BMW Vision EfficientDynamics Concept to spawn production sports car in 2013!

It’s official – the 2+2 seater BMW Vision EfficientDynamics Concept hybrid sports car will go into series production. The concept was powered by a 1.5 litre inline-3 turbodiesel engine, a synchronous hybrid motor at the front axle and a full hybrid engine at the rear axle to produce a total output of 328 horsepower, taking the Vision EfficientDynamics Concept up to 100km/h in a rapid 4.8 seconds.

The car’s lithium polymer battery packs allows it to run on battery power alone for up to 50km and can be charged to full capacity in about 2 and a half hours via a conventional power socket. Otherwise, the diesel engine’s fuel tank is 24 litres in size, which is said to be able to boost range up to a maximum of 700km, of course I’m assuming if all that is done is hard driving, range will be significantly less.

I wonder what series the production version will be called, or perhaps it will just be called the BMW Vision EfficientDynamics? How much will it cost? The car will roll out in 2013, about 3 years from now.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1670]
[zenphotopress number=99 album=460]

VIDEO: BMW Vision EfficientDynamics Clip #2VIDEO: BMW Vision EfficientDynamics 3D Promo FootageVIDEO: First BMW Vision EfficientDynamics Clip

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• qozh moreno on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:28 pm

wow…. the future….

• 328hp, 0-100 in 4.8 seconds, range up to 700km, and it’s a hybrid..

wow..

• Carl Wong on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:49 am

Turbo-diesel hybrid = the FUTURE I think. The design looks sooo futuristic too, I like it :).

• Amiran on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:55 am

A future sport car by BMW riding on ‘tayar sotong’? What I can see is thin front tyres! Power saving…
    Another aspect in this car is the old (bad) element… I mean just look at that wiper! They dont know (or forget) to hide the thing, do they? At that position, you can watch the wiper ‘dancing’ on your screen at speed above 140kmh.

• kerete ni baru testing jela…. tak confirm agi design die camne….. jgn nak tuduh je….

• Gangguly on Nov 06, 2010 at 11:43 am

Another great engineer/car designer that bmw missed out on…tell me Amiran, how many years hv you been in the car designing arena n how does it feel like working in toyota?

• Unknown on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Hey Amiran, pls stop talking cock and this is a typical example of a malaysia mentality. Wtf is tayar sotong? Anyway if u dont like it u can drive ur toyota, proton or whatever shit that ur driving. This is the future and no other car manufacturer is gonna come close in terms of technology and innovation. ( Ferrari, Lamboghini’s are included). By the way u can only dream of this car eventhough it looks like a ‘ tayar sotong’ to you. Pls stop talking bullshit about cars where even if u sell ur testicles u wont be able to afford one. BMW Power.

• Ha ha… how many BMWs have you own/driven? How long is your BMs driving history?

• bmpower on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:18 pm

This videos give me the creep, but a good kind of creep

• rossi46 on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Diesel hybrid make more sense, diesel are more powerful & frugal than a petrol . . .add a batery pack = better than a petrol hybrid . . .cleaner wt lower co2

• rossi46 on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:00 am

come to think of it….conventional (non-nuclear) submarine had always been a diesel hybrid …; ) (our own subs too)