SPYSHOTS: 2015 Honda Civic Type R bares its claws

2014_Honda_Civic_Type_R_spyshots_003

After a three-year hiatus, Honda will be back in the hot hatch game soon with a new Civic Type R. Soon here isn’t quite soon enough, though, as it’s only likely to come to market in 2015. Still, our spy photographers CarPix and Automedia have spotted it out testing on the road and track to give us an early glimpse of Honda’s next hot model.

The 2015 Honda Civic Type R seen here sports a big rear wing, aggressive all-round bodykit, (plastic) wheelarch extensions, Brembo brakes with red calipers, large BBS wheels and four exhaust pipes. Spot them all; this is one serious hot hatch. It’ll have five-doors this time though, as the latest Euro Civic does not have a three-door bodystyle.

Clearly visible behind the lower air intake is an intercooler, which confirms the rumours that the next CTR will be turbocharged. The engine will adopt the technologies used in the current Civic’s foray into WTCC and BTCC – both direct injection and turbocharged series.

2014_Honda_Civic_Type_R_spyshots_024

Expect it to either match or exceed the current crop of hot hatches, with power outputs in the region of 300 hp or so. Here it’s already seen benchmarked against the 280 PS/400 Nm Opel Astra OPC/Vauxhall Astra VXR and 350 PS/460 Nm Ford Focus RS500, proof that Honda is not playing around this time.

Away from the cameras, our spies also spotted the Civic Type R evaluated next to a Renault Megane RS 265 Trophy, the current lap record holder for a front-wheel drive production car at the Nürburgring. Honda CEO Takanobu Ito mentioned earlier that the next CTR will be gunning for that very record. Game on, Honda.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• wiralution on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:40 pm

I prefer the FD exterior design rather than this hideous one! Come on Honda, you can do better than this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Sorry lah Proton your Preve outdated design simply a joke to sell it in Europe now…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 18
      • vivian on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:58 pm

if without camo likes honda tourer, it’s just wasting time. being camoed looks much better in real, LOL. pity Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Even in a post regarding a performance car you still want to take a jab at Proton’s ordinary family sedan. The real joke is you autoliking your own comments, just to show that these ‘phantom readers’ support your opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • the plastics wheel arch extension is a turn off.

• Back looks like Gen 2 but Honda looks great but Gen 2 meh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
      • umbr-ella on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Honda copied Gen-2, even X6 copied Gen-2
        cars nowadays, haiz. Oh Gen-2 is much older, no wonder what comes later is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Hahaha so Gen 2 should proud of it even itself looks ugly but other copycat looks better!

• neemfa on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:55 pm

The rear of the Opel Astra OPC looks miles better!
    Looking forward for the turbo Honda though.. game on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • The headlight similar to current ESTIMA model. wakakaka…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:15 pm

That’s should how type-R design in the first place, sloppy roofline. Sedan only suitable for rally such as Evo or Sub. Can’t wait to get 1 unit for myself when reach our shore. Min 200++bhp wow another plus point but not sure how the new turbocharge engine perform, gonna miss 8000 rpm bitch screamer hehe……

• the rear lamps are too high until pass over the boot line.

• shiftSpank on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:35 pm

I know they hinted Honda’s gunning for a 1.6L Turbo. But come on, we need a 2.0L VTEC Turbo!

• Littlebear on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Actually i found that the new Civic looks much nicer than the old Civic (FD). The new Civic has a shaper look which refined lines and sharp curves that makes it look sophisticated. The old Civic FD looks good during its era but the rounded shape of the car looks dated now. Just my 2 cents opinion :p

• I have no qualms on the look on the Euro Civic Hatch, in fact, I think it looks brilliant. Certainly better than the one we have and the one the USA Used to have. Honda UK said it would have AT LEAST 250bhp thou they are gunning for 300, so I can’t see a NA engine under the hood of this thing, so farewell you wonderful High revving K-engine. Given that they are comparing it against the Megane, I’ll say that Honda is now at least half serious with the Hot Hatch game. But what I’am more concern is what makes hot hatch ‘Hot’, the fun factor, remember that the new Clio RS lost its crown to many grarheads because it ditch the good ol’ Disco stick. So ring time and numbers are not the only thing that Honda needs to achieve, it also needs to smack a huge grin on the driver, Toyota was very successful in this.

• Zapruder on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Turbo run from 1.5k to 5.8k rpm, then 6k rpm Vtec open Yo!

• Spark on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:32 pm

that Persona back?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Looser on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:32 pm

turbo? honda no soul anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 46
  • bangla on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:44 pm

the back look like Gen-2, no doubt

I miss the days of EK-9,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
  • worker on Aug 14, 2013 at 4:03 pm

the back looks just like Gen-2

I miss the days of EK-9,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 53
  • goofy on Aug 14, 2013 at 4:34 pm

how i wish they would release ek9 again but with updated specs….

• yes, finally honda ditch their torqueless high revving ivtec engine….this turbo unit shud be more suitable as a street hot hatch. Unless u prefer to drive wt 1st or 2nd gear all day long, the turbo low rev torque will be more effortless for daily use. and will save fuel too…

• Johnny on Aug 14, 2013 at 4:55 pm

turbocharged engine sux! long distance sure brake down. I prefer the old NA engine K20A

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 73
  • hondabasher on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm

what ever it is, as long as it is not proton, ill get it~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
    • unsopen on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:04 pm

you are wrong , nowadays it should be “as long as it’s not overpriced toyota” LOL

even proton got turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • droll on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:57 pm

i don’t think honda has a choice with the engine – high revving NA engine cannot keep up with Euro pollution requirements, and the fuel consumption issues may turn off some buyers to get the rivals (Focus ST, Golf GTI, Megane RS etc)

i’m also sure honda will want to sell this car in as many markets as possible so the choice of engine and 5 door configuration becomes important.

this car looks super ah beng right now – and that’s the way I remember Type-Rs. i wouldn’t have it any other way. long live the Type-R!!!!

• quad exhaust pipe on fwd? hmm…that dont look rite. hope production model only 2 pipes.

• shame_Loo on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Many people will still go with Golf or A250. The new CTR could be fun but not many people willing to pay with that price for just a Honda.

• kington on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:21 am

most importantly, rear suspension on torsion beam?

• v-power on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Yeah…it’s time Honda up the ante by going the forced induction route! Honda’s brilliant Vtec technology have been the benchmark for NA performance for well over 20 years…few NA engines can boast such a high power output from a 1600cc displacement…even today!

And with the new Type-R pushing out 300 ponies from it’s 1600cc turbo mill…I think the Type-R is ready to take on more powerful rivals, and then some!

Vtec(plus turbo) just kicked in yo! Nuff said.

• wira GSR on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm

1.6 turbo with 300hp? i wonder how it compares with the suprima S Preve P3-22A 1.6 turbo unit. Can’t wait for the reveal this Saturday!

• mason on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Well ,let hope the rumuors is true..
    TURBOCHARGED….+ v-tec..Dsg gearbox …
    make it a perfect combination for the right badge type R…
    or the GTI is still my favourite..

• udeng on Aug 16, 2013 at 3:11 pm

while waiting for 2015, why not put that engine into the current CRZ and ditch the hybrid crap…that’ll be cool….

• 2015 please come quicker!!!!