F30 BMW 3-Series: first clear aerial view of the car

At long last, we finally get a clear undisguised view of the upcoming F30 BMW 3-Series. These shots are courtesy of a F30Post forumer, who snapped the F30 from above while it was on a shoot in Spain. The car you see here will probably end up being the same car in the F30’s future press publicity photos, and if that’s the case the colour you see here will be the launch colour for the car.

It really looks like a smaller F10, but with a much more youthful and sharp front end – check out the angle of the headlamps towards the kidney grilles. There’s also a glimpse of the interior which reveals that the car will have the option of a heads up display system. The iDrive screen is also the pop up style which first made its debut on the F12/F13 6-Series.

Look after the jump for two more shots.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vw_fan on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:58 pm

looks good?

cant really tell. haha

• alldisc on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:15 am

IMHO – oversized. like E90. the E46 was fitting just nice…

• kwing on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:09 pm

looks pretty big …but i guess mayb just the camera angle…

• 4545er on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:15 am

an e90 is much more handsome..especially the ///M3 apalagi kalu GTS

• seriously looks just like a mini F10 5 series!!!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:28 am

front like X1 i guess, tail light like f10 shape…interior abit like x1 also (pop up), steerling wheel button change to f10 type, gear similar to x1 or f10 type.

I think i am 80-90% accurate :)

• Coolman on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:32 am

Definitely some resemblance of F10…..

• baby 5 series!! Btw the hud comes as standard

• Way better than E90!

• Lim Kopi on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:30 am

Great !!

Looks alot like the outgoing car …. :)

• Can’t stir up my desire to have one, Mercedes and Audi still won. BMW always looks better in grey silver, this colour does not enhance the profile.

• BMW have motorcycles lah… Mercedes and Audi don’t have… BMW still wins on German motorcycle segment…

• BMW bike can’t even match the sales of kawasaki, ducati way too far to reach. LOL
        Audi Mercedes don’t make bike same reason like how BMW don’t sell commercial vehicles.

Hardcore BMW fans always be hardcore, one will still pay for it regardless how it turns out to be.

I would rather get a used 135 coupe than paying for the similar package sedan, unless 2.0 litre turbo is in at the next launch.

• only a fool would buy a 4 cyl audi or mercedes, if its going to be a 4 cyl anyway – why not just buy a toyota or proton?

• Sleek and dynamic, I like! :)

• tattoo sleeves on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:17 am

nice.

• Kumar on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:36 am

Hopefully this new 3 series will not breakdown as often as the BMW F10 5 Series. Aaaiyoo, all my friends got the F10, complain like mad, malfunction like crazy. But I suspect its going to give lots of problems as it will have more gadgets and electronics being a newer car

• i think there is a mistake…the f30 or the new 2012 6 series don’t have the pop up idrive….its a thin HD anti-glare screen which is fixed on top of the aircond vent.

• blue-traveler on Aug 17, 2011 at 10:45 am

From the pics, It looks like finally BMW is getting into the side mirror signal trend. I don’t know why, but i personally do like the signal on side mirror “thing”. And this coming out 3, has the “HUD”. Arrrrrr. I Want to cancel my 523 order, now. I want he HUD. But 528 is a bit too ex for me now, with ongoing other commitments. I think I’m going to cry now in my office. And then I’m going to call BMW. For real.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 17, 2011 at 6:09 pm

from a 5 to 3? if i can buy 5, why i consider 3?

• 5 to 3 isn’t really a downgrade and a 3 to 5 isn’t really an upgrade, don’t be fooled by the numbering system – it’s the engines that determine whether it’s an upgrade or a downgrade….

example: 523i to a 335i is an upgrade!

• lala loco on Aug 17, 2011 at 11:26 am

omg bmw has just become predictable n boring.. this is conservative.. bring chris bangle back

• the new f30 and the 2012 6 series use a fixed HD anti-glare screen. Not a POP UP screen!!!

• Not a good time to buy current 3er. Better looking than existing 3rd.

• Roti John on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm

I wish I had money.

• coolcar on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:42 pm

This car will be an epic.
    No wonder Merc and Audi’s sales will forever never catch BMW.

• I wonder whats going on with the dash.. Looks new.. Center Dash looks deeper.. But i would say this looks better than the current one.. Something to look forward to :)

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm

im loving it

• Rosmah on Aug 17, 2011 at 10:58 pm

I will sell off bits of my precious diamond ring for this.

• niuhje on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:08 am

Sat foto ke? UAV? so grainy…

• Unforgiven on Aug 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm

E90 320i is approx RM3.8k per month for 5 years. How many ppl can afford?

• JeffLim on Aug 18, 2011 at 10:13 pm

I still prefer the Audi A4 2.0 TDi S-line over this… I wish Audi can bring in the 54mpg diesel. This baby has 143hp/320Nm torque but ECU highly tunable. Will Pawned the 320d!!!

• biMMer on Aug 20, 2011 at 6:49 pm

sweeeet!! My dream car!!

• speedracer on Oct 13, 2011 at 2:18 am

wow looks good..! Gone the flame theme design..i think bimmer design these days are modern, clean, muscular and very mature..hwever it lacks a tiny bit of the garangness we’ve seen during Bangle’s era..look at the latest M5…tengok pun macam nak tido terus…tak steam bai!!