2014 Mazda 3 2.0 Sedan preview at 1U: RM139k?

2014-mazda3-bermaz-teaser

Mazda won’t be participating in this week’s Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 (KLIMS13), but they’re having their own ‘Mazda Motorshow’ at 1 Utama instead, where the 2014 Mazda 3 Sedan will be on show.

Unlike the current Mazda 3 which is locally assembled, the 2014 Mazda 3 2.0 Skyactiv Sedan is coming in as a fully-imported CBU with an indicative price of RM139k. This is a couple of thousand higher than the RM135k price we saw posted on oto.my earlier.

No specs listed other than having a sunroof, and they also have a disclaimer that the car on show at their roadshow may not be 100% the same as the launch specs, so we can’t report much on equipment at the moment. Being a CBU, could we hope for Bose sound and full airbags together with stability control? If the car is locally-assembled later, expect the equipment list to drop as per what happened with the CX-5.

We’ll pay the roadshow a visit tomorrow and come back with more details on the Mazda 3 on show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wallace Choo on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:00 am

more keen on the hatchback!

but.. no longer keen at RM139k pricetag..

**zoom zoom (on the price tag)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • mazdofan on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:11 am

OMG why pricing so cheap? I thought it’s 250k since a mazda fanboy here said once Mazda3 beats 3 series beemer, C klasse and A4 Audi!

I hope they increase the price, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 49
      • Of course cannot sell at 250k, this is underpowered Japs junk, hyped with the so called high skyactive. Said to be working turbo engine alike and ends up with failure miserably.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 54
        • alldisc on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:16 am

do you really know what is skyactive technology and what is the objective behind it?

if not let me educate u a little.

car manufacturers have to reached a limit with normal gasoline engines with the use of multi valve, DOHC, variable timing, direct injection EFI and use of lightweight materials.

similar goes to automatic transmission.

for example maximum power output for a NA 2.0 petrol engine is about 150-155bhp. and some managed to extract 160+, example hyundai.

want anything more than that means going to forced induction which sacrifices FC. or increase displacement.

Mazda had re-developed petrol and diesel engine from scratch as well as torque converter auto tranny and chassis platform so that they become more efficient, gaining more horsepower while having higher efficiency and better FC as well.

but c segment 2.0 at D segment Camry/accord price…. i may as well but a Saga FLX and saved 100k. besides… i cant afford 140k car… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
          • I quite agree with you. however, as you mentioned about forced induction would increase FC, this is not true for all case.

• Bataman on Mar 20, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Talk so much for what…it’s a known fact SkyActiv was overhyped and underperformed by reviews globally. Why do you think Ford EcoBoost won Engine awards and not this??

Btw, just been to 1U just now…the Salesman told me this thing is to compete with Audi A4!!!!
            Wah-lau!!!!

• Kena Tipu on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:09 am

This car is ONLY US$16,945 in the US. How this car become RM139k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • They knew before PRU14 all cars are force to cut price down by 20%. So in this 2-3 years can bedal duit rakyat cukup-cukup.

• reader on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:52 am

Simple. A little to this person’s pocket, a little to that person’s pocket, a little to someone’s mansion retirement fund.. tada!

• sky pirate on Nov 13, 2013 at 12:05 pm

stop spreading lies. the USD 17k price is for a base model, nearly empty 2009 mazda3, the previous gen. the 2014 Mazda3 starts at close to USD 20k for a base empty model in America. It’s a USD 3k, close to RM9k, difference with the previous gen. Considering that the previous gen CBU 2.0 Mazda3 was selling at RM 120-125k, so yes, a close to RM 9k increase in price for a CBU 2014 Mazda 3 is in line with the global pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • Tree Hugger on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:47 pm

How did the USD 17k become RM 120k in the first place? Currency conversion rate is just around 3.2 only.

The point the guy trying to make is where all the extra mark up go? They can’t all go to tax and duty alone.

• since when is the 2014 mazda 3 going to be RM9k more than the previous gen? it’s RM14k more, mind you!!

• ihackerz on Nov 23, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Blame the government and this car supposed to be value for money and is one of the most selling model in Australia and Canada !!!

Buy it if you love it and afford it, leave it if you can’t afford and don’t like it :)

• I wonder why they still produce crappy car. Proton and kimchi already go for turbocharged powertrains. Better close shop and sack those lazy engineers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 57
    • kadajawa on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:01 am

The price is twice more expensive than Preve means it’s twice better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • Petrolhead on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:10 am

C segment Mazda 3 2.0 RM139,000 or D segment Honda Accord 2.0 VTi RM139,800?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
      • paulman on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:47 am

of course go for Mazda320! it’s 800 dollars cheaper omg!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • Thunderous Kitty Chan on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:05 am

Cannot compare like this la my son, give you an empty D segment car or a fully equipped C segment car, you want size or you want specs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • people are always blinded by specs. give you loaded with specs, but how many of them is actually useful to you that you use everyday?

• Bataman on Mar 20, 2014 at 3:40 pm

But specs is good to borak new car to your friends….even you put Ferrari engine in your car…but interior like roti kosong…nobody is going to be impressed….hehe.

• SmellingFumes on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:05 am

CKD vs CBU bro. Also with the Hondana project with Proton, Honda gets alot of exemptions from duties.

• encik boss on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:44 am

Proton Accord much more cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • old dog on Nov 14, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Dont surprise Protong Accord only 10K cheaper in order to rip the profit from the consumer…i am not surprise at it it sell at 120K…

• SpecSheet on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:20 am

Have to see the final Mazda3 spec before comparing just on price. Besides the CKD and Rebadging exemptions, the base 139K honda is lacks some good features, e.g. no LED headlamps, no auto leveling, no smart entry and push start, no paddle shifters, no auto dim rear mirror, no power assisted seats, no lumbar support on seats, no GPS navi, no blue tooth audio, no rear camera, no switch lane indicator.

Perhaps fairer to compare price based on the specs first.

• stupid bermaz thinking malaysians will pay up blindly just because of the looks? wake up pls. that’s a stupid price tag for the spec you are bringing in.

• ihackerz on Nov 23, 2013 at 6:14 pm

No need to scold Bermaz. Do you walk in a LV shop to scold them because of the price? Get the point?

• Yeefung on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:11 am

Nissan Serena hybrid isn’t a full hybrid….
    The functions of so called “s-hybrid” are the same as the mazda6 ieloop n the upcoming mazda which also comes with the same functions. Yeah.. Maybe mazda biante as well . It only uses the rechargeable capacitor / battery to power the aircond n other electronic stuff when the engine is idling. Yeah, the engine stops when u stop.
    Why only nissan gets the tax exemptions n not mazdas??
    Understood the same function also installed in bmw , audi n Mercedes . Do they get exemptions too? Or the consumers being cheated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • fungyee on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:38 am

its more of govt got cheated… nissan is too clever to use the word hybrid for their simple air cond battery while mazda use funny names like ieloop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • same goes wt the Golf mk7 which also have the stop/start….but no hybrid exemption given …come to think of, most conti such as merc/audis/bmw have this

• Green on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:24 am

I dont take Nissan Serena got hybrid tax exemption.

Nissan Serena is just priced similar to the previous generation.

If Nissan Serena got hybrid tax exemption, it could be around RM120k range.

• http://paultan.org/2013/07/23/nissan-serena-s-hybrid-launched-in-malaysia/ . Nissan s hybrid should hv been cheaper, according to this post, it wad entitled to tax exemption..

• Regal on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:26 am

C’mon, are we not entitled to full specs in a locally produced Mazda

• donnyck on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:40 am

evey mazda new model add m10k until mazda malaysia closes shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Show me your money! If you’re poorfag you go for proton. Yes, preve can smoke this car but if you buy Mazda all people will know you have big money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • ossoisidiot on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:42 pm

hahah…buyinh mazda means a person got money??..malaysian 3rd world mentality..LULZ

• tehalia on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:20 am

mazda is definitly multiple steps up from proton in any world mentality.

• What to do… Vincent tan need money

• WaJib on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:07 am

Bodoh..Mazda dun depend on maresia market la.. If close shop means ur local car la..

• wesley on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:50 am

I will choose this one instead of Camry & Accord for sure, value for money & more advance tech.. The price is right & cheaper than T & H. Anyone could lend me $$$, please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • ihackerz on Nov 23, 2013 at 6:17 pm

I gotta agree, prefer the tech and design. Accord and Camry looks boring and ….yes boring.

• skatax on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:00 am

tries too hard to look as good as its siblings 6 and CX-5 – and failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Yeefung on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:13 am

That also means that mazda with sky active / ieloop or bmw / Mercedes / audi are not entitled to use the green carpark lanes provided by some shopping centres.

Government got cheated by tcm… Mazda / bmw / Mercedes / audi keep quiet. Bravo !
    So the people pay the price for government stupidity.

Oh yeah… Been to nissan showroom lately n sales advisors promote serene s-hybrid like damn great. When I said my car also has the same function .. He blurred. Shame on me?
    Some one should highlight this… But then…Who cares anyway….

• hndlr on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:27 am

One-eyed meter panel looks so fugly until I vomit.

*vomit terribly*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • heybadigol on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:03 am

Looking forward to Paultan’s preview of the Mazda3 for Malaysia. The specs for the preview unit probably has all the bells and whistles. But the real CBU version may lose out TPMS, since our Mazda6 lost the TPMS compared to international specs. Hopefully, airbag count shouldnt drop, especially at a 139k pricetag. Hope the Bose sound system stays as well. Its a 9 speaker system, so less complex/expensive than the 11 speaker unit in the Mazda6.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:25 am

Nissan are very genius using word “hybrid” to gets the tax exemptions.Nissan Banzai…

• The most expensive C segment model in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Bob_B78 on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:55 am

Nope. The most expensive C-Segment in Malaysia is Jetta/Golf. Selling from RM151K onwards

• Fredo on Nov 13, 2013 at 7:55 am

Mazda is still targeting niche market only…the price tag suggests that..
    i would go for Golf MK7 instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Expensive on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:03 am

RM139k, it is same price as Honda Accord 2.0. C Segment has become so expensive, another 20k you pay, you can get Mazda 6 2.0. Price is too close with D segment.

• Bob_B78 on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:07 am

It depends on your preference. C-segment are biased towards sporty handling. D-segment are biased towards executive comfort. But if your preference is towards sporty handling, at RM139K could get you Peugeot 208 GTI with performance similar to Golf GTI.

• ihackerz on Nov 18, 2013 at 11:54 pm

It’s entry level for mazda 6 for the price u mentioned.

• Maserati on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:28 am

The best car money can buy even at 140k. This will be World Car 2014 winner, no doubt about it.

Not only it has best of the breed for styling and interior quality, while also delivering among the most efficient gas mileage as well.

It’s a car that will last 10 years and still looks great (unlike KIA) so buyers should be more than happy to pay 140k upwards for this beauty, even its a stripped down version.

Early congratulations to those making the decision to book this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
  • honest on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:37 am

CX5 cheaper but better quality

• I will restress again:
    I know Mazda 3 you are very good but at this price, you are NOT that good….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • price for 1.6 please

• Jinggo on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:57 am

Come on la mazda, why so expensive? it just a ‘mazda’.. Shit pricing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Critique on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:00 am

Wow, RM 139k for a C segment car? Yea, its a CBU, but still its in the C Segment. Mazda’s really goin after enthusiast only is it?

Being mindful that RM139K will also get you an entry level Honda Accord, I wonder if this pricing (if final) will be make the Mazda 3 less attractive.

Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Still CBU on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:31 am

For this price its the CBU unit. When it comes to CKD it will goes down ~15k (cheaper than civic) as what happened to current gen mazda3.

• Critique on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:50 am

I certainly hope you’re right!

From the reviews I’ve watched on YouTube, the 2014 Mazda 3 is a very good driver’s car for the C segment.

So yes, if/when Mazda CKD’s this, it’ll be very strong C segment contender.

Cheers :)

• mohd fuad on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:23 am

odometer look boring to me…anyway good car if i afford to own.

• Yeefung on Nov 13, 2013 at 9:42 am

So, maxda3 got tax exemption?

• They will set the final price lower than RM139k to make people feel like discounted price and happy. RM129k?

• xatomic on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:32 am

This is a CBU and priced at a premium. No doubt styling and quality better than others

Boring Toyota and family fanboys can go buy their Accord instead

• Ryan.C on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:41 am

no rear vent =.=”
    some more sell at RM139k

• encik boss on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:41 am

Wait for CKD..price will drop below RM130k

• motorhead on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:58 am

Puiih.

• Denaihati on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:52 am

very nice looking, great meter panel. waiting for detail specs.

• ihackerz on Nov 23, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Accessories: CD Player, Leather seats, Airbag driver, Airbag passenger, Navigation system, ABS Brakes, Sport rims, Alarm, Central lock, Adjustable steering, Power seat for driver’s.

Sunroof
      165 Hp
      Torque 210 Nm
      6 speed with paddle shift
      BiXenon with AFS
      Smart keyless with push start button
      Tyre 215/45R18
      Full Skyactiv

• Finally Mazda cx-5 cheaper than Mazda 3. Lol

• iluvm3 on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:40 pm

I see what you did there – paving the road to RM 128k for ckd mazda 3.

• kia cerato and hyundai elantra much cheaper!

• i wan mazda 3 sedan 1.6 CKD
    how much?

• Luxury brand on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Are these model fall under C segment?
    Lexus IS series? Mercedes C class? BMW 3 series?

• better get cerato 2.0. 20k cheaper. enough said…

• carbonman on Nov 13, 2013 at 6:53 pm

no doubt this car looks nice… with the skyactive hype and the kodo design, mazda has gained much attention in msia market. But rm139k is abit too much to ask from a Japanese C segment. But excise duty is REALLY high – more than the original car price.
    And to make the CKD 2.0 sell at RM129k later, Bermaz will have to sell this at 139k.

But no doubt it will still be quickly grabbed by malaysians. Once youre in love into something, you’ll be blinded and cant see the bad side. (just like how you got your gf) Hahaha!!!

• shawal on Nov 13, 2013 at 8:27 pm

” The new mazda 3….. , we know you want a 6 but its a bit out of reach ” ……

• carlover on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:54 pm

i have taken a good look at it today at 1 u..very nice body n interior design….love it but is not spacious…seems vious even a little bit more spacious …..i rather spend 139 o buy honda accord cos much more spacious especially for those who have kids..and guys who r big size n quit tall won feel comfortable..

• massrazz on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:33 pm

when the CKD mazda3 2014 will be ready for order? no 1.6??