BMW Zagato Coupe injects more sexy into the Z4

This is the BMW Zagato Coupe, a collaboration between BMW and Italian styling house Zagato, marrying Italian design flair together with German engineering, thanks to the friendship between BMW and Zagato’s designers Adrian van Hooydonk and Norihiko Harada.

Sounds perfect, no? It’s based on the E89 BMW Z4 Roadster, but with a fixed roof. Perhaps this is the Coupe body that this current generation Z4 never had, as the E89 Z4 is offered only with a folding metal top.

If you say the F30 looks like the F10 went to the gym and shed a few pounds, then the Zagato Coupe looks like the already lean Z4 went to the gym and pumped up those muscles with the help of protein powders, health supplements and what not.

It’s got beautiful proportions – a short front overhang, sizeable wheels, a sleek long hood, and a muscular Kamm tail body with big arches over the wheels and a double bubble roof – it all makes the sexy car have a stance like it’s ready to pounce. Kinda reminds me of a Ferrari FF.

Other than the Z on the fender, Zagato also puts its mark on the kidney grille – this is one part of the car that I don’t really get. Instead of typical vertical slats, Zagato had kidney grille designed as an alphanet soup mesh of little interlocked Zs, said to be inspired by American designer/architect Buckminster Fuller’s geodesic domes.

That gorgeous red paint is called Rosso Vivace, and to get it to look how it looks, BMW started off with a black base coat, on top of which a metallic silver coat was applied, followed by six coats of red and topped with two clear coats.

Will there be a production version of this car? I certainly hope so! The car itself can be driven around as it’s registered with a number plate – it’s a Z4 after all so the underlying engineering work is done – Zagato essentially reskinned the car with a sexier outlook.

The Zagato Coupe will be shown to the public at the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este at Lake Como in Italy.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• harris murad on May 28, 2012 at 11:13 pm

holy goddddd…:0

• Lim Kopi on May 29, 2012 at 12:27 am

Whats with the 403 FORBIDDEN Error msg everywhere I click ??

• Paul Tan on May 29, 2012 at 1:27 am

Fixed. As it turns out, an overzealous server config was blocking the word “sexy” on these Zagato pages as I used it in the title.

• Goodma on May 29, 2012 at 2:26 am

a stunning hot beauty !!

• essence of aston martin

• Kalun on May 29, 2012 at 7:22 am

Macho car!
    It’s this decades signature design.
    Alfa Romeo Mito, Ferrari FF and this BMW Z4 look a like.

• 4G63T DSM on May 29, 2012 at 7:52 am

I don’t know. It does look nice,

I know this is a long hood, short and high deck classic sports car silhouette, but of late, Zagato has been over using its signature rear end on one too many cars.

• 4g4life on May 29, 2012 at 8:12 am

rear view macam crz…

• Volvo on May 29, 2012 at 8:46 am

Idea developed from Volvo C30 3 Door hatch?

• The Z’s on the grille are also used on the Aston Martin V12 Zagato. I guess maybe they’re making it their signature?

• ah qib on May 29, 2012 at 11:26 am

cun giler.. bila lah nak masuk malaysia ni

• Ah Chai on May 29, 2012 at 11:48 am

macam preve..hahahaha

• can you see out the back? reminds me of the old M coupe “breadvan”.

• Johann on May 29, 2012 at 3:04 pm

WHAT? MACAM PREVE? GILA KA? TOLONG JGN SAMAKAN DGN PREVE; NAK MUNXXX!……

• Azydy on May 29, 2012 at 7:44 pm

awesome and superb ..that only I can say..bravo BMQ and Zagato

• shawal on May 29, 2012 at 8:04 pm

zZzZzZzZz , no , the car is not boring , its the complete opposite, just admiring the grill

BMW will build it, the question is ….how much..?

• nahh… vios will have better resale value than this