Citroen DS3 to arrive in Malaysia before year-end?

Citroen DS3

Naza Automotive Manufacturing COO Roslan Abdul Ghani has told Bernama that the Citroen DS3 will be brought into Malaysia before the end of the year.

Having been introduced globally in 2010 as the first model from the quirky French carmaker’s upscale Different Spirit (DS) brand, the B-segment hatch is far from a new car. But you know what they say about the relationship between late and never, especially when we’re talking about a looker like this.

Globally, the Citroen DS3 is available with a range of petrol and diesel engines, including 1.6 VTi 120, 1.6 THP 150, HDi as well as greener e-HDi units. Gearboxes on the menu are a four-speed auto, a five-speed manual and a six-speed manual.

Citroen DS3

The hot one, the Citroen DS3 Racing (limited to 1,000 units), has 207 PS and 275 Nm of torque at its disposal, besides packing steering, suspension, brake and ESP upgrades. This one gets to 100 km/h from rest in 6.5 seconds and tops out at 235 km/h.

A Cabrio version debuted in Paris last year, and the Cabrio Racing concept at the recently-concluded Goodwood Festival of Speed. Which DS3 variant will we get? Too early to say, and your guess is as good as ours. But as always, you’ll know when we do.

Since its appointment as the official Citroen distributor in Malaysia back in January, Naza Euro Motors has introduced the DS4 (in THP 163 auto and THP 200 manual forms), DS5 THP 156 and C5 THP 156 (albeit in rather limited numbers), as well as opened a brand new 3S centre in Glenmarie.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Maserati on Jul 29, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Test drove the DS5 the other day. Its interior is one of the best I have ever sat in in this price range.It was superb! The interior was better than BMW,Merc and I dare to say as good as a Porsche interior.

However,the engine,ride and handling was a letdown.Engine felt underpowered.Handling was ok,but not good.Its far from being a fast car.

Bumps and road could be felt quite obviously from inside the cabin.

But if your not into speed,I would say this car is really worth it.But mind you,French cars are the most problematic in the market + resale value is horrible and spare parts are nonexistant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 29, 2013 at 2:47 pm

French really good at design, but quality is a huge let down. Same goes to Italian and English. German design can’t win them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi on Jul 29, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Yes, but the problem is: An engine that promotes relaxed, slow driving in a car with a great high quality interior (switch gear is machined out of aluminium I believe, instead of painted plastic) makes sense when the ride is matching that… i.e. takes in all the bumps with ease, cushioning the owner in a silent, relaxed cocoon detached from the world.

But when the ride is a bit uncomfortable…?

• Furqan on Jul 29, 2013 at 6:39 pm

I absolutely agree with you. I was expecting the “Citroen ride quality” that you get on the C5

• masakroti on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:07 pm

As though your stupid dsg are problem free. Go hump your VW or should it be vios since you pretend to have all sort of cars.

• Maserati- nowadays French cars are as reliable or more than Japanese cars. Ive owned Ds4 since early last year without any issues.
      Ds5 is about luxury cruising and not for traffic light sprints.

• seancorr on Jul 29, 2013 at 3:36 pm

This brand was never a volume seller over here. Loyalists and some people who are caught by its beauty will buy but not for the rest of the majority.

Plus its not being sold nor serviced everywhere so can only hope to see this around down in Selangor or KL.

• kadajawi on Jul 29, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Well, they do sell in KL and Penang I believe, and want to expand to JB. So they do intend to spread out, but those things take time, and I guess it also depends on how well the cars do in the areas where they are being sold. If there is demand they’ll surely expand (it seems so, as they bring in more and more cars).

• blackbox on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Don’t forget Peugeot was once a niche brand before reaching Naza’s hand. I’m not saying that Naza is good, but they have the financial to promote a brand.

• Sky pirate on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:00 am

Citroen and Peugeot are never volume sellers in any part of the world.

• Sky pirate- Volume sellers don’t mean they are good- proton is a volume seller in Malaysia. So are Toyota all over the world, they are volume seller cis theyre cheap not cos they are of good quality

• _xXx_ on Jul 29, 2013 at 4:51 pm

the only advantage with this car I can see is – this car will not be targeted by thugs.

• blackbox on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:31 pm

I have tested both DS4 and DS5, both are nice car, but if you want comfort you should choose C5.
    DS4 THP 200 manual so far have one of the best exhaust node for the car I have tested recently.

• Furqan on Jul 29, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Looks like the Peugeot 208 is gonna have some competition!

• nasi ayam on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:12 am

if naza bring citreon 3s to mk. i probably get the ds4. sometimes speed ita not everything. its bout drivin pleasure!

• jacksonkua on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:44 pm

Already got 1 DS4.
    Thinking of getting 1 DS3 for my wife later.
    So far I really enjoy my DS4 and no doubt,
    Many PPL commented here are not the owner ANYWAY.
    They cant really feel the beauty of this DS range CAR.

• alphawolf on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Agreed with jacksonkua. And I can confirm this fella is a real Citroen owner :)

• confused on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:03 pm

hmm i seen a few units in malaysia

• Most comments on Citroen’s here are not by owners anyway with no real experience. You do not buy the DS5 to drive and ride like a C5 with Hydractive III+. The DS5 rides like a continental car and with excellent road handling characteristics. And you do not drve the DS5 to purposely go over bumps and potholes do you? If you’re staying in a kampung then please don’t buy a DS5 or DS4. Personally my wish is that Citroen remains as a niche car for limited owners. In fact the 195K price for the DS5 CBU unit is ridiculously cheap with 5 years unlimited mileage warranty. What the hell is NAZA thinking?

• Frenzy- Citroën quality are on par or better than many German cars- obviously you have not been inside the Ds cars

• chuan on Oct 16, 2013 at 12:27 am

hi all

the reputation of french cars in msia has not been good for many years. my question is has things changed now? does the hot climate here cause problems with the electronics?
    specifically, how is the after sales service ? Owners please comment. The DS4 looks stunning.
    cheers