F11 BMW 5-Series Touring – first looks

BMW has unveiled the wagon version of the new 5-Series, and it’s called the BMW 5-Series Touring, which I find amusing because the “Touring” seems to have a larger storage area than the “GRAND Touring” model. Less is more? This is the proper estate with a huge boot space – starts at 560 litres and goes up to a maximum of 1,670 litres by folding down the 40:20:40 split rear seats, which are also individually inclinable by 11 degrees in 7 stages by the way!

All of the new stuff that made its debut in the new F10 Sedan is also found in the Touring model such as the new range of engines, Electric Power Steering on all models and the new 8-speed automatic transmission that is optional in Europe but will no doubt be standard here in Malaysia as at that price point, not many people are interested in manually operating the clutch!

I’ve also found out that the iDrive system’s featureset has been expanded in the latest version. There are news and RSS reader functions with text to speech so you can listen (and not read) the latest while driving. Your navigation point of interest database can now be supplemented by Google Maps, though without the option of BMW ConnectedDrive’s wireless EDGE model here in Malaysia you probably won’t be able to use this.

The audio system can now also play audio from a Bluetooth Audio Streaming source other than the existing CD, USB, iPod and aux in sources. The Bluetooth featureset has also been expanded beyond the new audio streaming feature – iDrive can now display SMS, tasks, memos and calendar entries all from your mobile phone through the new “Office” function.

Look after the jump for a hi-res gallery along with the full release and a video.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=961]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Azham on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:38 pm

whats the automatic symbol near the start/stop button Paul?

• Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:43 pm

That's probably to turn the Auto Start/Stop function off.

• Thomas on Mar 14, 2010 at 6:39 pm

I wonder when Mercedes-Benz will update their Command APS Multimedia system… The i-Drive Multimedia system is just excellent.

• ago87 on Mar 14, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Nicer than current model…But those called Rakyat won't buy car in this segment.

• mitlanevo on Mar 14, 2010 at 6:58 pm

a wagon with awful new look of 5-series, ntg much to cheer about.

• Starting like the New 5 series with this model~~especially the rear looks like mini SUV.

• theanswer on Mar 14, 2010 at 7:15 pm

i still prefer wagon from volvo.

• wait till the m version comes out…tat will be one super wagon..

• Squawk on Mar 14, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Looks better than X5.

• Anonymous on Mar 14, 2010 at 8:19 pm

lol …. typical malaysians.. cant afford it but very good at giving comments on fantastic GERMAN engineered machines. If cant afford it dont complain about how it looks. We can only DREAM about this luxury perfomance cars.

• Toyota people are th on Mar 14, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Looks better than the 5 saloon but the E-estate looks majestic. Interior the 5 is better, I like the Office application too. Any idea when we could skype in BMW?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm

lovely lovely lovely. This looks even better than the saloon but….nobody is gonna buy this here. Damn the MPV

• like to have this superb wagon! never drive wagon before..how it feels driving wagon..hmm

• wow. really nice car. what's the engine capacity of this car?

wanna ask my dad to get one of this when it arrives in Malaysia. 0.0 sexaaayyy~~

• Nice car. Hate the red light at the door.

• xu wen chao on Mar 14, 2010 at 11:57 pm

this kind of wagon will only suit the American. huhu… damn good looking funeral car…

• I have always prefered a wagon to a sedan. Surely a looker, but then again, nobody builds a better wagon than Volvo

• niuhje on Mar 15, 2010 at 12:26 am

hush puppy…hush… nice

• Ben X5 on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:14 am

Wow.. this would be a great car :P.. if u can guess i think in Singapore this car should be able to attract more buyers.. due to the extra boot space..

but in malaysia we don see any ppl interested :P.. in malaysia for the price we can buy a Land cruiser or even prados.. but well depends on individual..

Auto start Stop.. i think one of the bmw ppl told me before.. its kinda like if u leave the car without pressing the Star/Stop button, the car can auto send the key leaving the vehicle hence, locking the car and after awhile off the engine.. i think :P..

Paul do find out hehe.. its kinda interesting this keyless technology :D

• bryan.jones on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:57 am

this car completely represent the pointless of producing 5-series GT….

• William on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:30 am

Best buy! Buy 1 BMW free 1 dog!!! =) *wagon car probably wont market well in malaysia

• theanswer on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:38 am

anonymous,

based on ur own 'rules', the one who can gives comment must be able to afford the car rite? then this blog no use lah. because not all ppl can afford to buy a bmw car. i bet simon cowell cant sing as good as adam lambert, but did ppl stop him from giving a comment? no! just because u like the car(and maybe u can afford it..maybe la kan..) doesnt mean tht others must follow u. ape daa..

• theanswer on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:41 am

never drives a wagon too..but been in wagon once..driven by my fren.. but not luxury or super wagon.. nissan ad resort. hehehe

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:48 am

Ah! The perfect car for the Stray Cat !!

• haywire on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:24 am

Ben X5,

The Auto Start Stop is the functionality to save fuel..whenever the car stops for a certain period of time (e.g at the traffic lights) the car engine will turn off instead of idling. When the lights turn green and you press the pedal the engine will start again and you'll move without delay. The function has been available in europe for a while, but as an optional extra. Thats not new technology.

People in Europe likes wagon because they needs the space but dont like the driving experience of 4x4s, the wagons still drives like it brother the saloons.

• haywire on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:29 am

From BMW's website:

If the engine's not running, it's not using any fuel.

The Auto Start Stop function automatically switches off the engine when the car is at a standstill and in neutral, then restarts it as soon as the driver presses the clutch pedal again. Fitted for example to all BMW 1 and 3 Series models with a four-cylinder engine and manual transmission, the Auto Start Stop function helps reduce both fuel consumption and emissions.

• haywire on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:31 am

Clever way to save fuel: the Auto Start Stop function turns off the engine each time the vehicle comes to a complete halt – such as at traffic lights – and restarts it automatically. A reduction in fuel consumption is the result.

The principle is simple: if the engine is not running, it cannot consume fuel. The Auto Start Stop function turns off the engine whenever it is not needed. In a traffic jam or in stop-and-go traffic, simply putting your BMW into neutral and taking your foot from the clutch will activate the function. "Start Stop" on the Info Display signals that the engine has been turned off.

To set off again, just put your BMW back into gear: the moment you depress the clutch, the engine immediately springs back to life and you can drive on without a moment's delay.

Driving comfort and driving safety are not affected by the Auto Start Stop function. The function is not activated, for example, until the engine has reached the ideal running temperature. The same applies if the air conditioner has not yet brought the cabin to the desired temperature, if the battery is not adequately charged or if the driver moves the steering wheel.

The Auto Start Stop function is coordinated by a central control unit that monitors data from all relevant sensors, the starter motor and the alternator. If necessary for comfort or safety, the control unit will automatically restart the engine: for example, if the vehicle begins to roll, the battery charge falls too low or condensation forms on the windscreen.

Furthermore, the system also recognises the difference between a temporary stop and the end of the trip. It will not restart the engine if driver's seatbelt is undone, or if the door or bonnet is open. If desired, the Auto Start Stop function can be completely deactivated with the press of a button.

When used consistently, the Auto Start Stop function delivers significant reductions in fuel consumption and CO2 emissions.

• c14man on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:35 am

does starting the engine consumes more fuel?

is it true most friction damage to piston and cylinder occurs during starting the engine?

does it drains out the battery faster if one keeps turning off and starting the engine?

does this all translate to higher maintenance cost?

• haywire on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm

If BMW designed all that I'm sure they do it properly and woulnt affect the engine in a bad way. They would've figured it all out. Its like warming up your engine in the morning..nobody officially ever tell you to do that..even in BMW manual book tell you to start the engine and drive off straight away…and NOT to warm the engine first.

• raja azhar on Mar 16, 2010 at 12:36 am

when will this car be launched in asia? coz i want my mom to get it :D

• Anonymous on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:54 am

the answer, what does simon cowell has got to do with BMW ? U dont know me and pls dont ASSUME what car i can afford and what car i cant afford. This is what i call a 'TYPICAL' Malaysian. Low mentality.. dissapointing.

• ugly…

• Gajen on Mar 16, 2010 at 5:32 am

not bad….looks huge man

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 18, 2010 at 3:23 am

lovely