BMW Malaysia launches F10 M5 and new Z4 variants

We’re back from Bukit Kiara Equestrian Park, where the BMW Malaysian Open 2012 women’s tennis event is happening. No, it’s not for the sport (Sweet Caroline and Dangerous Daniela not present, so never mind!), but for two hot models of the four-wheeled variety. BMW Malaysia has unveiled the F10 M5 and new variants of the Z4 roadster.

Let’s start with the M5. This is the fifth generation model to wear the famous M5 badge, and from the E60’s 5.0L V10, M has followed the downsizing trend, using turbos to replace displacement. Under the hood sits a 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8. This engine has twin scroll turbos, a single exhaust manifold serving each cylinder bank, BMW’s HPI direct injection, Valvetronic infinitely variable inlet valve lift control and double Vanos.

All these combine to push out 560 hp and 680 Nm of torque. Despite being 600 cc and two cylinders down on the old V10, power is up by 10%, while torque is improved by 30%. The 0-100 km/h run is therefore done in just 4.3 seconds – this is an executive saloon that Ferraris need to beware of! Redline is at 7,200 rpm.

Power goes through a seven-speed M DCT twin-clutch transmission, which drives the rear axle’s Active M Differential. Consuming an average of 9.9 litres of petrol per 100 km, the F10 M5 is 30% more frugal – this, combined with a larger 80L fuel tank, translates to a range extension of more than 50%. BMW Efficient Dynamics features such as brake energy regeneration and auto start/stop are standard.

And as noted in our post two days ago, where we saw the M5 in covers, BMW Malaysia chose the multi-spoke 19-inch wheels instead of the star spoke 20-inch items. The wheels hide blue painted six-pot brake calipers. The signature colour seen here is Monte Carlo Blue.

We’ve already put up a comprehensive post on the F10 M5 with a mega high res gallery – click here to link to it. The M5 is priced at RM898,800 on the road, without insurance and BMW Service Inclusive + Repair. The E60 M5 came in years ago at RM888k.

Moving on, the second-gen E89 Z4 roadster is now available in two new variants – the sDrive20i and sDrive28i M Sport. Both feature N20 2.0-litre four-cylinder engines with direct injection and BMW TwinPower Turbo.

This same engine, in similar states of tune, were recently put into the F10 5-Series as well. Insisting on a normally aspirated straight-six? You’ll have to get a used BMW then!

The 20i model has 184 hp and 270 Nm, good for 0-100 km/h in 7.2 seconds. The 28i meanwhile gets 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque, and is capable of doing the century sprint in 5.7 seconds. The claimed combined FC figure for both models is 6.8 litres per 100 km.

The new four-pot engines are mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission with steering wheel paddles, replacing the six-speed auto of old. Brake energy regeneration is standard. The Z4 sDrive20i is priced at RM358,800, while the 28i M Sport will set you back RM488,800. Prices are OTR without insurance, but with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:47 pm

another tax overkill………In UK it cost 73K pounds….!!!!!!

• M5 What a beast …………………………………….Can only dream

• just a question…. how much does the m5 cost with insurance? the answer ive been looking for almost my whole life..

• YAAA…..KEEP ON DREAMING AND CRYING GUYS…..HAHAHAHAHAHA

• hnsgirl.blogspot.com on Mar 01, 2012 at 7:31 pm

The blue 1 looks very cool.. hope i can buy it someday

• Bongcs on Mar 01, 2012 at 7:42 pm

God, when the day i reborn. Dont throw me to Malaysia.

• JeremyNg on Mar 01, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Consuming an average of 9.9 litres of petrol per 100 km …… It FC is better than my thirsty Nissan X-trail leh !!!

• kiaforlife on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:12 pm

K9 wannabe…bmw copycat

• David D on Mar 02, 2012 at 6:10 pm

No. Absolutely disagree. Kia is a very good car brand, no doubt, but this is in a different class of it’s own. A premium brand worthy of the badge on top of it. Get your facts right before you talk, bro.

• Gavin on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:15 pm

898k is a steal bring 900k still got 2k change, the interooler/air intake are industrial sized

• CKD Kulim?

• Andrew on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:17 pm

898888, What a ‘nice’ number

• PeacE on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Z4 without iDrive???

• MaskedBearBear on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Dunno is it just me or what,

Why the Z4’s rim soooooooo ugly wan?

• somehow the rear seats doesnt look spacious at all for such a large car…..i guess the thick metal plates n thick seats took up alot of space

• ae101 on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:12 am

see those turbo powered car really damn safe fuel.when jap’s gonna start this lehhhh

• Glee power on Mar 02, 2012 at 3:21 am

Bitch please the japs use turbo long long time ago and they get more power from it than anyone else

• ae101 on Mar 02, 2012 at 5:36 pm

mehhh you moron! of cos i know japs got turbo car long long time already. even my form2 nephew know this la. no need to shout so loud. my ques was do they have v8 with less than 10L/100km? please la. look at mat salleh trend now. they tend to build small cc turbo car with very very good fc for daily drive.

• tazio on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:21 am

Your are so outdated!

• I am ordering the M5, I just sent proposal to the goverment to set up the National Goat Feedlot Corp. For those who don’t have money, can come and work for me, feed the goats.

• Glee power on Mar 02, 2012 at 3:17 am

Price was better than expected…everyone expected it to hit the million mark ….sorry mercedes your one million e63 isn’t going to sell now

• it is still not good enough, considering our duty structure is based on cc size. the E60 was 5.0L while the new F10 is 4.4L, hence it should have lower tax. Of course this amount is offset by the higher starting price of the F10 M5.

• Megane on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:07 am

Bongcs , yeahhh i do hope when you’re reborn in the next life you’ d be still in Malaysia but into Shahrizat’s clan so you’d afford the M5 haha

• ChrisLai75 on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:13 am

M6 better

• Super White on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:23 am

Best looking M5 ever. OK la…maybe 2nd best, after the E39 M5.

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:55 am

Sure that the M5 is a kick-arse car with power, handling and branding to die for…but I think in the looks department, might as well buy the Jaguar XFR.

• tazio on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:28 am

You have to be a hardcore BMW fan to buy this car. There are so many other better choices out there for 900k.

• Hmm? If I am not mistaken, E63 AMG cost around RM1.1 million at Malaysia. This new M5 cost very near to RM900k. The E63 should have its price lowered so that it can compete with this M5 in terms of pricing…

• The M5 comes with start/stop? as in the engine cuts off when put into neutral during red light? A BMW representative told me that BMW M’sia do not bring in this tech onto their model range here coz our weather not suitable. Even I don’t really understand why.

Btw, correct me if im wrong but I believe only BMW and Jaguar officially sell their performance sedans here (M5 & XFR). Audi’s RS6 and Merc’s E63 AMG was never officially launched here and will need special order to buy one.

• Paul Tan on Mar 02, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Your BMW representative is blur. The whole F10 series as well as the X3 sold in Malaysia has auto start/stop already. Just go test drive one at the showrooms.

• not only fanboy will buy this M5. to me, if i have that amount i’ll definitely buying this.

• 900k i can buy a bramdnew car compared 900k 2nd hand ferrari. Yes, ferrari might sound abit special but now its d case anymore as ferraris are numbering much more than this beast

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 02, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Merc E63 should be priced around that price or even SLIGHTLY more expensive than the M5 the more competitive.

• beauty on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:28 am

Both E63 amg & F10 M5 are like uncle’s sport car, very sad.
    E60 M5 is the best look young and sporty.

• m4xspeed on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:05 am

Secret Garden Z4 …:P