Peugeot Automotive Design Network – The Lion’s Den

Back in April, we were privileged to be part of the international press launch of the Peugeot RCZ, which is not only great to look at, but very nice to drive as well (click here to read the report). The event took us to the Basque country in northern Spain, but local Peugeot distributor Nasim Sdn Bhd made extra effort to organise a visit to PSA Peugeot Citroën’s Automotive Design Network (ADN) located in Velizy, a small suburb just outside Paris.

ADN was opened back in 2004 at a cost of 130 million euros to PSA Peugeot Citroën, and while both French brands share this facility, their respective design studios are separate, an arrangement described as “a solution that promotes healthy competition”. Housing about 900 employees from more than 20 countries, this 70,000 square metre 3-storey building acts as a “genetic nursery” for Peugeot. I suppose you could say that the new Peugeot design language found on the 508 was born here.

ADN is entirely dedicated to automobile design, including conducting, applying and enhancing the engineering and design studies that precede and support the creation process. It is equipped with resources for R&D, creation (styling studios), as well as for producing prototypes (milling machines, paint and assembly workshops). Models from 1:1 scale units, see through models to fully working concept cars are made here.

Security was very tight (two huge guys who look like club bouncers accompanied us the whole time) and our cameras weren’t allowed in so unfortunately we can’t show you what we saw. Passing through a labyrinth of corridors and stairs, we arrived at the Virtual Reality Center, where we were allowed to experiment with 3D simulation tools such as the Holobench, Scale 1 screen and the Cave system. It was like being in the Motion Master but with the ability to touch and effect the elements.

Peugeot Automotive Design Network – The Lion’s DenWe were also brought to a huge dome-roofed arena with the Peugeot 408 parked in the middle. Here, the car’s chief designer Ivo Groen walked us through the 308-based sedan’s design, aided by remote controlled lighting from direct, overhead daylight to artificial light. Apparently, the unit we saw and sat in was the first full working model that was shown to Peugeot bosses.

The lively Groen, who owns an Alfa Romeo GTV6 and a 1971 Lamborghini Espada among other cars, explained that the choice of a more subtle face over the “wide mouthed” look familiar to us was intentional, as the sedan is meant to be less aggressive and controversial. The strips of chrome around the car are to evoke elegance. In the metal, the 408’s proportions are tidy for a “converted” sedan, and the very simple rear end reminded me of the 406.

Earlier this month, Peugeot and Naza penned a deal for the latter to assemble a three-box C-segment car, which most likely is the 408, although the “408” name is for the Chinese market and isn’t confirmed for ours. Assembly of this model, codenamed T73, will begin in the second quarter of 2011.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The Loner on Jul 28, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Is it just for Malaysia only? If Malaysia to be the hub for this region, the vehicles assembled must include manual transmission version to be assembled.

Check on Thailand’s Ford Fiesta, even though the distributor there wants all autos for Fiesta but the vehicle is assmebled at the plant there for local and regional export, manual transmission must be included for local or else local people will complain few options to choose.

• bobdbilder on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:27 am

I think the Fiesta only has manual for the 1.4liter. But yes, I miss driving a manual Pug. Even that CBT guy that replies the SMSes is trying to garner support for models with manual transmission.

Have you ever counted how long it is for your Tiptronic to drop one gear? Not inspiring when you’re in a hurry trying to clip that apex doesn’t it? Its probably the only thing that’s why I’m not buying a bigger cc car and the Fiat is just too…. Fiat.

• Cosmos on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:50 am

bob,

then you would need to anticipate the turn and adapt yourself to the car if the tiptronic is slow. this means dropping the tip a split second earlier than the apex so that the gear change occurs precisely at the time you want it to. that’s what i do with my 206 and i have no problems with it.

• bobdbilder on Jul 29, 2010 at 12:24 pm

It’s a bit of a bother when you’re taking the first corner and at the same time, thinking of the next one. But I’d guess it’ll take some time to getting used to. Wonder how good it is in dropping two gears?

• manual car – ??the root of increasing accident in malaysia…….

• motorist on Jul 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Aiyoh, how many here can honestly say they didnt kopi money their driver’s license?

I dare say almost 100% of ladies drivers kopi money driver’s license.

How can our driving standard even reach normal standard (like driving a manual) when it’s common knowledge that kopi money license is the norm.

• squawk on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:58 am

I never gave any and passed on the 1st round.

I am of the opinion auto is the cause of many accidents here because there’s no engine braking. That’s the only explanation I can think of regarding those car park accidents e.g. cars crashing through walls and barriers.

• akmal on Jul 29, 2010 at 8:08 am

great technology use to design a car,i wonder if proton RnD use it.

• 308 is great

• nabill on Jul 29, 2010 at 3:18 pm

a great gearbox is when it adapts to ur driving rather than the otherway around….

• Yup. Totally agreed but when you get a gearbox that is not what you wanted but in a car that is overall a pretty well sorted deal, I guess it can be overlooked by some people who are willing to accept something slightly less than perfect.

Of course, everybody wants the best of everything in anything but I also suppose it is an utopian dream that will never come true.

• and responds to your command instantly! thats why manual is the best.u’re totally in control