F10 BMW 5-Series gets new 2.0L turbocharged inline-4

BMW has revised the F10 5-Series model range, with these new engines added for the September 2011 production. Most of the updates concern four cylinder engines, but keep reading and there’ll be something for the inline-6 and V8 fans.

First up is a new variant called the BMW 520i, which will feature the new 184hp/270Nm 2.0 litre inline four cylinder engine that was first announced for the X1. The 520i does 0 to 100km/h in 8 seconds.

Next up is an updated 528i, which dumps its 3.0 litre inline-6 engine for a higher powered version of the 2.0 litre turbo four pot in the 520i, thanks to increased boost pressure and a revised fuel injection system. As expected from the power ratings in the X1 and Z4, the new 528i makes 245hp and 350Nm, propelling the sedan to 100km/h in 6.3 seconds.

The oil burner 525d has also got 2 cylinders lopped off but it gains one extra turbocharger – it is now powered by a 2.0 litre four cylinder engine with two turbos, an engine that was previously only found in smaller cars like the 123d. The new four cylinder 525d makes 218hp and 450Nm of torque.

There’s also a new version of the 520d that’s called the 520d EfficientDynamics, which retains the same 184hp/380Nm power output but gets 10% better mileage thanks to low rolling resistance tyres on Streamline design alloy wheels, a longer final drive ratio for lower engine RPM during highway cruising, and a range of other EfficientDynamics features such as Auto Start-Stop, Optimum Gearshift Indicator, Brake Energy Regeneration and Active Aerodynamics.

The 530d and the 535d also gets some revisions to their 3.0 litre turbodiesel inline-6 engines. The 530d now has 13% better fuel consumption, while the 535d gets a power boost up to 313hp, up from 300hp.

The four cylinder and six cylinder F10 now also faetures the new ECO-PRO button, which adjusts engine mapping, throttle sensitivity, automatic gearshift points, where applicable, and the amount of power consumed by electrical ancillaries including climate control and heated seats. We first saw this ECO-PRO button in the new 1-Series.

We’ll update you as soon as any of these changes roll down to our Malaysian market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 02, 2011 at 4:04 am

Good to see Beemer finally realising there’s no point just preaching diesel power, u can never deny petrol heads market, at least that’s what VW, Audi and Merc are doing.

• Michael on Jul 02, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Yes I am happy to hear this. But what about pricing? Traditionally, all over the world, the 520i petrol is priced slightly cheaper than the 520d.

So if the 520d is RM333,000, the 520i must be about RM320,000. Oh yeah, BMW, we don’t want extra accessories. We want the 520i to have the same spec as the current 520d.

Please don’t bump up the accessories and price it at RM383,800 again.

It will be fun to see how they price the car. Infact, if the car remains at RM383,800, I am moving towards a Mercedes E250Cgi.

It will be fun to see if they price the 528i, being a 2.0 engine at RM450,000. People going to say, “huh RM450k for a 2.0 4 cyclinder car?”

• Borderless on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Dude, you know that the RM400k E250CGI has a 4 cylinder 1.8L engine rite? How come you are not saying ‘huh’ to that?

• one two three on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:17 pm

ignorant? ;)

• Because he is a UPSR student that try to be a Smart Alec.

• Mathan on Jul 03, 2011 at 4:37 pm

BMW used to say you pay a premium for a 6 cyclinder. But now, 4 cyclinder, it has to come down a lot.. Btw, E250 is RM400k but 528i is RM450. A big difference in price.

• Mathan on Jul 03, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Its ok, at least he is wants the car to be cheaper. There are 2 types of commentators here. One, genuine buyers. Second, only dreamers. The only dreamers category don’t care about price, they just talk talk talk. The genuine buyers, mostly who work hard for their money, want the best deal they can get.

• Vincent on Jul 04, 2011 at 1:16 am

Bro, trust me, at the segment, price is not elastic to sales. Buyer want feel of superior and premium.

Those who want cheaper price, they will get recond unit.

That the reason why BMW CkD the car and only give rm15 k price down.

• gavin on Jul 02, 2011 at 4:19 am

AHHH

TURBOS

TURBO DIESELS!!!

I WANT!!

• ayamxxx on Jul 02, 2011 at 7:28 am

I’ sure it will have many problem with this engine in future. Even with NA engine, many bm owner had experienced a lot of problem with a bm car

• imbarabbit on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:02 am

8 seconds for such a huge car with that amount of power and torque is pretty impressive. How fast is the R3?

• Muddy on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:11 am

ED? Sounds more like Erectile Dysfunction…

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:15 am

So sensitive about ED, must be a personal experience.

• Apalalu on Jul 02, 2011 at 9:43 am

Bmw, this just a suggestion.
    520i – 2.0t 184hp
    523i – 2.0t 230hp
    528i – 3.0t 280hp
    535i – 3.0t 326hp
    I believe the above presents the line up better. 528i but only
    4 cylinder? Does not sound right.

• Klbloke on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:16 pm

It’s all about downsizing these days.. In Malaysia it’s workable! Look at our road tax structure.. Everything above 2000cc the road tax starts to balloon.
      Always have faith in German technology ok? Look at VW with their GTI and TSI engine.. Ever hear anyone complaining?? Even the Passat CC is using the 2.0 turbo charges engine. Waiting list is more than 6 months!!
      Have you ever read about Proton’s plan to introduce turbo charged tech to Exora??

• Apalalu on Jul 03, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Bro, vw is not in the same class ok.
        In msia at least, if u can afford a 400k car then you wont bother about a 1.5k
        Road tax. But using a 528i moniker with only a 4 banger inside doesn’t sound
        right. 325i, 328i, 525i, 528i has always been equipped with 6 cyl eng. To bimmer
        fans you dont own a bmw if it aint a 6 cyl.

• Vincent on Jul 04, 2011 at 1:20 am

We have to wait and try. However, for those who try 6 cylinder car before, hardly will go back to 4.

To me, a e39 525 218 hp is any time feel good then the 2005 e200k.

• Klbloke on Jul 04, 2011 at 3:14 pm

I’m on 6 cylinder engine and I have no qualm of getting 4 cylinders one as long as the power is still there. Just trying to do my part for the environment :)

By the way, E39 525i only has 192hp due to it’s M54 engine. Newer E60 end of 2005 onwards only have N52 with 218hp engine.

• phas3r on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:05 pm

e39 525i only has 192PS/hp

• Klbloke on Jul 04, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Actually I do :) I own E60 525 M-Sport & paying more than RM2k++ for road tax. It’s company owned hence the higher than normal rate. From business point of view, whatever $$$ saved is $$$ earned!

BMW has perfected its in-line 6 engine and everyone is raving on this fact. But if you look at the trend, they are going to downsize engine in near future to do their part for the environment. Smaller engine = lesser omission of CO2. But how ate they going to keep up the hp & torque? Turbo-charged is the solution.

My dad owns E250 CGI with 1.8 litre engine.. 204hp! Drove it and it felt great! Comparable to my 2.5 litre 218hp engine.

Bear in mind that if you are into high performance cars.. They still have M5 V8 engine for you to buy

• Alexander Gan on Jul 06, 2011 at 3:41 pm

BMW Loyal customers are disappointed. Loyal BMW buyers waited for the CKD hoping cheaper prices, but BMW screwed all the loyal fans by selling the CKD RM15,000 less and justifying it by giving stupid options. Stupid options like back vent aircons etc.

BMW also said the F10 price got to be high because it is a 2.5. They said if 2.0, prices can be like the old E60 at RM343,000.

Now we wait and see. The new 5 series will have the new 2.0L engines. The 520d is priced at RM333,800. Globally, the 520d is more expensive than the 520i. Now with the F10 2.0L in the 5 series, lets see whether they actually reduce prices as this will be a 2.0 litre engine thus lower taxes.

• Shhhhhh. Thanks. on Jul 02, 2011 at 9:48 am

Dayumm. Look at those rims.

• unlogic on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:05 pm

I’m not against downsizing engine with turbo but you pay a lot $$$ for a BMW and you just get 4-cylinder engine. I know BMW engine is good and smoother than average Japanese and Korean 4-cylinder but BMW should consider 2.0 V6 engine in the future.

• Borderless on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Why don’t you create one and sell the design to BMW? Do remember that it has to be as efficient and generates as much power as their puny 4 cylinder. Good luck dude

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:22 am

don quite give a damn on the ego about 4 cylinder or 6 cylinder. pay 2.0 road tax. i pay less road tax than mr. camry 2.4, mr mazda 6 2.4 etc and yet beat them in anything. thank you bmw…..now if only we can drive this engine in malaysia or not? =) lets hope for the best.

• White Jack on Jul 03, 2011 at 7:22 am

Soon we will see 1.6T plant in BMW 325i ? and you say “what ? 1600cc with 280K price tag ? ” hehe …

• Now you can have a UDM with super hot hatch chasing performance with rm300+ r/tax…

• KLdude on Jul 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm

hi all, i agree with bmw power forever..no matter whether the new 5 is installed with a 4 cyclinder or a 6 cylinder, i am sure it is going to be an awesome engine since it is from bmw! currently i am driving an old 5 with the 2.2 ltr in-line 6 engine..it would be interesting to compare it to the new 4 cylinder engine..hopefully bmw malaysia launches the car soon so that we get to test drive and buy the car if we are satisfied with the power output..:)

• Hi there! I wonder if anyone knows when exactly the new 520 and 528 will be for sale in Malaysia! I called up BMW and its dealers but nobody seems to know anything about it!! Any suggestion where should I call to check about it?

• afiq986 on Jan 08, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Later, the S Class comes with a 1.8 litre engine, those commenter will say… wtf? wth? what la this that blablabla….Some people just do not get it. Downsizing is the way now…. if you want a 6/8/12 cylinder you can always buy….but to me its just numbers…. price an cylinders nowadays do not correlate… at the end of the day, its the whole package you’re looking at…=)