrify it.

————————————-

hmm….however, there are demand for those cars. if they do launch the isetta bubble car. they're probably gonna dominate a large portion of the car industry.

• turbo (Member) on Jan 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

fyi….obviously many are unaware BMW is once again world's #1 premium car manufacturer and has been for the last few years…and that for a reason…it has been cutting niches in segments and markets with somewhat bold, crazy with unthinkable designs or crossovers which to most of us are utterly fugly and unacceptable but guess what..they sold in numbers! X6 = 6000+ units just in China in ‘09…so no takers?..i don’t think so…

ps: additionally more than 16000 units 7 series and more than 10000 units X5 sold in '09 in the newly crowned largest car market in the world…that’s numbers for u…sound crazy but true.

• jimbet on Jan 21, 2010 at 9:29 am

4wd? make it 2 litre turbo 300hp!

• rickyll on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Nice car. For those who could not afford it, try get a Kelisa and send it to some ah beng workshop for modifications, I am sure the end results would definitely be very surprising.

• khaix19a on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:26 pm

remind me about cayenne

• sons of Tan Sri, on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:26 pm

MINI (SPACE) = BIG (MONEY)

————————-

• lchan on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:27 pm

looks pretty ugly.

• King Samurai on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Radical design cue…as always for Mini & BMW..poeple may criticizes, bash whatsoever but they still have the numbers.

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:44 pm

it looks seriously cool

• Neo.S on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:12 pm

look like a Premium Myvi hahahahahaha

but of cause this look like a teenage outdoor fun car

• mofidz on Jan 21, 2010 at 8:00 pm

mini is getting BIGGER, plus 4 doors, kind a loose the sentimental value.. they should come out with Mr. Bean concept ;)

• Over priced junk…. why should I pay 100 over ringgit for a mini.

Doesnt make any sense…..This no better than Suzuki Swift Sport…

I cant understand…..

• Road Thunder on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:27 pm

If it’s 100 over ringgit, I would buy over a thousand Minis.
      Get your English correct bro – I think you meant over a hundred thousand ringgit.

• 90k PA on Jan 21, 2010 at 9:20 pm

U buy it bcoz it's a frickin Mini.

A swift is just a car.anybody can buy it.

u buy a car to show how much disposable income u have.

dont have em-dont buy em.buy em but cant afford em later-no worries-the repo man will b there soon…knockin on yr dorrs!!!!!

• gangully on Jan 21, 2010 at 11:41 pm

90k PA, i second that!

Netz, before you call things junk, justify why you think it is a junk first. How is it equivalent to a Suzuki Swift Sport? which if the Mini Countryman is no better than, means is JUNK TOO!

• Neo.S on Jan 22, 2010 at 12:01 am

well………one word…..ppl find it joy . is the market define the value and is the manufacturer make it abit more than the market expected.

• stupid car, looks damn ugly

• jimbet on Jan 22, 2010 at 5:33 am

yeah yeah yeah your myvi is better :P

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:49 am

buy toyota rush better lol

• Michael on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Awesome design, lines are very cool and true to the mini styling. I think this car will do well in the states and believe that I might own on in the future.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Michael said,

January 22, 2010 @ 1:16 pm

Awesome design, lines are very cool and true to the mini styling. I think this car will do well in the states and believe that I might own on in the future.

————————–

dono why but the ideas of lindsay lohan's mini countryman crashing into britney spears mini countryman keep popping in my mind

• grandad's car… yeah ;-)

• maymay on Feb 04, 2010 at 1:55 am

grandad's car… yeah ;-)